Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars21
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 October 1997
Thorough and precise anatomical drawings of animals commonly portrayed in art (the horse, the dog, etc.). The skeletal and muscular system is rendered in different layers for each animal and from different perspectives (top, side, back, front). Even has detailed drawings of their heads, paws/hooves.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2011
Most of the book is the anatomy of the horse, dog, cats(lion) and cows These are very detailed plates and show muscle and skeleton. The end of the book is a mish mash of collected plates detailing various animals e,g, bat, monkey but these are only single page plates. Overall very good for the artist and animator but the book is a bit too specialised on just a few animals, especially the horse. If you produce game art then this will be of use.

This is pretty much an exercise in making money for the publisher, recycling old anatomy plates and calling it an art reference book. You may be able to find this type of plate on the internet these days. Perhaps a better idea for the publisher would have been to understand the needs of the artist and then produce new work, rather than just recycling old plates.

All that being said you may find it handy on the shelf......
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2009
I bought this book primarily for the section on horse anatomy which is the focus of this book, with the sections on other animals being much briefer.

The drawings are precise, clearly labelled and some are also quite beautiful. Cross sections of the body and several different view points are included.

I would rate this book as a more useful reference than the Stubbs Anatomy of the Horse, which although interesting in it's own right is not as clear or comprehensive (from an artist's point of view).
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 1998
ellenberger, dittrich, baum, with additional plates by cuvier, straus-durckheim and stubbs. The plates are extrodinarily detailed with from many angles. primary sections on horse, dog, lion, cow and bull, stag, roe, and goat.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2012
I bought this book to guide me while I make a sculpture of my own horse. I have been around horses for over 40 years and have a good idea where everything is in this animal, but at home, while making a 3-dimensional creation, it is imperative to know how to make the basic frame for a sculpture portrait.
The book is very useful in other areas as well. The illustrations are awesomely detailed and it will remain one of my reference books forever.
I would recommend this book for anyone studying animal portraits, vet students, physios etc. Or just any horse owner!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2010
This book is a really good reference for any artist/ designer interested in animal anatomy. The only draw back, as is typical in this type of book, is the quality of the printing (bit grainy) and the paper.
I would personally have been prepared to pay more for greater print quality.
I would have prefered more detail and larger images, esp in a book meant for artists.
Overall a good purchase and handy to draw from, as a starting place.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2014
A great breakdown of animal anatomy, from skin down to bone, with varying angles and intuitive labels to help you draw for yourself without needing references all the time. Some of the anatomy here can be extended to other animals of the same group, such as the lion, so it's quite versatile.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2011
As a digital artist I found this book to be a great reference source for any modeler wanting to know more about how animal anatomy works.
It has plenty of detailed pictures of common animals and some pictures of other not so common animals.
It is not an expensive book so I will recommend it even if it's just to have it in your shelf just in case you need it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2009
Very good reference material for artists and equestrian students. Book folds out flat with no tearing of binding for easier study (this is actually incredibley helpful!). Also good studies of dogs, lions, cows and bulls, stag roe and goat. The only down side is the small reference for cats.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2015
This is One of the best animal anatomy book for artists around. I find lot of modern animal anatomy books now are aimed at people which cant draw. I bought this book to help me with 3D modelling of various animals while at university and it has saved my skin many times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)