Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bread: A Baker's Book of Techniques and Recipes
I have quite a lot of books on cookery in general, cookery methods etc. and this book tops the lot.
It is not a book for general recipes of bread making, although it does contain a significant amount - 200 pages.
It is more for the casual home baker, or even the commercial startup, who wants a complete understanding of bread making. The first 60 pages give a...
Published on 25 Feb 2010 by D. Greenman

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book but of limited use outside the US
The intended target audience for this book are professional bakers, this shines through such as in the description of techniques (how to handle 20 kg's of dough, anyone?) and the assumption that all mixing will be done with a pro mixer instead of kneading by hand. Still, the techniques are clearly written and have descriptive drawings that illustrate every step. The...
Published on 25 May 2012 by Werner Van Der Cruyssen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Treasure Trove, 18 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bread: A Baker's Book of Techniques and Recipes (Hospitality) (Hardcover)
I've been making all of the bread for our family for about 5 years now, and I've bought loads of books in the search for the perfect loaf. Of all of them, there are only two I really rate:

- Dough by Richard Bertinet. This is my "how" book. It's great for learning the basic techniques, and getting you away from that bread machine and into the world of real bread. My only criticism is that the recipes are a bit limited and unadventurous, but that fits with it being a beginner's book.

- This book, Bread: A Baker's Book of Techniques and Recipes by Jeffrey Hamelman.
This is my "why" book. For those with an enquiring mind, it explains why you do certain things, and introduces advanced techniques, not just in folding, shaping and braiding, but also in scaling, so you can do any recipe in any quantity, to suit your needs.

It also has a huge range of recipes. Not being content with mere 'straight' doughs, which merit only 17 pages, we have 40 pages of doughs made with yeasted pre-ferments (where Poolish, Biga and Pate Fermentee enter your vocabulary), followed by 56 pages of sourdoughs (and introduces us to the three main types of sourdough starter!). All in pursuit of the perfect tasting - and looking - loaf.

And as an added benefit, all of the recipes are presented in 3 ways; for the home, for a commercial bakery, and as baker's percentages. Brilliant.

As for concerns by some reviewers about metric/imperial units - conversion isn't difficult, particularly when you see that recipes are presented as baker's percentages. But I must admit, my favourite 12(ish) recipes have the weights in grams written in, in two different quantities (2 loaves and 3 loaves), to suit what I can handle. This is a working book, not for the coffee table, so I don't mind writing in it!

I think you need both books; "Dough" to learn the basics, then the Hamelman book for everyday use. But if I had to choose, this is the one I just couldn't do without. It never has time to rest on the bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book with some major faults, 5 Oct 2010
This review is from: Bread: A Baker's Book of Techniques and Recipes (Hospitality) (Hardcover)
This book explains the ingredients and processes of bread making really well for both commercial and home bakers...but only those who own a bread mixer as there isn't a single word about hand kneading.
The recipes are given with metric and imperial measurements for 30 loaves and then only in imperial for home production...and that is 2 or 3 loaves. This is completely useless for someone who wants to use metric measurements and make 1 loaf which would only seem like a logical way to present a recipe. Of course you can calculate your own quantities but this just seems like a major fault to me.
A warning to the occasional home baker: the majority of recipes are sourdough and as you will find out, keeping your own culture is not really worth it unless you bake every day. I have tried some of the breads with pre-ferment and they have all been very tasty.
Another complaint is that the book not designed to be brought into the kitchen. The organic and recycled look might be trendy but try wiping this book...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go no further, 5 Jun 2011
By 
Simon (Sevenoaks, Kent) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bread: A Baker's Book of Techniques and Recipes (Hospitality) (Hardcover)
There has been an explosion of books devoted to making real bread. This is simply the best and, along with Elizabeth David's "English Bread and Yeast Cookery", you don't need any others. Hamelman is a no frills writer who communicates techniques and methods very clearly. I have worked my way through a number of his pains au levain recipies and his sourdoughs and they worked out very well. My only niggle is that as it is written for North American readers it therefore uses US measures. However, a little work with a calculator sorts things out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great help, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bread: A Baker's Book of Techniques and Recipes (Hospitality) (Hardcover)
Excellent book, good to complement with his videos on the website King Arthur Flower Bakery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have if you are serious about bread making., 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bread: A Baker's Book of Techniques and Recipes (Hospitality) (Hardcover)
This book is a gem, a must have for serious bakers, bought a second copy just in case, try to build a mud oven to complement the wonderful recipes from this great work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST BOOK EVER(?) ON BREADMAKING, 27 Aug 2013
By 
John W Pennell (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bread: A Baker's Book of Techniques and Recipes (Hospitality) (Hardcover)
Having watched some videos of this master baker working on YouTube I had to buy this book cos this chap has a real knack for making really good bread.

e.g. [...]

and [...]

A comment on one of his videos said "He makes it seem so easy. With a few simple folds he shapes that mound of dough into almost a pillow."

This book tells you exactly how to do as he does and to produce the most wonderful bread with a minimum of effort. Watch his videos, read the book and you too will produce magnificent bread both full of flavour, with a good crumb and which keeps.

I have learned so much from this book that I simply have to recommend it to anyone who is serious about bread making - for those with a bread maker it's totally useless because you simply can't make really tasty bread in a bread maker. You need to use sourdough or - as I do - a pre-ferment which allows the full flavour to develop.

Why the question mark in the title? Well - there is a new edition which I have just ordered. I expect/hope that will be even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Helpful Book -in making Sourdough Bread, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bread: A Baker's Book of Techniques and Recipes (Hospitality) (Hardcover)
A Brillant Book if you want to learn how to make good Bread or refresh from past knowledge -Knowledge is the key.A book to trust. it tells you all the answers to the questions you need to be asking ---follow the techniques, finding the water temp of the water to make the bread and the knack of timing is made simple.snips of information that improve your breadmaking and save you time.I highly recommend this Book to all would-be Breadmakers. It takes time to get it right! but i now make Vermont Soughdough Bread three times a week and it is a lovely Bread.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book! BUT wait for the second edition, 28 Dec 2012
This review is from: Bread: A Baker's Book of Techniques and Recipes (Hospitality) (Hardcover)
This book is incredible. But just a heads up the second edition is out in a matter of weeks with tonnes of updates and added content. So sit tight and buy that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 22 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bread: A Baker's Book of Techniques and Recipes (Hospitality) (Hardcover)
I have a lot of cookery books, and a lot on bread. This is to me one of the greatest books on bread out so far. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bread techniques, 18 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bread: A Baker's Book of Techniques and Recipes (Hospitality) (Hardcover)
Excellent book, lots of tips and technical information and a real insight into many, many different types of bread and bread making methods.Ideal for a professional or keen serious home baker,well recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bread: A Baker's Book of Techniques and Recipes (Hospitality)
Bread: A Baker's Book of Techniques and Recipes (Hospitality) by Jeffrey Hamelman (Hardcover - 3 Sep 2004)
47.92
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews