Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite, quite wonderful
This is a substantial book, a full 1000 A4 pages of probably a good 900 recipes - it's more like a dessert bible rather than a Jamie/ Gordon/ Hugo cookbook. I am a not particularly able amateur and so far I have tried around 5 recipes and each has been wonderful (flourless spice cake, danish pastries, shoehorn pastries, almond macaroons and chocolate gugelhupfs). The...
Published on 12 April 2009 by Captain Incognito

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not great
the descriptions in this book of the science behind things are interesting, but recipes frequently don't work out/ don't taste great- Disappointing.
Published 20 months ago by batman's baker


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Complete.....how I wish it has more pictures, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Professional Pastry Chef: Fundamentals of Baking and Pastry (Hardcover)
This books is such a rich book, covering mostly all the recipes one can think of about baking and pastry. There are various illustrations for steps that might be tricky.
It's just a pity that there are not more pictures. It's a big book already, so I would not expect pictures for every recipes, and that's the only reason I gave it a 4 star rating instead of 5.
It's definitely a very complete book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A professional cookbook., 28 Jan 2013
By 
Ms. S. DAVIS (devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Professional Pastry Chef: Fundamentals of Baking and Pastry (Hardcover)
This is a very well written and colourful cook book with easy to follow recipes and lots of cooking tips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Briliant :), 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Professional Pastry Chef: Fundamentals of Baking and Pastry (Hardcover)
As part of my studying, to be a pastry chef, this book completes all the loose ends. It have methods of the very basic, and above all this book tell the why - so it is get easier when I am approaching new recipes. Thanks Bo Friberg
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Is a good one, 8 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Professional Pastry Chef: Fundamentals of Baking and Pastry (Hardcover)
I like this book, as a Baker/Chef I have lots of cookery/baking books for when I need recipes or inspiration. I have made a lot of the recipes in it and they have all worked well so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely comprehensive, 18 Jun 2012
By 
G. O'Neill (Qatar) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Professional Pastry Chef: Fundamentals of Baking and Pastry (Hardcover)
I have had this book for a while now. It is designed for a professional chef. There are no simple recipes in this book. Many of the recipes require ingredients which I cannot find in my current location. Many of the recipes require you to have spent time creating almond paste, creme patisserie etc... BEFORE you start the recipe. The index is all-encompassing. The index for the word "chocolate" is about two pages long. The techniques described in the book are written in a way which is easy to understand. The croissant recipe is complicated but worthwhile. The cinnamon twists are amazing. I have learned lots of techniques from this book. It is expensive but invaluable, in my humble opinion. I would not recommend this book for a beginner looking to bake a quick cake. It will put them off for life. The author is a total perfectionist who has spent years deciding what is the best combination of techniques and ingredients to achieve baking perfection and this passion comes across in every recipe. No 5 minute muffin recipes here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not great, 11 Aug 2012
This review is from: The Professional Pastry Chef: Fundamentals of Baking and Pastry (Hardcover)
the descriptions in this book of the science behind things are interesting, but recipes frequently don't work out/ don't taste great- Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb0b90a50)

This product

The Professional Pastry Chef: Fundamentals of Baking and Pastry
47.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews