Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Guide to TEFL
I just finished doing my TESOL course and found this book invaluable in surviving it, and passing. The section on lesson planning was particularly useful for successfully tackling teaching practice, and I plan to continue using it to do the same thing in the 'real world'. I was also able to get in contact with the author, and she gave me some solid and practical ideas for...
Published on 15 May 2010 by K. Downton

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the cover.
Full of useful tips. If it also had photocopiable masters it would be a god send of a book. Thanks.
Published 23 months ago by KerryAB


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teaching English as a Foreign Language for Dummies (Paperback)
Absolutly love this book. it is easy to read and use. I dip in and out of it all the time. It covers most of the topics but for more in depth knowledge specialist book need to be bought. but as a starter this is a great book for the price. I
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good, 19 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teaching English as a Foreign Language for Dummies (Paperback)
This is an excellent help to organise yourself with helpful tips on how to arrange your classes to teach English to adults from another country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant book, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teaching English as a Foreign Language for Dummies (Paperback)
Informative and very useful book for both newly qualified teachers or anyone thinking of teaching English as a foreign language. Nice clear format. A very good guide/reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What I needed!, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teaching English as a Foreign Language for Dummies (Paperback)
This book really helps break down what a TEFL is and what you need to know. A great first stepping stone if you are considering doing a TEFL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good practical ideas, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am new to TEFL and I loved this book. Lots of basic must-have information, covering all aspects of TEFL. Good practical classroom ideas. I have read other TEFL books and the authors seem to delight in using words nobody else has heard of (or would never dream of using). This book explains everything clearly and simply, but you still have the sense that the author has wide ranging experience and wants you to succeed. I'd recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice book that explains it all, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teaching English as a Foreign Language for Dummies (Paperback)
This ought to be the bible for all English teachers and helped me help a freind who is struggling to pass her English test so she can go on to be a biologist
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not only for beginners, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been teaching one to one English classes for eight years. Now I need a change and will start class teaching in September. With this in mind I needed some help and also fresh ideas. In my opinion this book is a must have. Each chapter is easy to read and understand, with great ideas for ice-breakers, conversation classes, lesson planning and classroom management. For new comers to TEFL the grammar sectioned is well thought out and broken down into bite size pieces for the reader to dip in and out of when needed. For anyone taking a course this book will be invaluable, for anyone moving on in their career it's helpful and full of ideas to help with the transition. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 9 Feb 2013
By 
M. maj "valbrau" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Teaching English as a Foreign Language for Dummies (Paperback)
Excellent help and easy to read. Would definitely recommend , it's a must have guide if you have nO experience in tefl
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift for a student of TEFL, 28 Dec 2012
By 
Louise Catterall (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teaching English as a Foreign Language for Dummies (Paperback)
My housemate is currently doing a TEFL course and has found this book to be simple and informative. A great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes for a dummy, 11 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teaching English as a Foreign Language for Dummies (Paperback)
Fast service and a very useful book. I use as a reference book for lesson planning and teaching methods for different age groups.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Teaching English as a Foreign Language for Dummies
Teaching English as a Foreign Language for Dummies by Michelle Maxom (Paperback - 14 Aug 2009)
£11.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews