Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introduction to molecular symmetry
An excellent introduction to molecular symmetry and group theory for all chemists. The book takes you through the topics by means of continual questions and answers to aid understanding.
Published on 15 Nov 1999

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Alright Book
It is OK, but you still have to read books that are more advanced, especially where X ray is concerned, Quadratics could be mentioned as they are symmetrical like matrices. There is also a link between the two, as they are a type of algebra or code.
Published on 13 July 2011 by Mr. Aj Baugh


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introduction to molecular symmetry, 15 Nov 1999
By A Customer
An excellent introduction to molecular symmetry and group theory for all chemists. The book takes you through the topics by means of continual questions and answers to aid understanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Alright Book, 13 July 2011
By 
Mr. Aj Baugh "xrd" (hull) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Molecular Symmetry & Group Theory Second Edition (Chemistry) (Paperback)
It is OK, but you still have to read books that are more advanced, especially where X ray is concerned, Quadratics could be mentioned as they are symmetrical like matrices. There is also a link between the two, as they are a type of algebra or code.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's a handy dandy book to have around is a great introduction to molecular symmetry and serves nicely to prime one for further study. The text contains a few mistakes (but these seem to be mainly misprints in the character tables), the actual techniques it passes on are all solid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Useful Text book, 17 April 2012
This review is from: Molecular Symmetry & Group Theory Second Edition (Chemistry) (Paperback)
I found this text book extremely easy to use and that it was very compatible with my chemistry degree course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars molecular symmetry and group theory, 1 Mar 2012
This review is from: Molecular Symmetry & Group Theory Second Edition (Chemistry) (Paperback)
A good book got the value for my money. A good book for group thoery course-simplied and complete.
In good conditions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Molecular Symmetry and Group Theory, 29 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Molecular Symmetry & Group Theory Second Edition (Chemistry) (Paperback)
This was the recommended text for the Group Theory part of my 2nd Year Physical Chemistry module and I have to say that without it I would have been completely lost. It guides you step-by-step through different methods and problems, and this interactive system is very helpful for learning. Each chapter ends with a short test which allows you to check your progress.
I knocked off one star for a few mistakes in the text including one incorrect character table. I thought this was a bit disappoining for a 2nd edition as you would expect errors to have been corrected. The incorrect values in one of the character table is particularly confusing for a student trying to work out why they are unable to get the right answer.
Having said that I would still thoroughly recommend it to any chemistry student studying group theory as it proved very useful to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You Need This Book, 27 Dec 2009
This review is from: Molecular Symmetry & Group Theory Second Edition (Chemistry) (Paperback)
Excellent book for anyone doing a basic molecular symmetry course. It takes you through step-by-step in such a way that you are forced to understand it. I would suggest buying this book before starting the course, as it will make the course's lectures seem so much easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Required reading for those new to symmetry, 1 Aug 2008
By 
Mr. K. Sutherland Cash (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Molecular Symmetry & Group Theory Second Edition (Chemistry) (Paperback)
This book is an excellent introduction to the applications of symmetry and group theory in chemistry. The only down side is that there is little treatment of linear combination of atomic orbitals and Huckel techniques, which were integrated into our undergraduate symmetry course. A "hints and tips" section with shortcuts for reducing representations and approaching problems would have also proven valuable.

Simply put, if you're doing an undergraduate chemistry course, get this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Must Have, 30 Jan 2008
By 
C. Jackson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Molecular Symmetry & Group Theory Second Edition (Chemistry) (Paperback)
I got this book when i was first introduced to symmetry and i'm so glad i found it. Great at explaining what you need to know to pass. The only thing that would make this text better is more self tests.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this book!, 3 Mar 2007
This review is from: Molecular Symmetry & Group Theory Second Edition (Chemistry) (Paperback)
This book got me through a symmetry and bonding course when the lectures had left me completely confused. It's a small and fairly short book that consists of series of short sections ('frames') arranged in 'programmes' or chapters. Each programme introduces a topic step by step and continually asks you questions that are answered on the next frame with an explanation of the answer. At the end of each programme is a test you can use to check your understanding. It's not really a book you read, more something that you work through at your own pace, and takes the place of an incredibly patient and clear teacher.

It probably isn't that useful if you find the subject easy and are looking for something that will go beyond the basics, or if your maths is good (for example one chapter of eight is just on matrices). If you're struggling with the course it's brilliant. (I used it for a second year physical chemistry course, with the last two chapters still being useful for a third year course).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Molecular Symmetry & Group Theory Second Edition (Chemistry)
Molecular Symmetry & Group Theory Second Edition (Chemistry) by Alan Vincent (Paperback - 29 Dec 2000)
20.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews