Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Think for yourself!
No, this isn't a simple list of which wines to match with which foods; if the previous reviewer had read the blurb in the product description above, (s)he would have realised that. (For reference purposes I personally use What to Drink with What You Eat.) This book is about thinking for yourself and learning, from first principles and by carrying out tastings, what makes...
Published on 3 May 2010 by E. L. Wisty

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Recommended - whatever your level of interest.
I don't doubt that Harrington is a decent academic. The problem is he doesn't seem to know very much about wine. This book has the feel of having been researched on the internet as he went. Among other mistakes, he confuses pouilly fume with pouilly fuisse. This may sound like a petit mistake, but no wine-professional would ever make it, and as it pitches itself to the...
Published on 25 May 2010 by R. Wade


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Think for yourself!, 3 May 2010
By 
E. L. Wisty "World Domination League" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Food and Wine Pairing: A Sensory Experience (Paperback)
No, this isn't a simple list of which wines to match with which foods; if the previous reviewer had read the blurb in the product description above, (s)he would have realised that. (For reference purposes I personally use What to Drink with What You Eat.) This book is about thinking for yourself and learning, from first principles and by carrying out tastings, what makes good matches.

The format is quite 'academic', much like a student coursebook (the content is in fact based on real courses for sommeliers), with plenty of exercises to carry out. Many of these would work best in a sizeable tasting group because of the number of wines and foodstuffs involved, but it wouldn't be beyond the wit of man to scale these down so that the average person can still gain benefit.

One for the serious foodie and wine buff for sure, but I think it's better to develop your own understanding in this way than rely on lists compiled by someone else whose tastes will differ from yours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to a difficult subject, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An authoritative book on a difficult subject. Gets to the basics and already we have used it for some innovative pairings. The basic pairing rules and the review of the different wine groups is especially useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very didactic, 6 Feb 2013
By 
J. Cuevas (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Food and Wine Pairing: A Sensory Experience (Paperback)
This is a very nice book for students or professionals wanting to improve their food-wine pairing knowledge, it gives detailed information about the technical facts that create a good match and also has exercises to try whilst reading it.

I think the ideal use of this book is a textbook in a food-wine pairing course but I bought it for the pleasure of knowing a bit more about the subject and I'm happy about it.

PS: the book includes technical details that whilst not too-difficult can increase the difficulty of reading the text and make it less appealing to some readers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any serious wine professional, 18 Dec 2012
Having been teaching professional wine and food pairing for over 20 years, I have collected many books on the subject. The vast majority are of limited practical use, as they simply tell you "this food goes with that wine", but not WHY!

At last, a book which really explains why ingredients in wine and constituents of foods go together or why they clash, in a really well-structured manner.

I strongly recommend this book.

Martin G Straus
Certified WSET (Wine & Spirit Education Trust) Educator
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Recommended - whatever your level of interest., 25 May 2010
By 
R. Wade (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Food and Wine Pairing: A Sensory Experience (Paperback)
I don't doubt that Harrington is a decent academic. The problem is he doesn't seem to know very much about wine. This book has the feel of having been researched on the internet as he went. Among other mistakes, he confuses pouilly fume with pouilly fuisse. This may sound like a petit mistake, but no wine-professional would ever make it, and as it pitches itself to the student and professional on the blurb on the back, I felt a bit ripped off.

There is an excruciatingly long section about a grand dinner paired with cognac, after which one doesn't feel any the wiser about pairing brandy with food; just very bored.

It's no use as a reference either as the sections are long and lacking in sub-headings. You've often read several hundred words before realising what point he's actually trying to make.

I think ultimately, the whole idea of taking an undergraduate research approach to the subject of food and wine pairing was a failure. The test which examined the effect of effervescence on salt was a particular low. Wine and food are infinitely complex products that can't usefully be simplified for the sake of experimentation; so when I read his review of an experiment in which sparkling water was tasted with salted popcorn, I shut the book and threw it in the bin.

Not useless, but close.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Complex and not very useful, 6 April 2010
By 
V. Chadwick "mousie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Food and Wine Pairing: A Sensory Experience (Paperback)
Perfect for the "wanna be" sommeliers but not for the average wine buff; complex lay out and really difficult to find anything as a quick reference point. For example - what wine should I put with curried lamb....

Over an hour later.....I looked in my Jancis Robinsons wine course and voila!

At this point I want to add that I have a WSET Advanced Certificate in Wines and Spirits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Food and Wine Pairing: A Sensory Experience
Food and Wine Pairing: A Sensory Experience by Robert J. Harrington (Paperback - 27 Mar 2007)
£61.63
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews