Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


187 of 187 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must-have!
At this price, everyone with an interest in quilts should own a copy of this delightful book. It is a dictionary of traditional blocks with template patterns, suggestions for layouts, borders, and colour schemes together with yardages required and appropriate quilting patterns. What makes it special is the way the author has interspersed the wealth of technical detail...
Published on 12 Aug 2001 by Janet Owen(owen.abode@virgin.)net

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Reference
I bought this book to go into my reference library.
I can say that I have only glanced at it and it looks OK.
Quilters could use this in their collection of books.
Published 12 months ago by OWLISE


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

187 of 187 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must-have!, 12 Aug 2001
This review is from: One Hundred and One Patchwork Patterns (Dover Quilting) (Paperback)
At this price, everyone with an interest in quilts should own a copy of this delightful book. It is a dictionary of traditional blocks with template patterns, suggestions for layouts, borders, and colour schemes together with yardages required and appropriate quilting patterns. What makes it special is the way the author has interspersed the wealth of technical detail with fascinating anecdotes about the history of the various blocks and the way in which they developed.This is in no way a coffee table book but it is a book that ca be read in itself for entertainment and yet it provides a basic introduction to the art for beginners. The danger is that there are so many inspiring blocks to look at that it is possible to spend hours dreaming of what could be done in that next quilt and then finding another block that could be even better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


104 of 104 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Quilting books ever assembled, 17 April 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: One Hundred and One Patchwork Patterns (Dover Quilting) (Paperback)
This Dover reprint of the classic quilting book by Ruby McKim is one of the best quilting books ever written. The book describes 101 block patterns in both patchwork and applique as well as two embroidered blocks. Scattered among the patterns are eight short, well-written chapters describing how to piece, quilt and applique. Originally written in the late 1920's and early 1930's the instructions are as good as ever and Ms. McKim's writing clear and pleasant. This is an absolute steal at this price. Another gem from Dover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars so glad....., 31 Mar 2008
By 
nettie (Orba,, Spain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: One Hundred and One Patchwork Patterns (Dover Quilting) (Paperback)
i lost this book after many moves and lendings and am so happy to have it back at last. It should be on every quilter and patchworkers' shelf. Excellent for inspiration and very useful templates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for Quilters!, 25 Feb 2009
By 
Banjo Cat (Camberley, Surrey UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Hundred and One Patchwork Patterns (Dover Quilting) (Paperback)
This book ticks all the boxes. It's one of the best block reference books I've come across and is concise and precise. I like the narrative, which connects us modern quilters with our sisters who pioneered the art and skills of this wonderful hobby through necessity and circumstance. I will use it again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was going to buy this book .... but ...., 15 July 2011
This review is from: One Hundred and One Patchwork Patterns (Dover Quilting) (Paperback)
.... I discovered a website - [...] - which is owned by Ruby Short McKim's youngest granddaughter, where you can view and download all the patchwork templates, patterns and instructions completely free!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for a sampler quilt, 25 April 2010
By 
M. Moore (Stroud, Glos., UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Hundred and One Patchwork Patterns (Dover Quilting) (Paperback)
I have just started patchworking and have found this book wonderful. It has given me lots of inspiration as I want to created a sampler quilt. The book has loads of different patterns, clearly and simply explained. The book has a homely, cosy feel - just how patchwork should feel! I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who wants to try different block patterns or make a sampler quilt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dated but interesting!, 17 Nov 2009
This review is from: One Hundred and One Patchwork Patterns (Dover Quilting) (Paperback)
I was initially surprised at the old fashioned feel of the book. The presentation is rather dated and some of the illustrations almost amusing! - but the ideas are interesting and varied with suggestions for almost any project. I have already experimented with two or three of the ideas and will certainly use it in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good little book, 20 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Hundred and One Patchwork Patterns (Dover Quilting) (Paperback)
good little book for beginners and experienced quilters alike. it is amercan however so some translation is needed. lots of templates and quirky stories. good purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Patterns galore, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Hundred and One Patchwork Patterns (Dover Quilting) (Paperback)
Plenty of good clear instructions, can't wait to get started. Although second hand book in excellent condition. Perhaps not suitable for complete beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 19 April 2011
By 
D. Hadley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Hundred and One Patchwork Patterns (Dover Quilting) (Paperback)
With a few patchwork templates and very simple illustrations and guidance this small book is incredibly versatile. A very useful purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One Hundred and One Patchwork Patterns (Dover Quilting)
One Hundred and One Patchwork Patterns (Dover Quilting) by Ruby Short McKim (Paperback - 1 Jun 1962)
7.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews