Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How the author sold his killer iPad app
Chris Stevens is one half of the design team which developed "Alice for the iPad". You can easily find the YouTube marketing video of this rather radical adaptation of the children's classic which allows interactive animation to coloured up versions of the Tenniel drawings. He's the designer and former Telegraph technology journalist. The other guy did the programming in...
Published on 22 Mar 2011 by Julie Cutler

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but really isn't what it seems
I got this thinking it was a guide to designing for the iPad.

In part it is, but only if you are making the same app it is about.

I didn't finish reading this, it got tedious, I wanted something that would be a better guide to designing for the iPad, this is merely a book talking about the learning process that the team had making this app...
Published on 18 Aug 2011 by Glezza


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but really isn't what it seems, 18 Aug 2011
By 
Glezza (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Designing for the iPad: Building Applications That Sell (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I got this thinking it was a guide to designing for the iPad.

In part it is, but only if you are making the same app it is about.

I didn't finish reading this, it got tedious, I wanted something that would be a better guide to designing for the iPad, this is merely a book talking about the learning process that the team had making this app.

Interesting, yes, but of limited use. There are better books out there to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How the author sold his killer iPad app, 22 Mar 2011
By 
Julie Cutler - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Designing for the iPad: Building Applications That Sell (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Chris Stevens is one half of the design team which developed "Alice for the iPad". You can easily find the YouTube marketing video of this rather radical adaptation of the children's classic which allows interactive animation to coloured up versions of the Tenniel drawings. He's the designer and former Telegraph technology journalist. The other guy did the programming in Seattle using Objective C and a freeeware 2D animation program called Chipmunk Physics. As such this book is incredibly useful (and good at pointing out what should be blindingly obvious) at discussing how you should plan the interface from scratch, making design choices which suit how people hold the iPad and resolutedly trying to avoid imitating how a "normal" mouse/keyboard based computer set up would work, and for goodness sake, don't just scale up an iPhone app.

As an ex journalist, he's excellent at pointing out that you should have a marketing strategy in place before you start. Not only did they have conveniently out of copyright illustrations, which were easy to cut up in Photoshop, because of the otiginal thick inking outlines, but there was also the Tim Burton film to tag onto. Mainly he thinks journalists aren't worth approaching initially- why bother when you have YouTube? All excellent advice. He also firmly states that you are going to have to come up with something outside the Apple store to market your treasured software- because unless it hits the top 10, no one will find it there (yep, it's a painful mess!).

There is a small section of code (about 44 pages) explaining how the animation works in iPad-Alice. Which is all very dandy if you want to reproduce his App. However apart from some very sensible advice about navigation, adding sounds, and filming your App in action for YouTube (shiny shiny iPad surface!), this is a book about designing AN APPLICATION for the iPad- HIS. Now as I'm just learning the delights of a hand-me-down iPhone, I do see that traditional reference books can be REALLY given a zing- read out the pronounciation in dictionaries, add bird calls to the usual picture and written habits. We're at the start of something big (probably). This however is not a book describing the potentials. In fact, he's quite down about magazines adapting to the iPad and thinks that reference books will just pursue the dead end design that was factual CD-ROMs.

So, sensible reference advice before you attempt to become the next success story,yes, but definitely NOT a full guide to "Building Application-S". Er and with the release of the iPad 2 just days away, with its two cameras, its dual core processor, emphasis on video calls and image manipulation...things may be a little more complicated.

As this is a very very heavily illustrated full colour book, I don't think the sample Kindle file (also full colour) will be particularly pleasant to read on the Kindle itself with the current monochrome ink technology. It has a horribly disjointed layout on Kindle for PC with graphics hovering in space. Not that all the pictures are actually relevant (it falls into the designers' coffee table book category at times). I liked it, but I'm not sure how many times it will be reread for nuggets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Design handbook, 20 Mar 2011
By 
badger (london) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Designing for the iPad: Building Applications That Sell (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I though that this book would fall either into software engineering category or lighter category of marketing and strategies. Interestingly, it covers both. It starts from general considerations such as planning, ideas, workflow, project management, and gradually moves into examples of actual code. An example of Alice in Wonderland story is used to illustrate all aspects. I think this book somehow managed to achieve impossible, killing several birds with one stone. Professional software engineers looking for detailed technical reference will not find it there, so I guess this category of readers will be one of few, that should look elsewhere. For all others, the book might be useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect book to start with ....., 19 Jun 2011
By 
A. Cresswell "Bubblefish777" (london, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Designing for the iPad: Building Applications That Sell (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Anyone who's seen my reviews knows that among the several thousand I have posted, few hit 5 stars. I am very self-critical and so don't pull any punches when it comes to other people's work. However after reviewing and readin this book for over a month I think I can honestly say this book is quite brilliant. I have been considering authoring my own app for some time now and I wanted to know what it would take. Well this book is without doubt the best place to start. It's all here, marketing, brainstorming, costing, presentation, design, coding examples, processes. The whole thing is laid out in a very very good way. I'd go so far to say that the author should consider suthoring books or editing books rather than writing apps. Do you remember what a revelation the "Dummies guide to ..." books were? They were innovative to the point people flocked to their new casual style and layout. More and more books are moving into a much more accessible and 'funky' format to engage the reader than the old text book of years ago did. I did my MBA 5 years ago and even accounting books had significantly changed their approach to layout and content. Well this book is at that level. I can't fault it. IT's got everything in here you want to know about. It's not a solid book on coding, nor is it solid marketing. It's everything you want to know about designing that app for the iPad. I reall do recommend and commend this book to everyone. This is a great place to start. One last thing ... if you read this review and it helps you buy or decide not to buy the book then please vote and keep the user rating system alive. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A welcome focus on best practice, 10 April 2011
By 
R. WEST-SOLEY "Rich West-Soley" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Designing for the iPad: Building Applications That Sell (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Firstly, this isn't a primer on coding applications for iPad, but rather focuses on best practices for application design on the iPad, covering elements from initial planning to app layout and the best implementation of user input and even use of sound. Including lots of full colour images of apps to illustrate the points made, it's a welcome concentration on the 'philosophy' of iPad app design, which is often missing from step-by-step introductions to app development. The dissection of gestures is very in-depth in particular, and if you want to get your head round the nature of this unique aspect of iPad interaction, you won't get a more thorough and comprehensive guide than in this book.

Another welcome and original section deals with the development of 'iPrint' apps for books, magazines and such like - useful to have a section devoted to the best implementation of these kinds of apps, which are not given enough time in other books, but are still a staple section of the App Store.

Despite the focus on best practice rather than the technical, it's not devoid of coding hints and tips, and entire code examples for the author's successful Alice app are included, which are great in particular for learning more about the Chipmunk Physics engine, and 2D sprite manipulation in general. Definitely an ideal follow-up for anyone past the basics of iPad development, or for that matter, anyone planning iPad apps for others to develop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A genuinely useful, real-world guide, 19 May 2011
By 
M. D. Harris (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Designing for the iPad: Building Applications That Sell (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
If you're planning on creating a App for the iPad this book is well worth a read. While not necessarily essential it does provide a lot of useful tips regarding the process of building an App. It should be noted that this is not a step-by-step manual, but rather guide to help you avoid common (and some not so common) pitfalls during the development process. There's also a good few tips on how to market the end result too.

To be honest a lot of of the information contained within the book is just good old fashioned common sense, but overlooking these relatively straight forward points (such as hand placement obscuring interfaces) can make or break an App. If you're serious about making an App this book is well worth a read, and if you pick up just one tip it could save you no end of time in the long run.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a fascinating book - highly recommended, 12 May 2011
By 
M. Williams "Matt Williams" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Designing for the iPad: Building Applications That Sell (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As an experienced iPhone user I figured the difference between an iPhone and an iPad would be pretty slim. But having read this book I realise that I was very wrong. If you are thinking of designing apps for iPads then you seriously want to read this book. It's an excellent investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Solid Introduction Book, 26 April 2011
By 
Sue C. (Bucks) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Designing for the iPad: Building Applications That Sell (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is more a business text than a technical guide - 'Designing for the iPad' is a solid introduction to marketplace mechanics, iPad user-experience and app marketing. Hobbyist programmers (or designers) and those making their first 'app' will benefit the most from the first two parts, everyone will find something useful in the design and marketing sections.

The book is well written and key points are generously illustrated with beautiful screenshots from successful apps. Only one chapter actually dips into code and really just completes the 'Alice' story - you can safely ignore this and enjoy the rest of the book without having any programming skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a raven nor a writing desk, 13 April 2011
By 
Paolo Sammut - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Designing for the iPad: Building Applications That Sell (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Designing for the iPad
Chris Stevens

Not a raven nor a writing desk.

This is a very good, well presented book which details the processes involved in producing a killer iPad (first generation) iPad. Please be warned that it is mostly a design manual which illustrates how the author produced his "Alice for the iPad" app. A lot of this knowledge is however transferable and will help the budding designer to produce his or her own application.

What this book is not however is a technical manual. There is some code examples in the final third of the book which are illustrative of the game which the author wrote, however this is really only very useful in the context in which it is given. I must say that (whilst this is a good book) I was actually looking for a more technical manual which described how to write a piece of software which can the be uploaded to the apple app store and then downloaded to my iPad. So if you are looking for a low-level technical manual, do look inside to see if this is actually what you want.

That said, with this book you will learn to think like an iPad design in terms of how a game should work, what sort of interface considerations you need to make, how to market the software etc. To me it feels a little bit incomplete as from the title I expected a bit more low level coding-tutorial but otherwise this book is recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, and plenty of useful information., 13 April 2011
By 
Peter Coupe (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Designing for the iPad: Building Applications That Sell (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I am actually designing for the iPad rival platform, Android, but the information in this book is useful to anyone designing for this new type of delivery system.
This book is very thorough, and presents a long and detailed look at how one particular App was conceived and produced; Alice on the iPad.
Some will be critical of this approach, perhaps arguing that it is rather too specific, or that it doesn't answer 'my' question. However, what it does give you is a lot of 'hints and tips', a whole batch of code and a detailed walk through a complete creative cycle, so for my money it is far better than many of the over-generalised 'how to do it' books you can currently buy.
It shows how to activate and use a whole range of iPad features, and has certainly made me think more carefully about how I design my own Apps.
I found it very useful, and also quite entertaining - without having to revert to the US style of 'wacky' humor that many computer text books seem to think is an essential part of the delivery of such information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Designing for the iPad: Building Applications That Sell
Designing for the iPad: Building Applications That Sell by Chris Stevens (Paperback - 4 Mar 2011)
20.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews