Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dummy job to get into the basics and beyond
I purchased both this book and the Teach Yourself CBT at Amazon, as I wanted different ones for myself and my bf so we could have a bit more of a basis of comparison and analysis. I've read through most of mine (the Teach Yourself CBT) and his, and the Dummies book seems to me the best.
The layout and the arrangement of themes is better, the text and information has...
Published on 15 Sep 2011 by Ana Da Silva

versus
46 of 52 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unreadable
I bought this book as a Kindle edition , but it has been so badly formatted it is absolutely unreadable. The tables and charts which are an integral part of the 'Dummies' books have not been reset for Kindle and are useless, the margin commetns are also lost in the middle of a garble of text. Open it at any page and you find a random jumble of words with no continuity,...
Published on 21 Sep 2011 by Fleabag


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dummy job to get into the basics and beyond, 15 Sep 2011
By 
Ana Da Silva - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cognitive Behavioural Therapy For Dummies (Paperback)
I purchased both this book and the Teach Yourself CBT at Amazon, as I wanted different ones for myself and my bf so we could have a bit more of a basis of comparison and analysis. I've read through most of mine (the Teach Yourself CBT) and his, and the Dummies book seems to me the best.
The layout and the arrangement of themes is better, the text and information has more depth and it is more "user-friendly" if, like us, you have no experience in the subject. The ideas and suggestions are well grounded in the context, making it easier to understand why and how the things needing to be changed impact our lives, which facilitates the transition (implementing those behaviour changes). None of the books intends to be a miracle cure for every problem, but applying some of their premises have helped me achieving better communication with others and also a better hindsight of myself, especially in what concerns my starting points (my initial ideias, interpretations, emotions and so on that I rarely realised were even there but formed the way I shaped my dialogue or how my feelings and thoughts developed). The Dummies book is far more complete and easy to use, especially if you intend to stick to certain chapters only, and it is also more engaging. My mind kept going back and forth to previous things I had read and putting it together. The other one feels a bit more like a school book you try to memorise as you go along.
The one thing I strongly disliked about the Dummies was the authors choice to refer to certain negative emotions and "guilt trips" as sins... Honestly, in a language as rich as the English one, there's no need to resort to words which will bring religious connotations to a context that has nothing to do with religious beliefs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Result!, 16 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cognitive Behavioural Therapy For Dummies (Paperback)
I wish I had read this book years ago. It is a commonsense approach to dealing with negative thought patterns and it works. It has helped me confront my fears and anxiety and at last start to live my life. The book is not a cure all as you have to be in the right frame of mind to actually take on board the advice and change, so anyone looking for a quick fix will be disappointed. My advice is stick with it be prepared to put in the effort and you will reap the rewards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Depression self help, 2 Feb 2011
This review is from: Cognitive Behavioural Therapy For Dummies (Paperback)
An excellent book to help those who need to understand how their mind works and how they react in particular situations. Especially good for people who suffer with stress or depression to understand what the underlying cause could be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book - cheapest therapist out there!, 5 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cognitive Behavioural Therapy For Dummies (Paperback)
Don't be put off by the slightly condescending horrible black and yellow day glow book cover. I would never have bought this book because of the cover but was recommended to buy it by my doctor. Well, after trying many different therapies over the years this is the first time something spoke directly to me and made me feel so much better straight away. It made me feel 'normal', not alone and actually that I am in control of my anxiety and depression and that they are not in control of me. It works a bit like a car manual, in that if you have a problem that needs fixing, look up the problem and fix it. Us humans are not that complex and quite simple really, and many of us suffer from the same malfunctions, we just need a bit of tweaking now and then. No dramas, no mystery, no large financial outlay, no long delving sessions into your past. This book works, I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cognitive Behavioural Therapy for Dummies, 20 Jan 2011
This review is from: Cognitive Behavioural Therapy For Dummies (Paperback)
This is an excellent introduction to this popular type of therapy;good background information and easy to follow approach to common problems it is usually used to help, eg depression and anxiety. Not a replacement for proper help if required but a helpful start if you are considering using CBT or just want to know more about it and it shows a way of dealing with issues which may be all some people require.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CBT for dummies, 12 Sep 2011
This review is from: Cognitive Behavioural Therapy For Dummies (Paperback)
I found this to be a great introduction to CBT and I'm very happy with it. The book also includes many other refences of other related books which I look forward to getting a look at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 52 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unreadable, 21 Sep 2011
I bought this book as a Kindle edition , but it has been so badly formatted it is absolutely unreadable. The tables and charts which are an integral part of the 'Dummies' books have not been reset for Kindle and are useless, the margin commetns are also lost in the middle of a garble of text. Open it at any page and you find a random jumble of words with no continuity, links or sense. Complete waste of money. Do not buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating for the detached observer, unhelpful format for many who are seeking help, 19 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cognitive Behavioural Therapy For Dummies (Paperback)
I bought this to try to understand if CBT could be appropriate to a friend battling various issues, and having skim read it focusing on the parts that seemed most relevant, it seemed obvious that CBT could be really valuable. I actually passed them the book so they could have a look themselves, and they tried to get somewhere with it, but explained that it was exactly the wrong format for their needs (and to be honest I found the format distractingly fragmented too) and probably for most other people in their position.

If you're dealing with anxiety, de-motivation, depression or anger, and your judgement and perception are clouded by all of these and more, what you need is a genuinely 'for dummies' introduction. You need something cleanly and simply formatted (fail), engaging - probably thanks to real life examples and use of every day language (fail), written conversationally with a genuine sense of the authors personality, expertise and empathy coming through(fail), that ideally starts by reflecting back at the user the frustrations and pain points they're experiencing in a sympathetic, positive way; and only then, step by step, explains the underlying dynamics and mechanics that CBT identifies and addresses.

What it actually does is use an information dense, distractingly 'mix-and-match' format (which, in all fairness, is the series' USP, so they couldn't really do anything else); introduces CBT as a concept and science in a way that borderline mystifies it (surely a book for dummies should demystify?) instead of talking about needs and solutions that users can immediately identify with; and, although written informally, isn't written conversationally or engagingly.

If you're anxious, distracted, depressed or bitter, you probably need a book on the topic that makes it easy to engage with the topic and reels you in in spite of yourself, not a book that reads/looks like a really long text-book or reference book, that's been given a frenetic edge by it's formatting. It's also worth bearing in mind that a lot of people who are engaged in destructive thought patterns are probably in the habit of simplistic or lazy analysis (hell, that's one of the premises of CBT) and may be generally weak on analytical and critical thinking and objectivity. Given that possibility/probability, a useful 'everyman's' take on the topic needs to be simple and intuitive, which this book's isn't.

I don't know what this book purports to be (text book? accessible self-help manual? filler material for the dummies series?) so it's unfair to criticise it from the perspective of self-help manual, but if that's the angle you are coming from, even if, like me you have enjoyed other titles in the dummies series, I would say steer clear unless you are very comfortable with the series' style and don't mind a sensitive topic being handled in a dry, disjointed, dip-in-and-out way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very readable and straightforward, 2 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cognitive Behavioural Therapy For Dummies (Paperback)
I received this book about 3 weeks ago, and I've been working my way through it with a highlighter pen to mark the sections relevant to me. Later, I'll go back and re-read what I've marked and focus on what I want to change.
I've already noticed many passages had "light bulb" moments for me.
I'm enjoying reading it, and feel very positive that it will enable me to improve my outlook and reactions towards the stressful circumstances that I've unfortunately been stuck with just now.
It has shown me what is available through CBT.
I hadn't been very impressed with the Psychologist I'd seen a couple of times, but now I plan to persevere, as the book has shown me a global picture of what CBT can achieve
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended, 24 May 2011
This review is from: Cognitive Behavioural Therapy For Dummies (Paperback)
A thoroughly comprehensive approach to addressing all aspects of your lifestyle, whether you're affected by anxiety, depression, eating disorders, addiction or a combination thereof. I am not a medical professional but suffer with mental illness and have found the books not only an excellent aid for CBT but a psychological crutch that helps you feel that bit less alone.

(Only criticism would be that self-injury is not covered at all in this book - although other addictions such as drinking/drug use/pornography/gambling etc are addressed, as well as generic approaches to weighing up the costs to your lifestyle of your 'drug of choice').
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cognitive Behavioural Therapy For Dummies
Cognitive Behavioural Therapy For Dummies by Rob Willson (Paperback - 17 Sep 2010)
£11.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews