Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent plates of different animals
Thorough and precise anatomical drawings of animals commonly portrayed in art (the horse, the dog, etc.). The skeletal and muscular system is rendered in different layers for each animal and from different perspectives (top, side, back, front). Even has detailed drawings of their heads, paws/hooves.
Published on 28 Oct 1997

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great book but limited
Most of the book is the anatomy of the horse, dog, cats(lion) and cows These are very detailed plates and show muscle and skeleton. The end of the book is a mish mash of collected plates detailing various animals e,g, bat, monkey but these are only single page plates. Overall very good for the artist and animator but the book is a bit too specialised on just a few...
Published on 4 Dec 2011 by C. Stephenson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent plates of different animals, 28 Oct 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: An Atlas of Animal Anatomy for Artists (Dover Anatomy for Artists) (Paperback)
Thorough and precise anatomical drawings of animals commonly portrayed in art (the horse, the dog, etc.). The skeletal and muscular system is rendered in different layers for each animal and from different perspectives (top, side, back, front). Even has detailed drawings of their heads, paws/hooves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great book but limited, 4 Dec 2011
By 
C. Stephenson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: An Atlas of Animal Anatomy for Artists (Dover Anatomy for Artists) (Paperback)
Most of the book is the anatomy of the horse, dog, cats(lion) and cows These are very detailed plates and show muscle and skeleton. The end of the book is a mish mash of collected plates detailing various animals e,g, bat, monkey but these are only single page plates. Overall very good for the artist and animator but the book is a bit too specialised on just a few animals, especially the horse. If you produce game art then this will be of use.

This is pretty much an exercise in making money for the publisher, recycling old anatomy plates and calling it an art reference book. You may be able to find this type of plate on the internet these days. Perhaps a better idea for the publisher would have been to understand the needs of the artist and then produce new work, rather than just recycling old plates.

All that being said you may find it handy on the shelf......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent artists reference, 28 Jun 2009
This review is from: An Atlas of Animal Anatomy for Artists (Dover Anatomy for Artists) (Paperback)
I bought this book primarily for the section on horse anatomy which is the focus of this book, with the sections on other animals being much briefer.

The drawings are precise, clearly labelled and some are also quite beautiful. Cross sections of the body and several different view points are included.

I would rate this book as a more useful reference than the Stubbs Anatomy of the Horse, which although interesting in it's own right is not as clear or comprehensive (from an artist's point of view).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, beautiful plates, total bargain, 28 Sep 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: An Atlas of Animal Anatomy for Artists (Dover Anatomy for Artists) (Paperback)
ellenberger, dittrich, baum, with additional plates by cuvier, straus-durckheim and stubbs. The plates are extrodinarily detailed with from many angles. primary sections on horse, dog, lion, cow and bull, stag, roe, and goat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars satisfied customer, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Atlas of Animal Anatomy for Artists (Dover Anatomy for Artists) (Paperback)
glad to discover this book, its helpful to artists who sculpt and paint animals and I wish I had heard about it before
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Atlas of Animal Anatomy for Artists (Dover Anatomy for Artists) (Paperback)
A great breakdown of animal anatomy, from skin down to bone, with varying angles and intuitive labels to help you draw for yourself without needing references all the time. Some of the anatomy here can be extended to other animals of the same group, such as the lion, so it's quite versatile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for all artists out there, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Atlas of Animal Anatomy for Artists (Dover Anatomy for Artists) (Paperback)
This book is an amazing resource to have at hand. it is well detailed and covers a diverse range of animals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Atlas of Animal Anatomy for Artists (Dover Anatomy for Artists) (Paperback)
I bought this book to guide me while I make a sculpture of my own horse. I have been around horses for over 40 years and have a good idea where everything is in this animal, but at home, while making a 3-dimensional creation, it is imperative to know how to make the basic frame for a sculpture portrait.
The book is very useful in other areas as well. The illustrations are awesomely detailed and it will remain one of my reference books forever.
I would recommend this book for anyone studying animal portraits, vet students, physios etc. Or just any horse owner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great animal anatomy guide for artists., 8 April 2011
This review is from: An Atlas of Animal Anatomy for Artists (Dover Anatomy for Artists) (Paperback)
As a digital artist I found this book to be a great reference source for any modeler wanting to know more about how animal anatomy works.
It has plenty of detailed pictures of common animals and some pictures of other not so common animals.
It is not an expensive book so I will recommend it even if it's just to have it in your shelf just in case you need it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very good source book, 14 July 2010
By 
KIM (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: An Atlas of Animal Anatomy for Artists (Dover Anatomy for Artists) (Paperback)
This book is a really good reference for any artist/ designer interested in animal anatomy. The only draw back, as is typical in this type of book, is the quality of the printing (bit grainy) and the paper.
I would personally have been prepared to pay more for greater print quality.
I would have prefered more detail and larger images, esp in a book meant for artists.
Overall a good purchase and handy to draw from, as a starting place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

An Atlas of Animal Anatomy for Artists (Dover Anatomy for Artists)
£11.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews