Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compulsory reading
The previous reviewer suggests that universities ought to base courses around this book. Well we are doing just that. Last year, Secrets and Lies was recommended reading, but now I have broken the cryptography and the security into two separate teaching streams and this book forms compulsory reading for the security stream (his Applied Cryptography is strongly recommended...
Published on 12 July 2001

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid, basic introduction
This is a good basic overview of digital security in the broadest sense. For me the author's habit of slipping really esoteric words into the text spoilt the read as I was always wondering what he was going to try next. This may have been to demonstrate his superior knowledge but it is REALLY irriating.

I suggest that you brush up on the meanings of the...
Published on 24 July 2009 by R K Elleson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute must for Network Security Analysts, 30 May 2001
By A Customer
This is one of the most outstanding technical books I have ever read. It is great ammunition against those in top level management who need holes punched in a firewall. Just quote a few paragraphs and they'll go pale. This book will give you a serious wake-up call!!
Jonathan Jackson Firewall Administrator
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A real eye-opener to the World of Digital Security...., 24 Jan. 2001
By 
stumartin@btinternet.com (OXFORD, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
If you want to know about Digital Security then this book is for you, an excellent insight into Digital Network Security... just one downfall though... after reading this book you maybe too frightened to connect your Computer to the Internet ever again!.... A real eye-opener. Excellent!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent insight, 18 Oct. 2000
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Schneier gives you the real picture of computer security. No smoke, no weak promises. Just the facts and a lot of common sense. This book is going to be a milesone in computer security. In addition to be very informative, the book is also a highly enjoyable piece of writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars We like this book; please DON'T buy it.....!, 16 Sept. 2000
Absolutely excellent & presents an unispiring topic in an engaging, intuitive and recreational format; go on, read it just to have a laugh.....
As risk consultants, we have serious concerns that this book could put us out of business
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good primer, 30 July 2003
This is the first book on the subject that I have read, and it is put together very well. It gives a view of security as a process with many angles for concideration and ideas for implementation.
I think the author conveys quite well that there is no "off-the-shelf" approach to security and that security is a mentality that you have to be aware of - Your employees too !
It's a book that a Cheif Executive of a company could read and not be too overwhelmed by "techno-speak".
All in all, a must read !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superbly written, 30 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Essential reading for anyone interested in digital security
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must read, 25 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A must read for anyone interested in Cyber Security
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing., 8 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very valuable book .. Amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great and on time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Required reading for anyone involved in security, 26 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
In this book, Bruce Schneir has given people a consise and useful framework for evaluating the socurity requirements for their computer systems.
all this and it's a good read too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Secrets and Lies: Digital Security in a Networked World (Computer Science)
£9.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews