Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent hand-held introduction to user-centric development
As an old-school, stuck-in-his-ways developer, I must admit that I was cynical about the burgeoning new fields of functional design, and recoiled at trendy buzzwords and abbreviations like the book title's 'UX'. For a long time, I was focused on simply 'making stuff work', signing everything else off to the graphic designer. This book does a good job of challenging my...
Published 20 months ago by R. WEST-SOLEY

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ebook is poor
I liked the examples they use talking about real cases but that was it for me.

I don't like writing bad reviews but no body had mentioned the following:
- reversing the colours on the Kindle app produced an all white screen
- seems like it hasn't been proofread at all (cApitalisation issues and duplicate words)

That spoiled it for me so now...
Published 12 months ago by Sebster


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent hand-held introduction to user-centric development, 14 Aug 2012
By 
R. WEST-SOLEY "Rich West-Soley" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Smashing UX Design: Foundations for Designing Online User Experiences (Smashing Magazine Book Series) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As an old-school, stuck-in-his-ways developer, I must admit that I was cynical about the burgeoning new fields of functional design, and recoiled at trendy buzzwords and abbreviations like the book title's 'UX'. For a long time, I was focused on simply 'making stuff work', signing everything else off to the graphic designer. This book does a good job of challenging my old, dogged position!

This title looks at UX and the vital role it should rightfully have in planing along both dev and design stages of online projects. The structure of the book emphasises the planning-led nature of UX-focused development, and if you're an 'organic' developer (like I most certainly was!), you may well just see the error of your ways in the elegance and tidiness of the approach the book describes. With hefty attention to the entire process, including client meetings and feedback, it's a real-world workflow you'll pick up here, which both reflects the industry accurately, and equips the reader with the expertise to take advantage of it in the form of detailed, clear but concise technical chapters.

As with all Smashing books, layout and style are key to success - the volume comes across as friendly but knowledgeable, chapters are focused, not over-long and broken down expertly into subsections, the book is subdivided well into four overarching larger sections, and there's a good index, making the book great as a reference as well as a step-by-step guide. An excellent hand-held introduction to user-centred development, for both bright young things, and older hands!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for novices just setting out or experienced professionals wanting to brush up., 2 Feb 2013
By 
Danielle (Port Talbot, Neath Port Talbot United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was recommended to me by one of the most talented UX experts I've met when I expressed an interest in learning more about UX and user interface design.

As the world of commercial web-design becomes an increasingly competitive world, so the importance of a positive user experience becomes increasingly important. Long gone are the days of static websites and basic functionality, today's successful websites have to leave the user feeling like they have been at a five-star spa. Designing this user experience is what this book aims to teach you.

The book is broken down into four main sections such as tools and processes with each section further broken into subsections for each topic. Plenty of coverage is given to each topic, though as others have said the book does at times feel 'waffly' and over-written.

As a newcomer to UX design you'll find a wealth of information here which while it won't make you an expert it will give you the breadth of information on the subject to really get to grips with the subject.

A seasoned UX professional will find interesting perspectives and perhaps more detail on topics you've only skimmed before.

In summary then, a good if not brilliant book that earns five stars for the wealth of information and breadth of the topics covered, though almost only got four because of the places few where the book feels forced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ebook is poor, 7 April 2013
This review is from: Smashing UX Design: Foundations for Designing Online User Experiences (Smashing Magazine Book Series) (Paperback)
I liked the examples they use talking about real cases but that was it for me.

I don't like writing bad reviews but no body had mentioned the following:
- reversing the colours on the Kindle app produced an all white screen
- seems like it hasn't been proofread at all (cApitalisation issues and duplicate words)

That spoiled it for me so now I'm trying the oreilly book.

Aside from the above I'm not impressed with the structure and organisation of the content but that can be personal preference, the problems above are not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid UX design introduction for the newbie or recap for the industry pro, 16 Aug 2012
By 
Evan (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Smashing UX Design: Foundations for Designing Online User Experiences (Smashing Magazine Book Series) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a book on UX Design. A term that has sprung up in the industry recently. What used to be more commonly referred to as usability, it has evolved into a more specialised role, much as SEO did a few years back. UX design is now a 'must have' for any web designer or UX designer as the job title seeking lot prefer to call themselves these days. Regardless, UX design is here to stay and a valuable skill set to have. Why? Because it forces you to properly plan a web site from the get go, and your website creations are better for it.

Like other Smashing books, it offers some guidance on the business side of things which may or may not be of use to you, depending on whether your client or agency side.

The book feels like if waffles on a bit which I find with most Smashing books. Almost as if they have a word count they're trying to achieve. It kind of makes me skim the book more than I should but that's just me...

Give it a go if you're new to UX or if you're in the field already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great - recommend this, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smashing UX Design: Foundations for Designing Online User Experiences (Smashing Magazine Book Series) (Paperback)
I recommend this book as it outlines the UX - clear layout, good use of images and description on the book - worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous book, 14 Jun 2013
By 
Gsp "gsp100677" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Smashing UX Design: Foundations for Designing Online User Experiences (Smashing Magazine Book Series) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Smashing Magazine has always been a great design resource, and this book lives up to that reputation in the field of user experience design.

It's beautifully laid out, bound (the softback), and presented - and also goes into great detail and depth on every topic on UX design for a newcomer, right through to more advanced level for those with experience in the field.

Covers the need for UX design right through all stages of projects, mainly focused on software project as expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good introduction, 29 April 2013
By 
John Nunn (Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Smashing UX Design: Foundations for Designing Online User Experiences (Smashing Magazine Book Series) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A reasonable introduction to the ins and outs of this valuable approach to planning software design. Ultimately if the user is not happy with the product that has been commissioned to assist their business practices, then the designer has failed big time. Well worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful broad coverage, 14 Jan 2013
This review is from: Smashing UX Design: Foundations for Designing Online User Experiences (Smashing Magazine Book Series) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
If you have been involved in the development or design of any systems requiring user interfaces, or indeed in any Agile projects recently, you are probably already familiar with at least some of the techniques under the UX umbrella. Such techniques include: product boxes, storyboards, personas, usability testing, usage analytics, competitor benchmarking, workshops, sketching, wireframes and prototypes.

Smashing UX Design does a good job in explaining such techniques, but it also offers insights from the authors' experiences in using UX techniques. The authors also describe how they actually plan and run their workshops, overcome problems and ensure the clients are kept engaged in the workshops and projects. All this is very helpful.

The first two-thirds of this book offer advice about the process and techniques of user experience design. The last third also offers tips and guidance for the design of web pages, focussing on a typical web site containing product pages, information pages, shopping charts etc.

The book gives a comprehensive coverage, but don't expect a quick read or a book that you can quickly skim through - the book has over 400 text-heavy pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars UX design laid bare, this book is a goldmine for web site builders, 17 Oct 2012
By 
Mr. P. HAIGH (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Smashing UX Design: Foundations for Designing Online User Experiences (Smashing Magazine Book Series) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Smashing Magazine are known for informative articles on web design and, more recently, informative books too. Smashing UX Design is not the first of their books to cross my path and I've learnt that, much like O'Reilly books, they are about providing solid value ahead of pushing out book after book regardless of the quality of the content.

So with Smashing UX Design you have over 400 pages devoted to user-centric techniques for perfecting web site design. These guys are the experts and if you have the budget to do it properly this book gives you all the information you need to get it done - or enough to tell you that you should hire the authors in.

Alternatively if, like must of us, you don't have budget to blow, this book gives you enough information to work out what to prioritise and how to get the maximum benefit from your investment.

I've not read the entire book - yet - but I've read enough to know that it is going to be extremely useful over many projects to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for web designers., 24 July 2012
By 
R. Tait (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Smashing UX Design: Foundations for Designing Online User Experiences (Smashing Magazine Book Series) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a very useful book. The content is extremely well designed and organised, which I suppose it to be expected from user experience designers; still I found it surprisingly good.

The best part of the book, for me, covers specific website sections (Homepage, Search, Category, Shopping cart...), with each broken down into precise detail. The format for this (many headings or questions, with very short paragraphs) makes it great for reference.

Covered at length are workshops and usability testing. This is generally understood but little practiced. The authors are very prescriptive about how these should be carried out - use useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7ef7528)

This product

Only search this product's reviews