Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative
I bought this book as as an English teacher, hoping to use some of the material in it to teach classes. Thus, this review won't be helpful for those buying the books for self-tutoring, but rather those buying it as an aid to teaching.

If you're running a bit scarce on material for classes and your syllabus is relaxed enough that you can include your own stuff,...
Published on 19 Mar 2010 by Mr. Di Zendle

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very useful- for teachers and those helping someone to learn English
This is actually a very useful book. Unfortunately, the pitching and marketing are completely wrong. Basically, it is an aid for teachers or for fluent English speakers to enable a non-native speaker to learn English. As such, it's invaluable, and should earn five stars.

However, it is being marketed at complete novices, and as such, it is written in far too...
Published on 16 April 2010 by M. W. Hatfield


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative, 19 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. Di Zendle "Piping hot potato!" (Potato, Potato) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Learning English as a Foreign Language For Dummies (Paperback)
I bought this book as as an English teacher, hoping to use some of the material in it to teach classes. Thus, this review won't be helpful for those buying the books for self-tutoring, but rather those buying it as an aid to teaching.

If you're running a bit scarce on material for classes and your syllabus is relaxed enough that you can include your own stuff, this book is an invaluable aid for planning lessons. Grammar and vocabulary points are fleshed out into developed narratives, and one can easily plan a lesson around the content covered in each section. Of course, photocopying sections of the book would be illegal, and not the sort of thing a TEFL teacher would EVER do - but if you were to copy out pages by hand you could easily use them as handouts.

All in all, I'd highly recommend this book as an aid to classroom prep - it's saved me a lot of time and effort lately, and students seem to respond really well to the book's content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very useful- for teachers and those helping someone to learn English, 16 April 2010
By 
M. W. Hatfield "mwhatfield" (Gainsborough, Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Learning English as a Foreign Language For Dummies (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is actually a very useful book. Unfortunately, the pitching and marketing are completely wrong. Basically, it is an aid for teachers or for fluent English speakers to enable a non-native speaker to learn English. As such, it's invaluable, and should earn five stars.

However, it is being marketed at complete novices, and as such, it is written in far too complex terms and is nowhere near accessible enough to someone working on their own. In the right hands- eg a teacher, a relative, a fluent English speaker helping a friend to learn the language, it offers excellent advice ( by the way, much of which would be very useful to native English speakers- this would make an excellent classroom tool for any PGCE English student teacher).

But given to a non-native speaker without a strong basic grounding, it will be confusing, difficult and ultimately pointless.
Use it properly! There are many good things here...but it needs help.
How about a rename?
"Teaching English as a Foreign Language for Dummies?"
Much better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Really hard to follow. Steep learning curve + lessons on TEXTING?!, 18 Mar 2010
By 
Pallus the Phallus (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Learning English as a Foreign Language For Dummies (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
English is my mother tongue, although I'm only educated to 'O' Level standard.
I found this book hard to follow, confusing, unhelpful, and without humour.

I could not in a million years see how it would possibly benefit someone with rudimentary English. Right from the introduction and the explanatory text, the book is written using complicated terms and explanations.

But then it goes on to suggest alternatives for "Excuse me?" with terms such as "Eh?", doesn't forbit the term "Innit?" and gives suggestions for texting like 'yr a gr8 m8'. Lord love a duck, what planet are they on?

It should be called 'An out-of-touch Professor's Guide to English..'

My girlfriend is Brazilian and has a good grasp of basic English but I didn't even bother trying to explain the complicated terms and exercises in this book.

I just don't get it. In the book it suggests that the reader may have picked-up just a few English words from pop songs, films and popular media. So if that's who the book is aimed at, why is it written like a teaching aid instead of a 'Dummy's Guide'?! It's as clear as mud and as useful as a chocolate teapot.

Very poor and unhelpful. If I was an EFL student, reading this would make me learn Spanish instead.

There are only two people I can think of who will benefit from this book -the authors!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lively introduction to UK English language (and culture), 1 Feb 2010
This review is from: Learning English as a Foreign Language For Dummies (Paperback)
Not another "for Dummies" book I hear you asking... er, no it's not just another Dummies book at all. This one is a lively and useful guide to learning English in the UK. It covers all the linguistics basics well - the grammar, forming questions, subject and object questions etc, verbs and tenses, conditionals, lots of vocabulary and the CD has loads of examples of spoken English; the voices cover a range of ages and is a good mix of BBC-style English. Bear in mind that regional accents in the UK vary a lot and this is not reflected on the CD.

But what stands out for me is all the other additional stuff in the book. This book is not aimed at academics, but for those people wishing to spend time in the UK and as such it meets their needs with lots of useful information about life in the UK - whether it is about reward cards, checking into a B&B or paying for carrier bags. It's all in here.

A fine book that will prove useful to anyone witha serious interest in learning to speak UK English by visiting the UK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simples., 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learning English as a Foreign Language For Dummies (Paperback)
Waited for a book like that for a long time to give to a good friend.
Simple and, dare I say it, entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor - derivative - clumsy, 16 Nov 2011
By 
Withnail67 (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Learning English as a Foreign Language For Dummies (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a massively popular series, but this volume is basically having a laugh. To be of real use, books like this need to be rooted very much in specific and realistic situations, with lively, up-to-date and appropriate English from a number of registers. The exercises and examples in this book are stiff and leaden, and really quite weak compared to comparable resources for a similar price. This book would really not impress an EFL professional or even a student with a middling degree of experience. Shop around and save your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing and lacking in interest, 18 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. Nadim Bakhshov "Nadim Bakhshov" (Bloomsbury, London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Learning English as a Foreign Language For Dummies (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Coming from an EFL background, I was looking forward to reviewing this product but was sorely disappointed. My initial impression of the book was not good as it looked very bland. When I looked through the contents, my initial impressions were confirmed as the book lacks any colourful visual stimulation. New EFL literature is aimed at being fun, lively, stimulating, colourful and realistic in what it is trying to achieve. I found none of this in this book. Instead, there were numerous set conversations which struck me as unrealistic and not a reflection of what students may expect in real life.
It is not for learners who are at the early stage of learning and maybe helpful for those wishing to improve on what they have been learning for a long time simply because it approaches the learning from an alternative angle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not so great..., 17 Mar 2010
By 
Fireball Dragon (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Learning English as a Foreign Language For Dummies (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The book is apparently designed to help those learn English as a new language, yet it is peculiarly written in English itself. This is the first thing that will strike you. If I were planning to learn, say French, it would not help it the book teaching was also written in French!

Perhaps what this book is good for then is individuals who can read English, but have issues with communication skills. In this respect, it can help even people who speak English as a first language if they need to brush-up on their lingustics, but I should warn you, it is very simple and basic.

The book covers several scenarios, such as how to speak to people in different settings such as a bank, going out for dinner, communicating with the emergency services and speaking in day-to-day life (e.g. a shop).

The book also comes with a CD-ROM which can aid learning. All-in-all, don't expect anything special. If you really want to learn English, you can do much better by getting a real Teacher or a better book. 2/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not really for "dummies", 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learning English as a Foreign Language For Dummies (Paperback)
Very good position for begginers.simple and cleary answering for many english questions.Useful in practice, in normal live situation.It will be good book for beginners also for someone who was learn english long time ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars English learning book of much nice good, 4 Oct 2012
By 
Wayne Redhart "@wayneredhart on Twitter!" (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Learning English as a Foreign Language For Dummies (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Of language, English hard like granite phallus. For dummy, book useful to make help with speak, so speak is better and for nicer understanding inside ear by talking man guy. Book good for speak to waiting friend in restaurant or speak to counting friend in money bank or speak to strange friend in street. "Hey, you there! Where my hotel?" you says. "Hotel left by traffic colour lamps tree then behind policing yard with word sign. No jump along road. Do bus, please, for saving foot skin. " says strange helping man. "Thankyou for do helps. You very nice and kind for special directing words. You have lovely fat wife, like river horse. May sun shine on you like pork of heaven". Learning opportunity in book much big and much large. Speak like prince Henry and everyone go impressed by good lip moves, like expensive man in James Bond hat.

(note from Wayne: No- that wasn't written by a foreigner. It was put together by my idiot son Horace. If you think that was disgracefully bad use of English, you should have heard him before he started on this book!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Learning English as a Foreign Language For Dummies
Learning English as a Foreign Language For Dummies by Nicky Hockly (Paperback - 11 Dec 2009)
9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews