Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars12
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 September 2010
This book is brilliant! Bought on a complete whim but followed it to the letter when driving around the area! It became our travelling bible and the recommendations of places to go and places to eat were fabulous. We only ate in places recommended by the book and we honestly did not have a single bad meal they were all amazing.
Definitely buy this book if you are doing a whistle stop tour as it takes the stress out of researching where to go and what to do. Soooooooo much better than the Lonely Planet which I actually left in a hostel at our first stop as it was useless in comparison!
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2011
Finally booking our honeymoon (after almost two years!) prompted me to try and find a handy-sized, comprehensive guide so we could cram as much as possible into our 6 days in Banff and the Rockies and take it with us. If you want a lightweight, concise and well written book that streamlines the masses of activities and experiences available in this area into the ones you really shouldn't miss - this is your guide.

I have looked at many guide books for this area of Canada and this one is the best one I have come across yet. I especially like the little sections that draw from the author's own favourite moments from Sunday Brunch at the Fairmont Lake Louise to taking the gondola to the summit of Suphur Mountain. There are also strategies to see as much as you can in as little as 3 days in which there are maps, all the best places to go, sightseeing opportunities and recommended places to eat and sleep. This is expanded into the best in 1 week, 2 weeks and the best full day tours. There are also information packed pages on Banff, the Rockies, Jasper, Lake Louise and Calgary that again offer up the best in hotels, restaurants and activities. Particularly helpful for new visitors to Canada is the Savvy Traveller section in the back that covers all things from getting around, climate, tipping, currency and important contact numbers - this book should prove invaluable.

One of the most informative guides I have come across in such a small, neat package (and including a tear-resistant fold-up map of the area in a pocket on the back cover!) - in so many books of this size much of the important information is missed out to cram in photographs or simply just gloss over the main attractions. This book is very much like the saying, 'all the best things come in small packages.'
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2011
An excellent book which we used as the basis for working out the itinerary for our 2 week trip. It is so good to find a book which offers suggestions for such a variety of things to see and do - which are, in reality, worth it. The bonus for us was knowing in advance how much time we should allow for different parts of our trip - so that we could make the most of every day. Although we bought a second book on the Rockies we never really used it.
On the basis of this experience we will certainly use Frommers books for our trips in the future.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2012
Probably the best travel guide to the Rockies you will ever buy, having purchased several other books on the guide to the rockies,this book is written in text you can really understand.Yes its specific to Bannf,Jasper etc but its gives you all the details of what to see ,where to go and what time scale you need--great
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2012
Frommer's Banff & the Canadian Rockies Day by Day (Frommer's Day by Day - Pocket)this guide is mainly for people driving round the area and is of limited use if you don't have a car
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2012
Straightforward and informative read with good referrals to websites covering activities, restaurants, nightlife etc. The suggested itineraries are useful because they are time bound (e.g. one day up to couple of weeks) so you get an idea what is achievable for your particular trip.

The general information is good, offering advice on park fees, weather, wildlife, etc. The book is pocket size and would be handy while out and about. The maps are fine but not particularly detailed.

Overall a good, informative, no frills read which should enlighten your holiday.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
Excellent guide to the rockies. Withoout it we would have probably missed quite a bit on our visit. It also had some excellent maps. Great pocket size to carry around as well. Very imformative and the restaurants recommended were great. Highly recommend for anyone going to the rockies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2012
Just what we needed - an upto date guide for the main resort areas that did not expect you to ski or snowboard at every stop. A usewful map inlcuded - ready for us to mark up in anticipation of our trip,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2013
Excellent guide focussed on this specific area. Easy one to bring everywhere with you with great mapping and suggested routes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2012
Have used this extensively to plan a fly/drive holiday to the Canadian Rockies - lots of useful tips and suggestions in here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)