Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great visualisation book with a unique focus
This book concentrates on the visual presentation of numerical data. Most books on this subject that are already out there either focus on the data or the presentation but rather uniquely this one picks up on how these two ends of the spectrum meet in the middle. The techniques for extracting data from various sources, exploring the data and then selecting clear...
Published on 16 July 2011 by Finn Newick

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some irresponsible advice
I was concerned that the intro to web-scraping makes no mention of the role of robots.txt and general netiquette around scraping.
The example scraper hits a 3rd party site in a tight loop with no delays - effectively a denial-of-service toolkit for the naiive programmer.

The topics on visualisations tend to whip through a variety of practical how-to...
Published 19 months ago by Keef fan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great visualisation book with a unique focus, 16 July 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visualize This: The Flowing Data Guide to Design, Visualization, and Statistics (Paperback)
This book concentrates on the visual presentation of numerical data. Most books on this subject that are already out there either focus on the data or the presentation but rather uniquely this one picks up on how these two ends of the spectrum meet in the middle. The techniques for extracting data from various sources, exploring the data and then selecting clear visualisations that enable further exploration and discovery are all presented in clear, practical examples that can be worked through. You won't find any meaningless data-porn here, just modern techniques for developing elegant and beautiful visualisations!

The book seems to be aimed at beginning or lower-intermediate data designers who are comfortable with either design or statistics (but not necessarily both) but it's good refreshing read even if you're already familiar with the content as the text contains many insightful thoughts from the author. I'm giving it 4 rather than 5 stars as it would've been nice if the book was rounded off with with one or two more challenging examples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Simply Beautiful Book, 23 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visualize This: The Flowing Data Guide to Design, Visualization, and Statistics (Paperback)
I bought this book on a Friday with delivery the following day. All of that weekend I wasn't able to put the book down and even now I am always flicking through the pages for inspiration. It is a must read for anyone who handles data and/or prepares reports based on data, and is simply beautiful in its presentation. It is clear that every aspect of this book has been carefully considered, from the typeface to the page layout.

This book will open your eyes to what is possible once you move away from Microsoft Excel. As a professional analyst and data modeller, I have been using Excel for years but was growing frustrated with its limitations. In this book, Nathan Yau uses R, Python and Adobe Illustrator (though I personally prefer the open-source Inkscape equivalent) to show just what can be achieved with a little imagination and creativity.

I have given this five stars. Although it would have been nice to have more complex walk-throughs from raw data to final graphic as suggested in other reviews, to do so would have required the reader to have a solid foundation in R and Python programming. To include the required learning material in these programming languages so as to bring the reader up to speed as a programmer, as well as containing the excellent material it already does contain, would have required a book three or four times the thickness. If we were then to add a needed introductory statistics course into the book as well...

I think therefore to penalise the book for focusing purely on the creation of great looking graphics is a bit harsh especially when it says "Visualise", "design" and "visualisation" in the title.

That said there is a plethora of free PDF guides to R and Python (and Inkscape) legally available for download from the internet and of a high, publishable quality. These guides will take the reader from basic programming to intermediate level and beyond. See the documentation page on the R website or google "A Byte of Python" for an excellent, and free, beginners guide to Python programming.

So all in all this book will not teach you how to be a great R/Python programmer or statistician for that matter, but it will give you more than enough inspiration to motivate you away from Excel charts and towards teaching yourself powerful professional techniques that will make your presentations/reports stand out and make you a great data visualiser.

A simply beautiful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for practical purposes, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visualize This: The Flowing Data Guide to Design, Visualization, and Statistics (Paperback)
The book is definitely nice for people who want to get their hands dirty and start visualising right away. The author gives simple, easy-to-understand tutorials on how to use the different software packages (mainly R and Adobe Illustrator). The extent of links and other references is big and sure enough offers a lot of future possibilities. The book is nicely printed, the illustrations are good quality which helps a lot when reading.

The downside for me was that I was looking more for theoretical concepts behind it (my own research is in data sonification and I wanted to see what visualists do). The author seems (at least to me) to speak for personal experiences, he does not refer to scientific parameters which is a bit of a miss to me. As such, the most interesting part was the first chapter on data gathering.

Conclusion: do you want to get a quickstart with visualisation, read this book. If you want to read something more theoretical, look further. The links to different datasites are interesting nevertheless
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Graphics!, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visualize This: The Flowing Data Guide to Design, Visualization, and Statistics (Paperback)
I bought this book to get a different viepoint on how to generate graohics which were not just your usual two colour bar charts etc. and this book doesn't dissapoint!. The author presents a dazzling array of options together with the R code required to generate them but some of them are definately not for the novice user. Overall the book has an esy style and can be dipped into as required. Explanations are good and it is well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two useful books in one neat package, 9 Aug 2013
By 
David Brake (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Visualize This: The Flowing Data Guide to Design, Visualization, and Statistics (Paperback)
I don't usually review books but this one's utility leapt out at me as I leafed through it. Not only does it 1) provide a good introduction to some basic visualisation design principles and basic statistical/visual literacy (worth it in itself), it also provides 2) step by step instructions to enable the reader to put this knowledge into action using (mostly) free open source software - R, python, javascript etc - and in a reasonably accessible style with plenty of relevant illustrations (as you expect/need in a book about visualisation).

My main reservation about this book is that the author uses the "R" statistical software to do many of the manipulations. It is powerful and free but as he says himself "the software itself isn't very helpful in guiding new users"... and if you like "buttons and clicking and dragging" (which I do!) you will find it hard to use (p. 73). As a result you end up towards the end of the book with chunks like "the c()directive creates an empty vector, which you add to in each iteration [9 lines of code] then pass the reading_colors array into parallel instead of the lone #000000". This gives you Figure 7-24..." But some of this complexity is probably unavoidable if you want to get your hands dirty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very well written with examples you can actually follow, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visualize This: The Flowing Data Guide to Design, Visualization, and Statistics (Paperback)
I'm doing an MSc in Data Science and this book was fantastic for looking at visualisations. There are good pictures, code examples and written to take you on a journey of visualisation discovery. I have read it twice now and I consider it the best I have read .. so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful looking book, 7 Feb 2013
By 
J. Stockwell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Filled full of great content for design tips, appropriate charts to use in certain situations. I read it quickly and was able to learn a lot of useful things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some irresponsible advice, 12 Feb 2013
This review is from: Visualize This: The Flowing Data Guide to Design, Visualization, and Statistics (Paperback)
I was concerned that the intro to web-scraping makes no mention of the role of robots.txt and general netiquette around scraping.
The example scraper hits a 3rd party site in a tight loop with no delays - effectively a denial-of-service toolkit for the naiive programmer.

The topics on visualisations tend to whip through a variety of practical how-to examples using R and then tidying the results up in Illustrator. Protovis gets a mention but I think the action these days is increasingly around the newer d3.js framework which is not covered here. As for the theory behind effective visualisation I have seen more interesting explorations of the subject elsewhere e.g. Tamara Munzner's Vimeo presentation which covers the science behind human perception and how different encodings (color, size, position) vary in effectiveness as a result.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very focussed on programming, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had hoped to see more on how to imaginately show data in graphical form - this did not deliver despite a rave review in the Economist which was the reason for my purchase. Still nothing to beat "The Visual Display of Quantitative Data " by Tufte 1983 in my opinion?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basics to implementing Statistical Visualization, 9 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visualize This: The Flowing Data Guide to Design, Visualization, and Statistics (Paperback)
Although, it was not what I was looking for, I found this book interesting if you want to know the basics about implementing statistical information visualizations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Visualize This: The Flowing Data Guide to Design, Visualization, and Statistics
£18.35
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews