Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, if not the best Frommer's travel writing
This is an attractive book that's full of fascinating facts and may well inspire you to travel. It isn't always a great read, failing to convey the excitement of being there, but is a practical guide, not just a pretty coffee-table book. It is attractively illustrated and full of useful information on when to go, how to get tickets, how to get there, costs, best view...
Published on 14 Feb. 2010 by Mr Gumby

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Needs to be bigger and better!
I love armchair travel and planning exotic or interesting trips that I may or may not ever take, so this book looked like a fun and possibly quirky way to indulge that. It lists and describes 300 of what are supposedly the most interesting events around the globe.

The events are split into the following categories: Art and Culture, Family, Food and Drink,...
Published on 14 Feb. 2010 by Miss


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Needs to be bigger and better!, 14 Feb. 2010
By 
Miss "crazyminx" (Coventry) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 300 Unmissable Events and Festivals Around the World (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I love armchair travel and planning exotic or interesting trips that I may or may not ever take, so this book looked like a fun and possibly quirky way to indulge that. It lists and describes 300 of what are supposedly the most interesting events around the globe.

The events are split into the following categories: Art and Culture, Family, Food and Drink, Glamorous, Music, Natural Wonders, Spectactular, Spiritual and Religious, Sport and Adventure, and Weird and Wonderful. Within each category there is information about numerous events.

Each event takes up either a page, half a page or less, which isn't much considering the book is sized between A5 and A4, being nearer to A5. This means that the general description of each event is often barely enough to whet your appetite or encourage you to find out more. It also means that less than half the events seem to be accompanied by a photo, which is a real shame. Also, the accompanying box for each event with supposedly vital information such as prices, times and how to get there often seems lacking and incredibly cursory.

One thing that is useful is that at the back of the book, the events are listed firstly by country and then by calendar order, which is handy.

The array of events is interesting and makes mildly amusing reading, but I would rather have a bigger book that deals with half the amount of events in more detail and with more photos. This isn't pretty or involving enough to be a decent coffee table book and it's not detailed enough to be a good reference guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, if not the best Frommer's travel writing, 14 Feb. 2010
By 
Mr Gumby "DH" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 300 Unmissable Events and Festivals Around the World (Paperback)
This is an attractive book that's full of fascinating facts and may well inspire you to travel. It isn't always a great read, failing to convey the excitement of being there, but is a practical guide, not just a pretty coffee-table book. It is attractively illustrated and full of useful information on when to go, how to get tickets, how to get there, costs, best view points, etc.

If you're wondering where to go for your next holiday, give this book a try. It's unlikely that any one person will find all 300 events "unmissable", but no one could fail to want to visit a good number of them, from cheese rolling to grand prix, from music festivals to turtle watching.

Well worth the Amazon price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring list of diverse attractions and events worldwide., 7 Feb. 2010
By 
RM/TM (UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 300 Unmissable Events and Festivals Around the World (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The definition of 'festival' and 'event' used in this book is really quite a broad one, because alongside the standard music and film festivals familiar to most of us, there are also natural events such as crab migrations and river bores, as well as the building of the ice hotel in Sweden, and autumn cattle herding in Slovenia!

Some of the offerings are really quite cheeky - for example Milan fashion week is listed despite not actually being open to the public, and which even the author admits will take serious blagging skills for any civilian wishing to gain admittance.

Those events that most appeal to me (and held within/close to the UK) include the Sand Sculpture festival in Herault, France, the Ottery St Mary Tar Barrels on 5th November, the Pagan Beltane Festival in Edinburgh complete with Green Man and May Queen, and Cheese Rolling in Brockworth. Further afield, the Lotus Lantern festival in Seoul and Mexico's Day of the Dead both sound magical.

Each entry has a contact address for tickets, date the event is usually held, information on cost (free/cheap/moderate/expensive) and insider tips. Pictures are inspiring, but I'd have liked more of them. By the way, if you were expecting something the size of the 'Blue List', or '1000 Things to See/Do Before You Die' it's worth pointing out this is a smaller format paperback, not a huge coffee table tome. 3.5 stars (since the Amazon grading system won't let me award halves!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not much pont, 21 Aug. 2010
By 
This review is from: 300 Unmissable Events and Festivals Around the World (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I personally found this book a little pointless, there is very little information about each festival or event and nothing in the book you cannot see online. Infact I read very little info on one festival, logged onto my pc to view some more pics and just ended up on a website which told me loads more about the best festivals around the world!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars What a wonderful world we all live in!, 10 Mar. 2010
By 
PriyaSoum (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 300 Unmissable Events and Festivals Around the World (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I, much like the next person, would love to indulge in as much travelling to as many exotic destinations in this glorious world of ours called earth. Unfortunately, like many others, I am faced with quite a few constraints to my indulgence chief among which are the usual culprits i.e. time & money. That's why I love to pore through as much travel information possible both to whet my appetite for knowledge as also to better prepare me for any future travel possibilities.

This book is beginning to prove an almost invaluable resource for even starting to comprehend what a multi-faceted world we all live in. According to the people behind the book i.e. the amazing website Whatsonwhen.com, the book lists only about 10% of all the amazing events/festivals around the world, which are listed in their entirety on the website. The book is supposed to act as a handy ready referencer for people on the move and it does this job admirably. The necessary information is presented in a very concise and constructive manner with adequate juxtaposition of images and text. I really liked the attention to detail whereby the relevant author/contributor has gone the extra mile to provide not only the best route to the event but also some unique tips that could end up making the entire experience even more enjoyable. The book is presented in a very lucid and engrossing fashion and the data is indexed to several different parameters. All in all, it is a must read even if it means experiencing all the variety this amazing world has to offer from the almost boring confines of one's armchair! The Guardian is supposed to have remarked on the website - "is there anything happening in the world that these people dont know of?!". I am inclined to agree.

Now I am fervently hoping that a jackpot win materialises sometime soon so that I can embark on relentless journeys aimed at sampling even a small portion of what this book has to offer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars From obscure to fascinating, a superb events guide., 9 Feb. 2010
By 
Mr. B. R. Good (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 300 Unmissable Events and Festivals Around the World (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Frommers the people behind 'whatsonwhen', have produced this collection of 300 events & festivals. Leaning heavily to the more 'wacky and niche' experience (World Nettle Eating Championships to name one), various travel writers fill the pages with interesting but brief text, inspiring pictures and basic travel/date/cost information (where available).
The beauty of this book is that it's not a wordy, time consuming, stuffy travel guide. Rather, we have the perfect coffee-table read. The downside is the strange absence of some events that are so well known, it's baffling to find them missing. A prime example is Glastonbury and Roskilde, two of the worlds largest festivals - not included, while some obscure slightly pointless events are featured, such as 'Hunting of the Earl of Rone (don't ask).
A minor negative point is the slightly contrived inclusion of certain events. For example, the Augusta Golf Masters is conveniently described as 'price: expensive' and chance of ever getting a ticket, almost impossible. You either like golf, in which case you know about it anyway. That said, we are treated to the full range of wierd and wacky gatherings, such as 'World Punkin Chunkin Championships' (pumpkin throwing in Delaware - apparently fathers and sons enjoy it) or Mexico's Radish Night Festival (people make elaborate artwork out of them, apparently!) We are told about some truly 'high end' experiences such as the Argentina Polo Open where you can mix with high society and jet-setters at the esteemed Palermo Open.
This attractive book contains inspiring photographs and enthusiastic text.
One particularly interesting page is the Northern Lights, (Aurora Borealis). A spectacular full page picture is included in the description of the ultimate 'free light show'.
Flicking through this, at times mouthwatering collection of events, it can't fail to inspire travellers. The text is slightly too promotional and lacks the inclusion of the negative in places.
There is absolutely nothing to dislike about this book.
I'm off to book my ticket for the Menton Lemon Festival - wanna join me?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Travel inspiration from the usual to the very odd, 24 Jan. 2010
By 
The Fat Monk (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 300 Unmissable Events and Festivals Around the World (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
From events that you've probably heard of (The Tomatina in Spain) to events that surely must only be known by locals (The Shepherd's Shemozzle in New Zealand); From natural phenomena such as the Northern lights to the truly unnatural World Gurning Championships in Egremont, Cumbria; Traditional (Henley on Thames Royal Regatta, UK) or particularly unorthodox (Henley on Todd Regatta, Australia - look it up)...

This is a genuinely inspirational book. Not a guide book as such - in fact it doesn't really work as a guide book - more of a book to browse through to help decide what trip you might want to make next.

The book is very well thought out, there are indices by location, by time of year and a curious 'Where to...' index with topics such as where to 'reflect on the human condition, 'get sand in your toes' and 'mosh all night'. Beyond the index, the book is divided into colour coded sections such as 'Art and Culture', 'Music', 'Glamorous' and 'Weird and Wonderful'. All in all this means that there are plenty of ways to find the type of thing you might be looking for.

But perhaps the best way to use the book is just to browse, flicking throuhg the pages and picking a random entry to read up on.

The book only has 300 entries to cover the world (the clue is in the title!), so it's never going to work as a guide book to take on a trip with you. The content would actually work really well in an extended format as a hard back coffee table type book, and in some ways that's the only criticism I have for this book - there should be more of it.

Frommer's have been a trusted name in guide books for years, so there is no reason to doubt the quality and accuracy of information on offer. Though I'd love to whizz off around the globe to test that theory in the interest of writing an accurate review, unfortunately the events are spread right through the year and that would mean having to wait 12 months to write it.

On a practical note, each entry has 'how to get there' information, price and ticket info where appropriate, 'insider tips' and pointers for further reading / contact details.

A really interesting read, and full of ideas and a really good starting point for a trip that's a bit different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps a little too ambitious, 4 Dec. 2010
By 
Mr. A. Mcgregor "Alex" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 300 Unmissable Events and Festivals Around the World (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
300 Festivals. It's enough to keep you busy for a lifetime. The book covers each festival with perhaps a page of reasonably interesting information, and it covers events from days out where you can take your kids, to full on music festivals. While it isn't bad for reading about festivals you may not have heard of, it does not go into much detail, so if you wanted to actually go to one, you would still need to research as you would without the book. So the verdict: as a light read it's not bad. As a reference book, not so good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK, but redundant, 28 Jan. 2010
By 
Amazon Customer "maria2222" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 300 Unmissable Events and Festivals Around the World (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I am a fan of the whatsonwhen.com site (the site/people behind this book) - it allows the user to make precise searches on location, time, event etc. and it provides direct links to the event pages. The book is also divided into categories e.g. families, music, art and culture and provides a timeline for the featured events, BUT you will likely have to browse through the whole book to find the interesting and relevant events and in that process you will read/browse through lot of things that will leave you cold! I found maybe 10 of the 300 events worth making a note of - nowhere enough to recommend it if you intend to actually use it as a guide to events. If, however, you're looking for an armchair travel through some different/interesting places and events, you might want to give it a go.

Another thing I don't understand about the book is the format. Nobody is going to be travelling with this book as it only has on average half a page per event and is purely for inspiration - so why not make it big, bold and beautiful with lots of pictures and a pleasure to read?

I'll give it 3 stars as I was entertained for a bit, but as to whether I'll recommend it... I'd say go visit whatsonwhen.com - you'll get all the answers faster and more to the point there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, just like the website!, 10 Mar. 2010
By 
Neil - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: 300 Unmissable Events and Festivals Around the World (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is still on order but I managed to borrow a copy from someone! (C'mon Amazon, I'm still waiting!).

I've always been a fan of the whatsonwhere.com website, having used it to plan several trips (try the Lemon Festival in Menton, France!).

This book is organised in a similar manner to the website, making it easy to browse by theme. Being organised by location may have been easier, although the index at the back makes it easy to search by location. It does, however, have the same failing as the website - it doesn't have a calendar of events by country (just globally).

It has lots of useful information, such as website addresses and travel tips, and covers events all over the world (some of them quite remote). Events range from cultural festivals through to art, music, wildlife, food and drink - there's a large variety. The book has a lot of photos and is almost coffee-table-ish.

I would suggest using this book to find holiday ideas, or to help identify things to do when planning a holiday. It's not a comprehensive travel guide, but is great for finding things to do whilst travelling! The only downside is that that I can see it having to be updated regularly, purely due to the number of events changing throughout the world!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

300 Unmissable Events and Festivals Around the World
300 Unmissable Events and Festivals Around the World by Whatsonwhen.com (Paperback - 18 Sept. 2009)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews