Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative, well written and well illustrated.
I'm an OAP who takes an active interest in geographical studies, the sciences, and computing.

Following on from the excellent second edition (which I bought second hand some time ago) this is an informative, well written, and well illustrated volume in the classic style of the American university text book. This new edition includes much from the second...
Published on 13 Sep 2010 by A. R. Jackson

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very poor quality production
This edition compares unfavourably with the second edition in terms of production quality. It certainly does not have the same "look and feel" of the previous edition, it actually looks and feels quite cheap and it looks like the whole thing was layed out in Word. The paper is far too thin for supposedly a reference book. They have clearly cut costs on production. If...
Published on 18 Feb 2011 by Gee Dee


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative, well written and well illustrated., 13 Sep 2010
By 
A. R. Jackson (Argyll, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Geographic Information Systems and Science (Paperback)
I'm an OAP who takes an active interest in geographical studies, the sciences, and computing.

Following on from the excellent second edition (which I bought second hand some time ago) this is an informative, well written, and well illustrated volume in the classic style of the American university text book. This new edition includes much from the second edition but brings the book further into the modern world with much more reference to web based resources.

My only complaints are:
Some of the many illustrations are a bit dark and are not perfectly sharp.
The physical (paperback) book is quite floppy due to the very thin paper used
Care should be taken in handling the pages, they really are thin.

The volume size conforms to the North American Letter (or Quarto) format.

Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very poor quality production, 18 Feb 2011
By 
Gee Dee (Galway, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Geographic Information Systems and Science (Paperback)
This edition compares unfavourably with the second edition in terms of production quality. It certainly does not have the same "look and feel" of the previous edition, it actually looks and feels quite cheap and it looks like the whole thing was layed out in Word. The paper is far too thin for supposedly a reference book. They have clearly cut costs on production. If I had the choice again, I would buy the second edition or wait to see what the hardback version is like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must book, 10 Jan 2012
This review is from: Geographic Information Systems and Science (Paperback)
As a software developer having 6 years of experience in developing GIS applications I can say that this book is a great one in this important domain. It covers all aspects of the discipline in great detail. It is well written and organized.

A must book for everyone interested in GIS and related fields.

Four stars are due to the production quality of the paperback edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 22 Nov 2010
This review is from: Geographic Information Systems and Science (Paperback)
Amazing, great for a first timer, with no prior knowledge in the subject, very well written and presented, good for all with an interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Helpfull, 23 Nov 2011
This review is from: Geographic Information Systems and Science (Paperback)
This book was a god send for my compleation of a GIS module. Very helpfull and explanitive text and diagrams throughout. A must have for anyone doing a GIS module as part of your science degree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 13 Nov 2011
This review is from: Geographic Information Systems and Science (Paperback)
This book is fantastic when it comes to explaning what GIS is. It gives the reader the basic thing he/she need to know about GIS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Geographic Information Systems and Science
Geographic Information Systems and Science by David W. Rhind (Paperback - 13 Aug 2010)
41.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews