Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


97 of 100 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The easiest guide to navigating by the stars
This book is an unusual guide to celestial navigation; it is not four inches thick and filled with impossible mathematical formulae.
In his gentle and humerous way Tom Cunliffe takes you through, what becomes, the very simple process of calculating your position at sea using a sextant,the sun, moon, stars and planets. "Calculating" is a strong term to use,...
Published on 10 May 2002

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars unreadable on kindle!!!
formatting and fonts so bad it is unreadable on kindle, try the sample before you buy and you can see for yourself..
Published 13 months ago by Karl Jeffery


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

97 of 100 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The easiest guide to navigating by the stars, 10 May 2002
By A Customer
This book is an unusual guide to celestial navigation; it is not four inches thick and filled with impossible mathematical formulae.
In his gentle and humerous way Tom Cunliffe takes you through, what becomes, the very simple process of calculating your position at sea using a sextant,the sun, moon, stars and planets. "Calculating" is a strong term to use, since the most complicated piece of arithmetic involved is to remember that a degree is divided into sixty minutes, not a hundred.
I was teaching myself how to use a sextant from this book in Mid Atlantic in August of 1999. GPS rolled over to week zero in that month and my receiver locked up, forcing me to use a sextant and the stars for real. It worked.
This is the book that will make using a sextant and the stars to find your position a pleasure and a simple skill rather than some form of complex and archaic "Dark Art"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cel Nav Fun, 16 Feb. 2010
By 
This little book was the first book I ever read on Cel Nav...I really do recommend it to anyone who is thinking about taking up this amazing subject..Even if you aren't its still worth a read as although its thin ..its packed with almost everything

Tom Cunliffe brilliantly explains things which I took for granted and was proved wrong. And the Author's "You tube" videos are really worth a look.

When I first started out on Cel nav..... I wanted nice glossy pictures not damn maths and trigonometry (as important as they are)and you get them here ...but with also hard facts and common sense

This is not written by someone like myself who now knows a bit about the subject but has not ever navigated ...but by someone who has real everyday life practical experience and all this shows in the style of writing ..and yes there is humour too :)

Well done Tom ...Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sextants made simple, 24 Aug. 2007
I had tried and failed to understand celestial navigation with 2 other books - but this book and its excellent diagrams make the whole subject understandable. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great intro to Celestial Navigation, 22 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celestial Navigation (Paperback)
I thought this book is pitched about right for someone who wants to learn celestial navigation from a practical perspective. The Air Sight Reduction tables are easy to use and Tom does a very good job of describing how to use them to get a position line.

For those looking for more on the theory the book is bit light - no real mention of the PZX triangle and the fact that an altitude is not the zenith distance even though it is true altitude and calculated altitude that is used to find the position line intercept.

Bit surprised to see diagrams with the zero meridian at the top of the page - this certainly is not the convention used when I was a deck officer in the Merchant Navy - zero was at the bottom so that west is on the left of the page.

A really useful extra for the 'checking the compass section' would be the ABC Azimuth tables so that the user can then check the compass at any time - not just at sun rise or sun set.

All in all a very good practical reference that I thoroughly enjoyed reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars unreadable on kindle!!!, 28 Mar. 2014
formatting and fonts so bad it is unreadable on kindle, try the sample before you buy and you can see for yourself..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Complete, 18 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celestial Navigation (Paperback)
I felt that with this book and the various tables necessary I could sail round the world without a GPS and go by traditional methods. Tom Cunliff gives clear descriptions of how it all falls together without doing it in a complicated way. At the end you understand GHA and LHA as if you had done it all your life. Simply written and simply brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Very very poor, 24 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Download for IPad and text does not display correctly, totally unreadable. How can the venerable Tom put his name to this shambles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars no page nunbers in Kindle version, 16 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I did find the lack of page numbers in the Kindle version difficult to know where to look for drawings etc but as Tom explained in his email that the book was written many years ago and when it was put in electronic form the no provision for page numbers
I did find the book very good though
thank you
K Gregory
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Celestial Navigation, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Tom Cunliffe brings this subject to life with his easy to read style when explaining some quite abstruse aspects of navigation by sextant, compass, and chart. I found this book a very powerful aid in my understanding of a deep subject. P.Andrews
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading, 14 Mar. 2010
I am thinking I need a second copy to ensure I have at least one thats not lost and is in my briefcase for revision and practise. Much has changed since my HMS days in the 1960's and anyone who has learned navigation more than 10 years ago is recommended to bring themselves uptodate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Celestial Navigation
Celestial Navigation by Tom Cunliffe (Paperback - 13 Aug. 2010)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews