Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's Listen with Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 January 2001
Once picked up this book is very hard to put down. A shortened version of his exceedingly brilliant book 'The Art of Colour'.Every page is full of interesting facts about colour.Itten is very knowledgeable about art as well as colour and it's implications in painting as well as other areas of our lives. If you ever wanted to know anything about colour and why it has such an effect on us and our surroundings then this is the book for you, but beware after reading this book you may want to buy the full version, I do!
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2009
If you are at all interested in learning about colour for the purposes of designing/painting etc, then this is the book for you. Not a light read but very informative for the serious student.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2009
"The Elements of Colour" is a treatise on colour based on the work of Johannes Itten. Itten taught at the Bauhaus in the 1920s where colour theory had a major impact on art and design. Itten's fellow teachers at that time included the painters Paul Klee and Wassily Kandinsky.

Itten put great emphasis on his students getting the feel of a colour and the impact of each colour in combination with other colours - for example - when two colours appear next to each other. Whilst Itten is writing for students of art and design his approach is very scientific and has much wider application. Each colour has a specific "physical" attribute - the frequency of the vibration - but the feeling it invokes lies beyond the eye and the sensory organs.

The Elements of Colour
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2012
This book is endlessly fascinating. It is a condensed version of Itten's book, I think called 'the Art of Colour', and while the larger book is far more beautiful because of the colour plates featuring works of art, this one is far more affordable! It contains theory around how colour 'works', and is well illustrated. I can't pretend to really understand everything in it, but as someone with no training in art at all I still got a lot out of it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2009
for anyone interested in colour as a topic, whether practically as a painter or designer, or academically, this book is a standard. I have had a copy for twenty years and needed to replace it. It is not all the answers, but it is a way of approaching colour that can lead one on to experiment and explore the properties of colour and colour vision, and some of the possibilities that open up from such exploration.
It is historically important in the development of explanations for the phenomenon of colour and colour vision
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2003
If you are in the habbit of being creative there are times when awaiting inspiration is just not enough. You will need to know the nuts and bolts of the task in order to get the best framework for your flights of fancy / fantasy.
Creative imagery is about form, but not totally.This book abley presents the technical side of how colour is used and to what degree the elements will blend (or not).
A very valuale addition to the bookshelf of any Painter, Colour Photographer, Interior Designer. In fact anyone who uses colour in a creative manner.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2014
Not easy to read but worth the effort as the information is great and the colors are amazing. Has really helped my painting.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2009
This was a very interesting book on colour indeed and it has helped me with my coursework a great deal,I thought I knew about colour but this book taught me more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2013
Simply the best book on colour I have read so far. Good summary from the main book... buying that too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
Whilst the text is very good I had expected more colour illustrations in a book on colour.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)