Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars9
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£14.18+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 October 2011
Worthwhile buying used as a reference book, but I wouldn't plan on learning materials mechanics from this book alone. For civil engineering students, you're better with proper Structural & stress anaylsis books, as this is what this book aspires to be.

I reccommend:

Structural & Stress analysis THG Megson (THE book for this subject)

An easy to understand book written to supplement Megson's, which can seem intimidating at times:-
Structural & Stress analysis theories, tutorials & examples - Jianqiao Ye (Dr Ye, my current lecturer for structural & stress analysis!)
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2015
I have lots of Dummies books as they give a different perspective ad really are useful reference books. If you are looking to ease yourself into this subject then you won't go wrong with this.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2014
This book is extremely useful for any Solids/Structures course. Even at third year at university, there are some chapters that are useful. The writer has structured the book in such a way that you feel guided through the topics. It is written in plain English and is very easy to get to grips with. The only issue I have with this book, is that the author regularly switches between imperial and metric units which can be confusing. One must bear in mind that the writer does assume you have some basic knowledge of the subject. Even so, this book is an excellent study companion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
A bit difficult however very interesting, I intend to use this book to study my field further and more than other books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2015
A good book but would be better if it had SI units that are used in standard calculations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2014
Really basic but very good non the less. I recommended it for all beginners.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2012
NOT a book for beginners. Presumes existing knowledge of engineering statics, calculus, geometry, trigonometry. This is a book written for university students of the subject who already have a good background knowledge. The 'For Dummies' range claims to provide easy introductions for beginners to a subject - this book fails.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2015
excellent book very clear to understand.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2015
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.