Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars craftsman's handbook
fascinating read for art lovers of a practical nature. great chat from an art devotee passing on the joys of painting.
Published on 19 Dec 2011 by vj

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful
A fascinating book and a good insight into medieval and early Italian Renaissance painting techniques. The information is surprisingly easy to rear and Cennino's spirit fills each page. There's not a great deal for the modern artist apart from inspiration, although some of the sections on gilding remain surprisingly relevant. A rite of passage for any serious painter. I'd...
Published on 24 Feb 2009 by M. Sheeky


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful, 24 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Craftsman's Handbook (Dover Art Instruction) (Paperback)
A fascinating book and a good insight into medieval and early Italian Renaissance painting techniques. The information is surprisingly easy to rear and Cennino's spirit fills each page. There's not a great deal for the modern artist apart from inspiration, although some of the sections on gilding remain surprisingly relevant. A rite of passage for any serious painter. I'd like to update my rating but I accidentally clicked three stars and don't seem to be able to edit it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars craftsman's handbook, 19 Dec 2011
This review is from: Craftsman's Handbook (Dover Art Instruction) (Paperback)
fascinating read for art lovers of a practical nature. great chat from an art devotee passing on the joys of painting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Craftman's handbook, 18 Oct 2013
By 
Lam Mei Yee (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Craftsman's Handbook (Dover Art Instruction) (Paperback)
A lovely book gives the insight of craftmen's knowledge long ago, one then think twice about the simplest things used nowadays such as glue, parchement paper.... the very beginning of the art shop of today. a very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good product, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Craftsman's Handbook (Dover Art Instruction) (Paperback)
full of weird and wonderful facts and strange things people used through history also a good insight into how people thought about and understood the materials they used. tnx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Craftsmans Handbook, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Craftsman's Handbook (Dover Art Instruction) (Paperback)
This book is really interesting to read and I am glad that I bought it
Highly recommend you buy this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable for artists interested in history of imaging, 13 Jun 2013
By 
A. Daniel (Washington DC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Craftsman's Handbook (Dover Art Instruction) (Paperback)
You can dip into this book and find insights on every page. The translation is excellent and the tips for painters abundant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good and helpful, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Craftsman's Handbook (Dover Art Instruction) (Paperback)
for everyone who wants to first understand craft and craftsmanship before will start to create, and for those who feel respect for the old techniques. Helpful for decorators, restorers or simply art-lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very comprehensive view of old art techniques, 4 Mar 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Craftsman's Handbook (Dover Art Instruction) (Paperback)
I found this book to be a very fascinating how-to manual. A lot of the terms, however, would have been lost on me if were not for my Making of Art Supplies class. This is definitely not a book for the beginner to pick up and start making art supplies. Very useful for the Renaissance Faire attendee looking for a way to polish up an artist character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Craftsman's Handbook (Dover Art Instruction)
Craftsman's Handbook (Dover Art Instruction) by Cennio D'Andrea Cennini (Paperback - 1 Jun 1954)
8.84
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews