Customer Reviews


13 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Instructive!!!!!!!!!, 15 Dec. 2004
This review is from: An Introduction to Modern Cosmology, 2nd Edition (Physics) (Paperback)
The text gives a good technical overview of the main aspects of the hot big band model. It goes significantly beyond what's covered in the numerous popular science books in the same domain. Overall you get to realize the logic/rationale behind the theory of the big bang. Liddle's main good idea is to give a starting technical outlook to the description of the Universe as a whole. Liddle describes the core ideas and then requires his/her reader to carry out some relatively simple mathematical demonstrations (requiring calculus). Thanks to this approach, you get a good qualitative and some quantitative feel about the main aspects of cosmology.
I only give 4 stars because the book has (for clarity's sake) avoided explaining some important key physical points. Instead there are briefly introduced at the start of the book and they are used later when developing cosmological ideas. This is obviously a conscious choice from Liddle.
The author however mentions that there is a significant gap between his book and other more serious undergrad/postgrad textbooks. In my view, it would be nice if a later edition could attempt to bridge this gap by adding some more experimental evidence and fundamental physics.
All in all a good addition to my personal library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It does exactly what is says on the tin!, 30 May 2002
I just read this book cover to cover about three times for my Physics course, and its a great little book.
Its one of the few text books i would recommend to a non Physicist (Though you do need a decent level of mathematical knowledge.)
It covers all of cosmology and the bigbang theory without resorting to Relativity and as such allows you to get to grasps with the concepts behind the universe with ease.
It allows the reader to understand the nature of the universe quite deeply for it size, and keeps you entertained throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars an excellent introduction to cosmology, 9 Nov. 2011
This review is from: An Introduction to Modern Cosmology, 2nd Edition (Physics) (Paperback)
Having used this book for a 3rd year physics course on cosmology, I can say that it is a wonderful introduction to the subject for physicists or anyone with an interest in cosmology.

The book carefully guides you through all the basic topics, in enough detail and rigour to keep physicists happy, in a way that is easily understandable to most people who have a basic understanding of calculus, but with a conversational tone (compared to most textbooks anyway) that keeps the reading fairly light and interesting. The lengths of the book also helps in this respect, as it is not very thick.

I liked the logical flow of the chapters, leading you from basic ideas of topology to the friedman equations to some of the more advanced ideas about the early universe.

The book is not the be-all-end-all of cosmology text books, as it is only an introduction and skirts briefly over some of the more advanced sections, but if you are looking for an introduction to the subject I have not found a better one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It does exactly what it says on the tin., 30 May 2002
By A Customer
I just read this book cover to cover about three times for my Physics course, and its a great little book.
Its one of the few text books i would recommend to a non Physicist (Though you do need a decent level of mathematical knowledge.)
It covers all of cosmology and the bigbang theory without resorting to Relativity and as such allows you to get to grasps with the concepts behind the universe with ease.
It allows the reader to understand the nature of the universe quite deeply for it size, and keeps you entertained throughout. It would be a great addition to anybody studying the subject as it wont overload you with hugh reams of text. The ideas are presently quickly and explained well.
The best recommendation i can give it, is that after a years studying its the only one i'll read again for entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More than an Intro to Modern Cosmology, 7 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Without the benefit of learning through lectures, this text is academic in nature and quite a challenging read. Nevertheless, the author, who comes across as an authority on the subject, effectively differentiates between areas of cosmology that are based on facts rather than those that are educated guesses.
The title is misleading, this book is, in my opinion, far more than an Introduction and therefore I wouldn't recommend it as the first book a budding Cosmologist should read. In my case it is the 4th book I've read which lays foundations for the subject matter, and it fits very well.
In summary, this is a very good text book written by an expert that will tax your brain cells and will need to be read more than once. It is well worth investing your time and hard earned cash in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars concise and easily assimilated. It uses the very minimum of mathematical ..., 5 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Introduction to Modern Cosmology, 2nd Edition (Physics) (Paperback)
What I was looking for was a book that would provide me with a clear overview of modern cosmology that avoids mathematical rigour. This has met my every expectation. The dialogue is clear, concise and easily assimilated. It uses the very minimum of mathematical knowlege and approaches from the physics viewpoint. Thr reader with little mathematical knowledge will still gain considerably from this text, those with a higher level of mathematical skill will find it a gateway into more rigorous text. The author has achieved a good balance by prividing an introductory text for the non-mathematician and mathemetician alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Daytime Reading, 21 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really found the brevity of the chapters a plus. Enough in each to make you think but also the time to reflect before moving on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction, 30 Dec. 2014
This review is from: An Introduction to Modern Cosmology, 2nd Edition (Physics) (Paperback)
I haven't done any form of astronomy since A level physics and I didn't find it overly complicated at all. Great introductory book and genuinely interesting to read. Would strongly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 30 May 2010
By 
K. Ramwell (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Introduction to Modern Cosmology, 2nd Edition (Physics) (Paperback)
Absolutely fantastic for my Cosmology 1 course at university. I'd say that 1st year degree level of Maths and Physics is needed to fully understand this book. It's got a perfect balance of mathematics like derivations of formulae and text to explain what is going on and what the chapter is about. Would strongly recommend it for anyone taking Cosmology at university.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Introduction to Modern Cosmology, 2nd Edition (Physics) (Paperback)
Good introduction into the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

An Introduction to Modern Cosmology, 2nd Edition (Physics)
An Introduction to Modern Cosmology, 2nd Edition (Physics) by Andrew Liddle (Paperback - 27 Mar. 2003)
£22.45
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews