Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honest, methodical and comprehensive guide to negotiation
Steve Gates, a negotiation consultant, takes a balanced approach - exemplified in his conceptual tool, "the negotiation clock face" - that makes this manual valuable for negotiators with a wide range of skills and approaches. Gates is refreshingly honest. He incorporates the lessons of a half-dozen other books on the topic, and renders most other texts on the subject...
Published on 1 Nov. 2011 by Rolf Dobelli

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad
The cases were interesting but a bit simple. A bookm like this needs some real testers and perhaps even some roleplays that can be acted out in groups. All a bit turgid.
Published 15 months ago by pip


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honest, methodical and comprehensive guide to negotiation, 1 Nov. 2011
By 
Rolf Dobelli "getAbstract" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Negotiation Book: Your Definitive Guide to Successful Negotiating (Hardcover)
Steve Gates, a negotiation consultant, takes a balanced approach - exemplified in his conceptual tool, "the negotiation clock face" - that makes this manual valuable for negotiators with a wide range of skills and approaches. Gates is refreshingly honest. He incorporates the lessons of a half-dozen other books on the topic, and renders most other texts on the subject obsolete. Though the book is not necessarily the right stand-alone tool for raw beginners, getAbstract recommends its tough lessons to moderately and extensively experienced negotiators well as to anyone looking to become more realistic about business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cuts through the myths and academia - well worth investing in, 5 Jan. 2011
This review is from: The Negotiation Book: Your Definitive Guide to Successful Negotiating (Hardcover)
Having been in senior commercial roles most of my career it was refreshing to pick up a book that spells out the negotiation process in real rather than academic terms. There was nothing here that I did not agree with (on reflection!) and much that was either new to me or added context to strategies and tactics that I have been using for years. I rarely give feedback, but in this case am delighted to as it will add value to practitioners regardless of which side of the table you are sat on.

If you want a purely academic read, I would recommend The Art and Science of Negotiation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So so helpful, 14 April 2011
This review is from: The Negotiation Book: Your Definitive Guide to Successful Negotiating (Hardcover)
This was the most helpful book I have read in a long time it has helped me in my start up business to expand and consequently has grown my Market share. I have opened 2 more outlets and they turned even within a month. This book is my business bible and could not have achieved such success with out it. I am 19 years old and this book has been turning point in my career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Effective, 7 Oct. 2013
This review is from: The Negotiation Book: Your Definitive Guide to Successful Negotiating (Hardcover)
I bought this book to reflect and improve on my own skills, and found it really effective. Steve Gates has managed to distill years of hard won experience both delivering training workshops and lots of blue chip buying into a simple to understand model. The Clockface just makes sense! and as I look back on my own years in business my negotiations make so much more sense, I wish I had this knowledge years ago, what a difference it would have made. Some of Steves words and sections are hard going at times, but after a 2nd read it kind of made more sense. Its a consultant talking on paper so you'll need to forgive him for using 10 words when 2 will do. But do persevere as its well worth it.

A real reference manual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will make you Money, 30 Dec. 2010
This review is from: The Negotiation Book: Your Definitive Guide to Successful Negotiating (Hardcover)
A great book, written in a way that makes it very easy to read. This is a book that will make a difference to the way I negotiate. It brings together many ideas from other books in a clear way that I will embrace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, Inspirational Read, 28 May 2012
This review is from: The Negotiation Book: Your Definitive Guide to Successful Negotiating (Hardcover)
I really cannot recommend this book enough.
Of all the negotiation/self improvement books I have read this has to be the best. It breaks down the subject matter into easily understandable points and supports each of these points with excellent real world examples. This book is for anyone who wants to come away from a negotiation, meeting, discussion, debate better off than they do now by improving their understating and practice of negotiating skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A refreshingly pragmatic approach, 17 May 2012
This review is from: The Negotiation Book: Your Definitive Guide to Successful Negotiating (Hardcover)
This book is an excellent look at a pragmatic, real life approach to negotiation. The models explained are practical, easy to understand and brought to life through relevant examples. It helps you to understand both the science and art of negotiation, with a window into the emotions that drive human behaviour. A great practical guide to a skill that is often over complicated by others!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Know your competition, 23 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Negotiation Book: Your Definitive Guide to Successful Negotiating (Hardcover)
It is written in such a clear way, such that it is like having a conversation with a very experienced and well informed negotiator who wants to share all their wisdom. This type of book can be hard to read but this one is brought to life with examples and framework diagrams to make it easier to digest.

I'd recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Superb Insight, 25 May 2012
This review is from: The Negotiation Book: Your Definitive Guide to Successful Negotiating (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed this book. It was a well written, thoroughly useful guide which will help you negotiate effectively. I have read other books on this subject but the negotiation book really does give you practical advice which I feel I can apply immediately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 3 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Negotiation Book: Your Definitive Guide to Successful Negotiating (Hardcover)
The cases were interesting but a bit simple. A bookm like this needs some real testers and perhaps even some roleplays that can be acted out in groups. All a bit turgid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Negotiation Book: Your Definitive Guide to Successful Negotiating
£16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews