Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Subscribe and Save Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars12
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 January 2007
This is an absolutely great book. At over 1000 pages it's a real opus - covering everything from ordinary differential equations, linear algebra, vector calculus, fourier analysis, complex analysis and probability. It's exceptionally well written - with plenty of clear examples, diagrams and exercises - constantly cross referencing back to the particular idea or formula that an example is employing. It presupposes only elementary calculus - and so makes an excellent university textbook to accompany study, or as a self-study book to further your maths knowledge.

I wish all maths books were this well written!
0Comment15 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2012
this is a great book and covers a great deal of material. The great thing about this book is that it will cover everything from first year all the way up to phd level! this is a book for anyone who wants to develop maths to an advanced level granted there are easier books but for the serious engineer/scientist at some point you have to put the baby books away and get this
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2009
I have an old version of this that I still occassionally use. It was one of our course books at University many years ago. This latest edition has an easier to read approach and covers most of the subjects with greater clarity and freshness.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
It contained all the mathematical wizardry for the second year of my physics undergrad. I especially found the proofs useful as a guideline as how to set up a mathematical argument.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2015
Good reading experience, book in perfect conditions, I strongly recommend.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2014
Firstclass. Am only sorry I delayed so long in its purchase!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2014
Very quick delivery and helpful
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2006
A novice to engineering, I decided I'd start from the top and work my way backwards. A difficult task I know, but I like a challenge. And how fantastic the experience was. The feelings going through me when I read about the Fourier analysis and the numerical methods were almost erotic in their complexity! So many computer problems, and the team projects are just out of this world. I don't know how I managed to live with myself before I found this book - the veritable bible of the modern world. Ignore it at your peril! Aaah....
0Comment4 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2014
really good!!
0Comment0 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2013
It is a very Good book and helped me a lot study for my exams in ODE and Complex variables.
0Comment1 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
Solve Advanced Engineering Math Download PTC Mathcad for Free!
  -  
Making Sense of Engineering Modeling & Mathematics. Learn more!
  -  
Learn Why America Needs a New Bomber & Take Action Today.