Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Lot in a small book
This book really gives you your money's worth. It covers all the programs in Microsoft Office that you might need to use. It doesn't go into anything too complex that an advanced user would need to know, it is aimed purely at the novice.

The first part of the book tells you all about the features in Office, all written in plain and simple English. The second...
Published on 18 Mar. 2011 by A. Roberton

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Simple introduction, but ...
This guide is priced to fulfil one of the purposes it purports to address, introduction. It looks nice which I think for any introductory text in what can be a very unapproachable subject, is important, because that means the new computer user will feel less intimidated by the subject matter contained within. The text is clear and mostly intelligible, although I found the...
Published on 13 Mar. 2011 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Lot in a small book, 18 Mar. 2011
By 
A. Roberton "Alan Roberton" (Hinckley, Leicestershire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Simply Office 2010 (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book really gives you your money's worth. It covers all the programs in Microsoft Office that you might need to use. It doesn't go into anything too complex that an advanced user would need to know, it is aimed purely at the novice.

The first part of the book tells you all about the features in Office, all written in plain and simple English. The second section is all about the individual programs, starting with Word - which incidentally is brilliant - showing you how to create a document, decide on colour, layout, fonts etc, it even shows you how to apply a templete which makes your document look really classy and professional. Then you learn about Excel, a spreadsheet program par excellence. Believe me, you can have hours of fun playing with Excel (well if you are excited by numbers you might) - seriously this is such a good program. On to Powerpoint which can be used to give a presentation of your ideas or photographs - again all explained in simple terms, taking you through each step carefully and thoroughly. The next section is about Access, a (more complex) database program, explained in easy to understand step by step instructions. The last section is about Outlook, which for me is such a useful and essential program. Using Outlook for emailing is, in my opinion, simply the best. You can also use it as an appointment diary.

The book is really useful and simple to understand. So many computer software books tend to get too complex for most of us, but the Simply books give us all the opportunity to discover (and re-discover) what Office really can do.

Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Starter guide for new Office 2010 users., 11 Mar. 2011
By 
Andy_atGC (London UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Simply Office 2010 (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
One of a series of introductory guides to various applications or operating systems, it is clearly aimed as a starter and not as a comprehensive guide to every single feature in every component application. It is not specific to any of the few different editions and covers most of the applications that are common to all. The one strange exception is OneNote which does not have its own chapter, nor is it indexed!

If you are buying or intending to buy either the Home and Student, Home and Business or Professional Editions of Office 2010 this would be a good starter. It certainly covers most of the common features that most people are likely to use most frequently in the applications covered, but does not compare with nor is it intended as a substitute for the comprehensive 1000+ page guides that are available for each of the individual major applications. Those specifically covered are Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Access and Outlook. It also includes general subjects such as using and working with files before leading into the individual products.

With Word, it introduces the concept of text formatting and then continues to demonstrate how it is used. With Excel, it talks about cells, rows and columns and then starts with formulae and other concepts but without over-complicating any one issue. The other products share a similar approach.

The style of the book is to accompany a modest amount of text with images of screen displays, mostly 2 or 3 per page. The amount of text is not excessive or overwhelming and is not too technical or over-simplistic. As such it is an excellent introduction to the subject. Its cover price is modest and the whole of its contents are contained within few more than 200 pages. It can be read from cover to cover, or one chapter or part of a chapter as required. Its indexing is good as is its contents list.

Apart from the omission of OneNote, it is comprehensive in its way and can be recommended. Had OneNote not been overlooked, it would have received a 5-star rating. perhaps 4½ stars is a fair compromise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction to Office 2010, 21 July 2011
By 
Big Bad Bill "Big Bad Bill" (Somwhere on the Celtic Fringe) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Simply Office 2010 (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a useful and well illustrated guide to Office 2010. I found it useful in making the transition from the Office 2003 interface to the new ribbon interface (I never bothered with Office 2007). I would imagine that it would be equally good for anyone new to Office. I have not give it 5 stars because I would have liked it to go into more of the less common features and functions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Office 2010 by Kate Shoup, 11 Mar. 2011
By 
badger (london) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Simply Office 2010 (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Did you notice how Microsoft changed all their menus and look of their Office products. I bet you did, and I hope you liked it. I was really annoyed to be perfectly honest. I could not find anything. All menus gone somewhere, all familiar toolbars changed. Simply Office 2010 by Kate Shoup does go right to the heart of this problem. The book is full of images and easy step-by-step instructions to help you find your way round. It is friendly and informative, so will be useful for those who never experienced MS Office products before as well as those such as myself finding it really difficult moving from older versions. Another useful feature of this book is that it will give you assistance with more complex areas such as functions in Excel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good book for beginners, 2 Mar. 2011
By 
S Finnerty "Steve" (Hedge End, Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Simply Office 2010 (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Got this for my mother who is currently wrestling with a new laptop of which I am currently providing 24 hour support! Very good book for the beginer and assumes no knowledge covering Word, Excel, Outlook, Publisher and PowerPoint. This does not go into as much detail as the Windows 7 version but does cover the basics before moving into more complex activities. Presented well with clear text and screen shots and far better than all the slightly patronising computing for the elderly books I have seen that often are let down by busy layout and jargon. A useful book for the beginner, well presented and good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Let down by poor production values, 29 April 2011
By 
Alexa (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Simply Office 2010 (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I am not really sure who the target market for this slim volume is.

The statement made at the beginning is "This book is for a reader who has used this particular technology or application. It is also for more computer literate individuals who want to expand their knowledge of the different features that Windows has to offer."

Unfortunately, this volume simply does not live up to the claim made by the second sentence! Since it does not go into much detail over any product from within the Office suite, merely scratching the surface of what each program is capable of, there is very little included that is new to anyone familiar with a previous version of Microsoft Office. Anyone who has bought this book to update their existing knowledge will probably join me in feeling cheated by that claim.

What this book does do extremely well, is clearly and carefully explain the absolute basics of each program. It makes no assumptions, 'talking' the reader through every action in clear, simple steps, demonstrated by screenshots. There are no assumptions made of any prior knowledge whatsoever.

Therefore, I would highly recommend this book to any absolute novice, if it were not for one serious flaw. The text on the screenshots, on which the methodology of this book replies, is very small, and the images themselves rather blurry.

So, this is why I query the target demographic. Since most children receive some education regarding using computers these days, they are less likely to be totally computer-illiterate. I would assume that a large proportion of those who would find this book useful, are going to belong to the older generation - people whose education predates computers in every school. However, if your eyesight is less than perfect, then small, blurry text easily becomes unreadable - and the illustrations play a crucial part in this teaching method!

So if you are a complete novice, with good eyesight, then you will probably love this book. *****
If you are a novice, but your eyesight is not so good - then you will probably struggle to make use of this book. **
And if you have computer experience - then you will find this book very frustrating - either
i) you knew what is here already, or
ii) you could have picked it up just as quickly online, or using the help files, or
ii) you could work out the solution yourself, by experimenting with the program. *

I expect the author probably feels very let down. Her text is excellent. With good production values, this would have filled a niche brilliantly. As it is, only a relatively small subset of potential users are likely to find this suitable.

Those that do, however, will probably love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant Surprise, 17 Mar. 2011
By 
IMCPU2 "imcpu2" (Portsmouth England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Simply Office 2010 (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Simply Office 2010

A Pleasant surprise

Having been in the computer industry for over 20 years, I have used most if not all of the incarnations of the Office Suite from the very early days of Word v1 and Access v1. I have been very impressed with some of the Office suites and have been mortified with some others. I must admit to not liking the 2007 Ribbon and all that went with it. It seemed to me to take away all the short cuts that I had previously learned and used with ease. Having been for the most part self-taught in all of my computer work, I had previously relied on online help and the F1 key to get me around in some of the more complex aspects of Word and Excel and failing that using search engines to find tutorials that would explain what it was that I was trying to do. So it was a surprise to find a book that at a glance promised to make most of the everyday tasks in Word and Excel something that was actually very easy and explained with just a few pictures and a few choice words.
The book promises plain, jargon free English. Fully illustrated and numbered step by step instructions and it full fills that promise in spades. I must admit to skipping the section on Access as I have used it to death in my last contract, but just glancing at the headings and illustrations it seems to cover most of the basics. A good section on Powerpoint and a handy summary of some of the more important daily function s in Excel.
This book is for beginners to intermediate users, a good way to get up to speed if you are coming from Office 2000 or 2003. You won't find stuff on macros of VBA for anyone looking to automate office but this represents a good investment of their time for others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Simple introduction, but ..., 13 Mar. 2011
By 
Amazon Customer (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Simply Office 2010 (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This guide is priced to fulfil one of the purposes it purports to address, introduction. It looks nice which I think for any introductory text in what can be a very unapproachable subject, is important, because that means the new computer user will feel less intimidated by the subject matter contained within. The text is clear and mostly intelligible, although I found the Excel section on formulas to be a little unclear - probably me! However one thing that initially drew me to read the book was its other stated purpose, addressing the needs of the more experienced user seeking expansion of understanding of the different features offered by the software suite. In this context I would have liked to have seen direct comparisons between Office 2007 and the new Office 2010; I would like to know what the changes are as the author perceives them to be. I like the idea of somebody other than Microsoft telling me about the new range of office software contained in Office 2010, what is different, is it good or is it clunky? This is only minimally achieved and that was disappointing. However to have achieved that outcome properly I would have liked the book to cover all of the programmes I currently use and if not, to have specified that. In the product information, Publisher is listed as being covered by the guide, but in fact is absent. As one of the programmes I use a lot I wanted to know about the changes in the new version to enable me to decide whether I want to purchase the software or not. I would also liked to have seen coverage of One Note, and this too is absent.
On the whole for me as a fairly experienced user of MS Office products this was a bit disappointing. However for an introductory text it offers some excellent value. On balance it gets a tentative thumbs up on the latter point, but overall and because it didn't address my own needs very well, I have to give it 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Very Basic, 20 Jan. 2012
By 
Crazy Seahorse "Crazy Seahorse" (Cambridge) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Simply Office 2010 (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I recently bought a copy for office at home. The previous version I owned was 2000, and at work we use 2003. Well a lot has changed since then! Microsoft have introduced something called the ribbon interface, which is a context sensitive menu system so you don't have to go looking in menus for the tools you need. The only problem is, if you don't know this you can be at a bit of a loss on what is going on. What is needed is a concise book to take you through all the new features of the new interface and that is what Simply Office 2010 can do for you. It covers Word, Excel, Powerpoint, Access and Outlook, the professional version of office in other words. In terms of highlighting new features it does the job, but it also offers instructions at a very basic level: e.g. this is how you enter data into a cell.

It leaves me wondering who the book is aimed at. In some ways it is aimed at someone who has never touched office before, but yet it describes all of the programs in Office professional rather than Office home. Having said that it did highlight to me some neat things I could do, particularly the expanded range of photo manipulation in word that I would never have imagined was there. So I have given it a middling rating, if you have never used office before it is definitely for you. If like me you are transitioning from fairly ancient (in IT terms) versions then you might be better off with the on-line tutorials.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, basic guide, 17 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Simply Office 2010 (Paperback)
A very clear and simple to understand manual, 'Simply Office 2010' is an introductory guide to the 2010 editions of Microsoft Office Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Access and Outlook covering the common features that most people are likely to use. It is by no means comprehensive nor, however, does it claim to be - it expresses the basics clearly and concisely using bullet points, text boxes and plentiful, annotated screen shots; the attractive, full-colour design adds to the book's clarity.

The reference is split into six main sections: 'Office Features' and then five individual sections for each Office application. The latter five sections are self explanatory; however, the 'Office Features' section explains the features and processes of Office that are common throughout the Office suite, such as creating new files, opening new files, printing files et cetera.

My only complaint about this book is the level of detail it goes into. As a complete beginner's guide, this book is perfect; however, I would have perferred slightly more detail - maybe a few more pages to each section.

Having said this, overall, this book is one of the clearest and most helpful software beginners' manuals I have ever found.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Simply Office 2010
Simply Office 2010 by Kate Shoup (Paperback - 16 July 2010)
£6.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews