Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bite-sized 'wow' techniques
This is the second book I've used from the excellent 'Smashing' series, and they really can't be beaten in terms of easy, no-nonsense practical advice - it's straight down to brass tacks with short chapters packed with useful examples to get you learning and trying new techniques straight away. If, like me, you haven't got the time to learn every tool in Photoshop...
Published on 9 Nov 2010 by R. WEST-SOLEY

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another useful Photoshop book, but not the most inspiring.
Smashing Magazine is an online presence, where you can pick up some great ideas and techniques to fuel your creativity. Aimed mainly at web designers, there are also plenty of things of interest for general computer / Photoshop users.
This book is a collection of interesting design ideas, with recipes for users to try at home. It is based on Photoshop CS5, so is...
Published on 1 Nov 2010 by Amazoniac


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bite-sized 'wow' techniques, 9 Nov 2010
By 
R. WEST-SOLEY "Rich West-Soley" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Smashing Photoshop CS5: 100 Professional Techniques (Smashing Magazine Book Series) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is the second book I've used from the excellent 'Smashing' series, and they really can't be beaten in terms of easy, no-nonsense practical advice - it's straight down to brass tacks with short chapters packed with useful examples to get you learning and trying new techniques straight away. If, like me, you haven't got the time to learn every tool in Photoshop 'properly' before using them on a day-to-day basis in your work, then this kind of guide is perfect - it's a dip-in type of book, excellently sectioned and indexed, so you can identify the bits you need straight away. Then it's just a case of reading the short, clear explanations, then applying them straight away to your own creations. Couldn't be simpler, and it saves a load of time flicking through more complicated 'from scratch' tutorials if you're pushed for results quickly!

I found the section on web layout techniques absolute gold dust - clear, useful advice on techniques such as grid layouts and slicing. Great stuff if your strengths are in HTML / development and you find yourself having to (or forced to!) cover the graphical side of things too. But there's equally useful material in the book on creating composites, retouching images and creating special effects - something for everyone, in other words, even those who are more familiar with Photoshop.

Highly recommended as a desktop reference for Photoshop - another golden title in the Smashing series, and a great compendium of bite-sized 'wow' techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another useful Photoshop book, but not the most inspiring., 1 Nov 2010
By 
Amazoniac (Norwich) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Smashing Photoshop CS5: 100 Professional Techniques (Smashing Magazine Book Series) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Smashing Magazine is an online presence, where you can pick up some great ideas and techniques to fuel your creativity. Aimed mainly at web designers, there are also plenty of things of interest for general computer / Photoshop users.
This book is a collection of interesting design ideas, with recipes for users to try at home. It is based on Photoshop CS5, so is dealing with the very latest iteration of a very well known image editing package.
If you have been using almost any version of Photoshop for more than 4 or 5 years, then you will probably find quite a lot of this book familiar to you. An awful lot of this stuff is freely available on the 'net already (and a fair bit of it in the 'Help' files that come built in to your software - but who reads the 'Help' files, right?), so you might be forgiven for wondering why you should actually pay for a collection of such stuff.
Well, despite all I have said above, I personally own a huge number of books about Photoshop, and even find new stuff in them after working with this package since the early 1990s. It is good to have a reference to hand that you can draw and write on - and most of my books are now covered with 'notes to self' about the new features (and sometimes failings) of the program, 'how to' instructions, etc.
So, overall I would recommend that you buy a book like this one, or one of the 'How to Wow' series, and work your way through it and learn some impressive techniques and use the book as a 'workbook' rather than a bible.
Not a book for the complete beginner, but an interesting addition to the library of Photoshop reference out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good book, 28 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smashing Photoshop CS5: 100 Professional Techniques (Smashing Magazine Book Series) (Paperback)
I am a graphic designer and this book helped me to learn techniques that i didn't knew and always envy on other designer's works ;) (or knew how to do in a lot more stages)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT book1, 13 Feb 2011
By 
Mr. Simon Paddon "Simon" (Barnstaple, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Smashing Photoshop CS5: 100 Professional Techniques (Smashing Magazine Book Series) (Paperback)
Love this book- I am not an advanced user, but it shows you every step of the stages; I have found that it helps me explore what could be done, which is helpful, just in my way of thinking about what I want to do.

Clear, step by step instructions- worth buying. 5 starrs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very easy to read or just to dip into but not for beginners, 22 Dec 2010
This review is from: Smashing Photoshop CS5: 100 Professional Techniques (Smashing Magazine Book Series) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have been using Photoshop for many years and do not count myself as a beginner.

This is just as well as this book assumes you already know your way around the software.

I found the book easy to dip into for help with some parts of the software I had not used before.

If you have to buy the book youself, I am sure you would do better elsewhere. If you get your boss to pay, it will be well thumbed before long and borrowed by others.

A good standby reference type of book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars photoshop book, 20 Dec 2010
By 
E. Dale "elained2" (W. Yorks, England UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Smashing Photoshop CS5: 100 Professional Techniques (Smashing Magazine Book Series) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
For anyone who only knows the basics of photoshop I don't think this book is as helpful as it could be. It seems to presume that you have lots of prior knowledge but I suppose the clue is in the title 'Professional'. I think the pictures in the book were a bit misleading too, hard to equate them with the actuality of using the photoshop programme. My son-in-law is a graphic designer and he uses photoshop a lot so I asked for his opinion on the book and he didn't rate it much either, he even said he could have done better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great for design and print photoshop novices, 23 Nov 2010
By 
B. Roche "somethingisrotten" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Smashing Photoshop CS5: 100 Professional Techniques (Smashing Magazine Book Series) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Having recently picked up CS5, I have used this book quite a lot. It's well indexed (a real bug-bear of mine with software textbooks) and has a lot of handy tips and tricks that you can flick through without having to start at the beginning and work your way through.

There is a lot here, from basic tasks and tools to relatively complex procedures, all easily explained and well documented. The authors have obviously thought about what the average photoshop 'dipper' needs to know and has catered for that group of people (who I suspect may be in the majority) very well. The section on using photoshop for creating web-based graphics and design is very useful and simple to understand.

The only problem I have with this book, which does show short-sightedness by the authors, is that a lot of the photos used to illustrate each tip are terrible! Surely, in a book detailing how to improve your photographs, putting in good quality pics would have been a priority, but this doesn't appear to be the case here, where grainy and boring photos are prevalent. That alone made it a 3 star review for me, otherwise it would definitely have been a high 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful book of tricks, 19 Nov 2010
By 
Schnuggles (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Smashing Photoshop CS5: 100 Professional Techniques (Smashing Magazine Book Series) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Photoshop is one of those programs that I've ended up fumbling my way around as it's packed with too many features. Some of the tools I just fiddle with not really knowing what it's there to do or I stare at a slightly off-key photograph and wonder how to improve it but never really getting anywhere.

This is where this book has helped, rather than having a Photoshop-style book for dummies, it allows you to go to a page and play with a picture for one particular aspect so you can dip in and out as you want. Although it's not really there for a guide book, it has inevitably given me a better understanding of some of the features and even informed me of features I didn't know existed!

For anyone that hasn't done a course and is in a similar position to me in that you fiddle with sliders and tools until something works, I can highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good on techniques, but overall uninspiring, 18 Nov 2010
By 
Lukens (Leamington Spa, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Smashing Photoshop CS5: 100 Professional Techniques (Smashing Magazine Book Series) (Paperback)
A good book for learning the techniques, but overall I found it uninspiring.

The design of the book itself is awful, hideous, and ugly throughout, and the examples shown don't scream top quality graphics at you. It's as if the book were written by someone with a good understanding of photoshop, but not of graphic design.

If I'd seen the book in the shop there is absolutely no chance I'd have bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Decent Photoshop guide, 18 Nov 2010
By 
C. Fletcher - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Smashing Photoshop CS5: 100 Professional Techniques (Smashing Magazine Book Series) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is a good reference for Photoshop users, with many detailed examples backed up by clear illustrations. Although the title refers to Photoshop CS5 specifically, the information in this book could easily be used with earlier versions. I have most experience using CS3 and, as I say, the details in the book are still helpful with this version of Photoshop. The only small criticisms I have with this guide are - firstly, a lot of the information here is not new for experienced Photoshop users (making this better suited as a beginner's guide) and, secondly, some of the trickier techniques could use an extra illustration or two as not every step is necessarily accompanied by a picture. Still, there is a lot of useful info here and it could well be an ideal starting point for many Photoshop users.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Smashing Photoshop CS5: 100 Professional Techniques (Smashing Magazine Book Series)
£20.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews