Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its a winner
My company has taken on Prince 2 training big time for most of the staff. having no project management experience I was booked on the foundation course so I bought a copy of this book. Its the best thing I did and helped me a lot. The actual Prince2 manual is more like a reference book where as the Dummies guide talks you through the process's in a more informal way. My...
Published on 5 Feb 2009 by Kevin

versus
17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad...
Not the worst book in the world though it admits itself it is no replacement for the Prince2 manual. If you just want a idea about Prince2 this isn't so bad but if you want to pass the Prince2 exams stick to the official manual. Prince2 is now on edition 2009 also and this book is based on 2005 edition and there are just enough changes in Prince2 to mean this is out of...
Published on 23 Sep 2009 by E. Hughes


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

68 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its a winner, 5 Feb 2009
By 
Kevin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prince2 For Dummies (Paperback)
My company has taken on Prince 2 training big time for most of the staff. having no project management experience I was booked on the foundation course so I bought a copy of this book. Its the best thing I did and helped me a lot. The actual Prince2 manual is more like a reference book where as the Dummies guide talks you through the process's in a more informal way. My advice is if you are going on the foundation or practitioners course then get this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A really good companion to the official Prince2 coursebook, 19 Mar 2009
By 
Soton_Kav (Southampton, Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Prince2 For Dummies (Paperback)
You know what you're getting with a "for dummies book". It doesn't go into too much detail (and God knows, there's a lot of detail in the official coursebook!) and that makes it easy to get some basic knowledge out of it. I bought this 2 weeks before I went on the Practitioner's course so I had both this and the official coursebook before I started the course. If you're coming to the practitioner course without any prior knowledge then the sheer amount of information injected into your brain over 3 and a half days or so can throw you a bit. and that's where this book comes in. Where the official coursebook is very dry nd details everything,this book gives you more "context" so you get a better feel for why things are done the way they are in Prince2 environments.
As a companion to the coursebook, I highly recommend it. If you're buying it just to get you through the Practitioner exam you should look for something else instead or to supplement it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prince2 Review, 24 Oct 2008
By 
S. Gulde - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Prince2 For Dummies (Paperback)
An excellent well written structured overview of the international Project Management methodology. Author makes a pretty light-hearted read of a difficult subject. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buy this book if you are taking the PRINCE2 course, 31 Jan 2013
By 
Jacqueline (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PRINCE2 For Dummies 2009 (Paperback)
I took the PRINCE2 course with little knowledge of the subject. I have previously worked on several projects and thought that the PRINCE2 course would beneficial. I read through the manual which they provided and undertook all the homework and still failed. This book explains the procedures, goes into depth and provides examples. So, if you're thinking of taking the PRINCE2 course, read this book first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prince for Dummies, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I brought this via my Kindle but would recommend that you buy the book rather than the kindle version, due to the details of the diagrams which need to be reviewed and digested.
However the book is excellent, in that its simple and explicit, compared to the manual and makes everything 'bite size'.
Read this before you read the manual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Dummy Here!, 10 Oct 2009
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Prince2 For Dummies (Paperback)
This was just the thing I needed to get the Prince2 ideals in a way that was easy to relate to and in a more logical format. I would advise anyone either taking the Course or working in a Prince2 environment to keep this close to hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Avoid the official book and try this one instead, 4 April 2012
This review is from: PRINCE2 For Dummies 2009 (Paperback)
This book avoids the common problems in the Dummies series, namely verbose text and half-wit jokes.

However, if you intend to pass in the Practitioner exam, you may want to check Passing the PRINCE2 examinations too.

Have a look in Project Management For Dummies (UK Edition) which will fill the gaps left by Prince2 framework.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, thorough treatment, 17 Dec 2010
This review is from: PRINCE2 For Dummies 2009 (Paperback)
This is a very clearly and sensibly written book, there's even space for some humour! It is a very good treatment of Prince2, much more informative and, dare I say it, more sensible than the Prince2 Manual itself. It is a good book to learn about Prince2 and makes an excellent reference resource once read. I heartily recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars INCE2 For Dummies 2009 (For Dummies (Lifestyles Paperback)), 31 Aug 2010
This review is from: PRINCE2 For Dummies 2009 (Paperback)
This product is very good material for someone interested in having a knowledge of Project Management using Prince2. However, if you are preparing for the certification exam for Prince2, you need to still consult the Prince2 Manual along side.

Temidayo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lighter read, 2 April 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prince2 For Dummies (Paperback)
This is a great read prior to doing the exams and will be a good reference. Much easier to read this and follow the whole method to see how it fits together before trying to get to grips with the Prince2 manual. Certainly helped the course make sense sooner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

PRINCE2 For Dummies 2009
PRINCE2 For Dummies 2009 by Nick Graham (Paperback - 20 April 2010)
£15.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews