Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars173
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£16.58+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 May 2012
I must say, i am highly impressed with this book. Both the CD and the book itself are of extraordinary assistance to my learning of BSL. I can't begin to explain how glad i am i have bought it but let me begin by giving you the basic summary of my findings. The book is great because it includes very easily read diagrams with detailed descriptions, interesting facts on the history and usage of BSL, and games to practise your learning! What more could you need to learn all the necessary vocab? I guess, a fabulous CD? But they have that as well! The CD is easily installed and the videos are fast for a beginner but are of real aid if you do not know any person who actually is fluent in BSL so it is good to see what the actual rate of signing it is. Strongly recommended for beginners such as myself with no background in BSL, just a passion to learn :)
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2012
Unfortunately this is no good on the kindle - the text and images are not formatted correctly. For example, the title of the word appears on one page, then an illustration appears on the next page with a description that corresponds to the following page's picture, making it appear so that a description seems to be describing the wrong image. Very confusing. Also the images sometimes aren't clear with regards to the action/movement you should make with the sign. I imagine that with a hard copy of the book and a corresponding DVD/CD-ROM it probably makes a lot more sense, but the Kindle version is almost as expensive but without any visual aids.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2008
What a well-thought out, designed and planned book. I am doing BSL Level 1 at the moment and it covers everything I have studied so far. The diagrams are very clear and there is additional information to explain the signs and their development. The book also provides a clear and precise explanation of the differences in hearing loss and how to communicate clearly. Have recommended to all my colleagues on the course!
0Comment|37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2008
This book is different to other BSL books in that it not only teaches vocabulary, but also BSL grammar & sign order. It is clear & easy to use. This book is best for Level 1 & 2 students of BSL and for sign language tutors of these groups. This book is also different to other BSL books in that it uses London BSL signs.

This book really fills a niche in the BSL learning market.
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Having started to learn BSL this year, I've discovered that there are a surprising number of books and resources for signing in which the diagrams for signs are almost impossible to interpret correctly. This book is better than many I've come across, giving diagrams that are generally straightforward to follow. The diagrams aren't big, and have quite fine lines to them, but they're detailed enough that you can see which way round your hand is supposed to be, which finger(s) are being used, and usually what movement (if any) accompanies a particular sign. Just occasionally it might be nice to have a brief description accompanying the diagram to disambiguate matters, but if this book is being used alongside a signing course the diagram is ideal as a refresher.

The book is packed with information, presented in a well-structured manner that's designed to get you using what you're seeing from the word 'go'. Sections are accompanied by exercises to help you practise what you've just read, and the accompanying software CD (which includes a number of sign language dialogue clips) is a handy resource, usable on Windows, OS X and Linux-based machines, and intended to be used in conjunction with the text from the outset.

In addition to teaching signs themselves, the book looks at the importance of other aspects of body language (such as facial expression), differences between British English (whose underlying grammar is 'Subject-Verb-Object') and British Sign Language (where the most important information in the sentence typically comes first), and aspects of Deaf culture, history and community.
22 comments|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2010
This was quite a good book, recommended by my BSL tutor but I wish it had included written information as well as illustrations as some of the illustrations did not make the signs clear as to whether you had to hold your hands in a certain way. It would not be helpful unless you were using it alongside classes or a tutor.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2014
I didn't feel like this book covered enough but if you are a beginner learning BSL or interested and just want to find out more this might be a good book to start off with. Lots of interesting text talking about BSL with it just didn't feel there was enough actual BSL words to learn from this book. But like I sy perhaps this is a good beginner book / taster to start with without overwhelming you with new info.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2013
I've been learning BSL for a year and found this book to be good for real beginners. There is a lot of information on the deaf community which is useful to those who are new to learning sigh or that environment.

The book itself is good, but it hasn't been adapted for Kindle so the pages don't always show the correct sign to the translation. There are also a lot of signs that you can't see well at all because they would (I presume) be in small fine print and don't translate over to kindle well.

That said I would recommend the book in print form for beginners, just not a book for kindle unfortunately.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2015
I've long been a fan of the For Dummies books and that has not changed since receiving this book. It's clear, concise and very easy to follow, even for complete beginners! I had some knowledge of BSL before making a start on the book but I can see that a complete beginner would be able to follow the book with ease and the accompanying DVD is invaluable for seeing how the signs should be made. Of course, there are illustrations in the book to give the reader some idea of how to sign certain words but I think it's much more helpful to use the DVD alongside the illustrations in the book.

The book is very neat and well laid out, which means readers aren't likely to get bogged down with endless paragraphs about grammar and sentence structure!

So, if you're a complete newbie or even if you are already a BSL user and want to brush up, then look no further because this book is fantastic. :-)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2009
This is a good introductory book that gives a good foundation on BSL. It allows learners to produce basic sentences for greetings, requests, numbers, health and time. And even though the pictures are not very attractive and the arrows depicting movement aren't very clear sometimes, the DVD with it is a great support. The clips in the DVD are very clear, and they reproduce the structures covered in the book.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)