Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Textbook on Concurrency Theory and Practice
I have used Magee and Kramer's book (or rather their manuscript) twice in the UG programme of the Dept. of Computer Science at University College London. I used it to teach a 30 hours course on Concurrency to final year BSc students in Computer Science.
The book is very appealing for several reasons:
Firstly, it is the only available book that provides an...
Published on 11 May 1999

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK for beginners...
I bought this bought to aid my studies for a concurrency course at university. The book is well written and does explain things very well, although it did not go into enough depth that I needed for the course. It missed out some of the fundamental issues of concurrency, such as Dekker's Algorithm. This book is fine for beginners, or indeed people who want to program...
Published on 18 May 2001 by mzd99c@cs.nott.ac.uk


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Textbook on Concurrency Theory and Practice, 11 May 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Concurrency : State Models & Java Programs (Hardcover)
I have used Magee and Kramer's book (or rather their manuscript) twice in the UG programme of the Dept. of Computer Science at University College London. I used it to teach a 30 hours course on Concurrency to final year BSc students in Computer Science.
The book is very appealing for several reasons:
Firstly, it is the only available book that provides an engineering discipline to concurrency. It covers both a sound introduction to the theory of concurrency and practical guidelines how to design concurrent programs using the UML and Java.
Secondly, the book is nicely written indeed. The concepts are well motivated, the intriguingly difficult theory of concurrency is well explained and the book is full of examples that show both theory and practice of Concurrency.
Thirdly, the book is not only a book; it's a nicely boundled package. It comes with Java demonstration applets that I used to visualize concurrency concepts, such as Monitors, Mutual Exclusion and Fairness in the class room. Moreover, the book includes a CD with a tool that students (and professors) can use for modelling and model checking purposes. The tool implements labelled transition systems analysis and supports visualization of label transition system execution.
Finally the web site that accompanies the book is full of exercises and exam questions and model answers are available too.
Using this material was a truly positive experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent practical introduction to concurrency, 18 May 2001
This review is from: Concurrency : State Models & Java Programs (Hardcover)
The authors have taken a very practical, visual approach to the subject-and it works well. The various features are explained fully in the text and are graphically illustrated as applets on the supplied disc. This book is a good 'read' and thought has gone into keeping the reader interested in this tricky subject. It has been a welcome ally to help me deal with the set book for the OU course M301. This book is money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK for beginners..., 18 May 2001
By 
This review is from: Concurrency : State Models & Java Programs (Hardcover)
I bought this bought to aid my studies for a concurrency course at university. The book is well written and does explain things very well, although it did not go into enough depth that I needed for the course. It missed out some of the fundamental issues of concurrency, such as Dekker's Algorithm. This book is fine for beginners, or indeed people who want to program concurrently in Java, without much background knowledge. To be honest I was a bit disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book!, 8 Sep 2006
This book is beautifully written and the combined FSP/Java approach to model-based development is leading-edge. The supporting materials, including the LTSA software and the lecture slides, are superb.

Scott Smolka, SUNY at Stony Brook
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good lecturer, 22 Mar 2008
This review is from: Concurrency : State Models & Java Programs (Hardcover)
I remember well my lectures at Imperial College with Jeff Magee. He was one of only a few that I actually paid any attention to at all.

I bought the book - but like every book I bought at university I only read them a little.

My 5 stars are mainly given as he was a good lecturer and used many of his java examples in lectures - therefore he deserves the boost to his rating!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I wonder why the contents are all up-side down?, 27 Jan 2012
Hello, I have just received the book but all the contents in the book are upside down. Can I change to a new one?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good book lacks in code examples, 28 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Concurrency : State Models & Java Programs (Hardcover)
I bought this book as a textbook for a concurrency module in the university. It explains the theory very well but when it comes to the coding it doesn't explain anything. There is an accompanying cdrom with this book that has every java program used in the book. There is not a single comment in any of the programs. As a programmer I have to say that this is really unacceptable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent illustration of an otherwise complex subject, 19 Mar 2002
This review is from: Concurrency : State Models & Java Programs (Hardcover)
I think that Kramer/Magee's book is by far the best available textbook for anyone designing software that includes concurrent processes. Three years after leaving university (Jeff Kramer, who is now the head of the computer science faculty at Imperial College, London, was my teacher for concurrent programming), I still find this book useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good service, 6 April 2009
By 
Ms. B. Devenyi "brigitta" (brigitta) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The book has arrived promptly, its condition is perfect (as it is new). Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Concurrency : State Models & Java Programs
Concurrency : State Models & Java Programs by Jeff Kramer (Hardcover - 19 Mar 2005)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews