Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Clear and Focussed Guide
Whilst I don't work in a marketing capacity, I do find that I come into contact with a lot of marketeers. As such, it seemed like a good idea to get a good overview of contemporary trends in marketing. Since this is produced by the Chartered Institute of Marketing, I expected this to be as authoritative a voice on the subject as could be found.

The book...
Published on 10 July 2011 by Sockymon

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Broad Summary - Perhaps too Broad?
It does seem ironic that it's difficult to see who this book is aimed at - given that's what the writers do in their day-jobs!

Of course the CIM is the one professional body for this area, which is really taken seriously by the industry and so in theory, it should be interesting to see what their members - the experts in the field - can tell us...
Published on 27 Oct 2011 by Bruce


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Uninspiring read of limited appeal, 17 Jun 2011
By 
butwhatdoiknow - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Marketing Century: How Marketing Drives Business And Shapes Society (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I had high hopes for this. The Chartered Institute of Marketing is a great institution which over its years in existence has done much to move the discipline's reputation away from being regarded as simply the 'fluffy' side of sales, into the respected business driver and world-mover it is today. But am not able to recommend their book. While it clearly draws upon some very able and experienced marketing minds, and the writing is generally good, it falls down in one of the most basic tenets of the discipline; define your audience and target it well.

Split into 12 chapters over 250-odd pages and covering the various marketing disciplines and themes - brand, segmentation, digital, PR etc. - it simply spreads itself too thin to deliver any tangible value. Its breadth and generality diminish the product offering rather than broaden the market appeal.

Maybe if it was inspirational this would work - TED-style stories and snippets would make good reading for the experienced. But it is too heavily rooted in the explanatory and everyday for that. But neither is it a primer - it is pitched a level or two higher than that, and contains little in the way of insight on the fundamentals of marketing.

It is at best, a potted history of the last century of various strands of the marketing panoply. But unless you are looking for just a stocking filler for your CMO or intern, I'm afraid there are better books to inspire and better books (including many others by CIM) to teach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A polished overview of marketing, 31 July 2011
By 
Leon Crawley (Worcestershire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Marketing Century: How Marketing Drives Business And Shapes Society (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I consider this is a well written, comprehensive round-up of what's happened, is happening, and what is likely to happen in the world of marketing.

Not being a marketing professional I've taken the content at face value, but it's origins with the chartered institute of marketing gives confidence. There are 12 sections, each written by a relevant academic, all of which were readable to a non-marketing person. The chapters are well designed and relatively visually `lively' with diagrams, tables, bulleted lists, call outs etc, that helped keep me focused, even on the chapters that weren't my top priority. Each chapter is referenced properly and the book is indexed as you'd expect from the academic chapter authors, so it does have a `course book' feel about it.

However as an IT professional I found it gave me the useful insight I was after into what the marketing guys do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag, 30 May 2011
By 
Katharine Kirby "Kate" (HELSTON, Cornwall United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Marketing Century: How Marketing Drives Business And Shapes Society (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It's hard to see quite who this book is aimed at. If you were a beginner who wanted to find out more about marketing, it does give a good overview but doesn't really give you anything practical to work on. If you already know your stuff, you might find it useful as a reference tool for a marketing qualification - but beyond that, I do feel it's destined to stay on the bookshelf of those marketers who are awkward to buy presents for, or felt compelled to add it to the library in case CIM pop round to check on their members!

Having said that, it might be a good one to keep in the bathroom, as the occasional dip in can reveal a gem. Not least the fact that some poor soul has had to write the "century" of digital marketing. A shame really as surely it would have been more correct to see "digital" as a development of sales, CRM, branding, advertising etc than a category on its own - but CIM haven't got quite that far yet. Does have its titbits though - YouTube launched in 2005, by 2007 it was consuming more internet capacity than the whole www had in 2000.

Overall - not a marketing textbook for the beginner, but a reasonable research tool or lucky dip type of book for anyone with an interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 11 May 2011
By 
avid british reader (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Marketing Century: How Marketing Drives Business And Shapes Society (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Not the longest but very succinct and thanks for the opportunity to read this book-I found it full of insight and well worth the 4 hours of reading-thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More of a text book, than an exciting marketing read!, 8 May 2011
By 
Helen "Stratton" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Marketing Century: How Marketing Drives Business And Shapes Society (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Part written by academics as well as marketing professionals it's no wonder that this book is more of a laboured read and requires a lot more concentration than something written by the likes of Seth Godin. That said, it's comprehensive, well researched and well written and is a worthwhile book to dip in and out of for a marketing professional wanting to learn various aspects of marketing outside their specialism. It would also make a good read for a student wanting to understand how marketing has developed over the years and for someone considering marketing as a career.

I particularly enjoyed the chapter on Digital Marketing written by Philip Sheldrake. It gives a quick tour of the past, present and future developments describing the impact they've had most crucially websites, social media, display advertising, mobile, SEO and web analytics.

I probably wouldn't have bought it, but I'm pleased to own it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 12 rather academic essays about marketing today, 30 April 2011
By 
Nicholas J. R. Dougan "Nick Dougan" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Marketing Century: How Marketing Drives Business And Shapes Society (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
2011 is the centenary of the foundation of the Chartered Institute of Marketing - or, more accurately, to the foundation of the Sales Managers' Association, from which it traces its evolution via The Incorporated Sales Managers' Association (1921) and the Institute of Marketing and Sales Management (1960), gaining its Royal Charter in 1989. Personally, I am of the school of thought that although they share the common purpose of helping companies to sell more, sales and marketing are rather different disciplines, calling for rather different skills. Clearly, however, the CIM lays claim to both aspects of commercial management.

The book claims to provide expert analysis of the most significant developments of the last 100 years - and of the next 100. There were a few historical references (and the historian in me enjoyed them) but they seemed rather token so I'm not sure that it really delivers on that - it is primarily a snap-shot of where marketing is today. The book comprises 12 chapters, each an essay - and I use that word intentionally, as each is written in a pretty academic style - on a different aspect of marketing today. Subjects include Strategic Marketing, Segmentation, Digital Marketing, CRM, Branding, Advertising, Public Relations, Internal Marketing, Sustainability and Social Marketing.

There is a lot of good content in this book, albeit it is sometimes a little heavy going. I particularly enjoyed the chapter on Digital Marketing, perhaps because it's an area that's a particular interest of mine at the moment. I am clearly going to have to investigate the concept of the semantic web, aka (allegedly) Web 3.0, in more detail.

On reflection, I found this book less rewarding than I had hoped. My focus is on small company marketing, where a more practical approach is helpful. After a little soul searching I decided to award 4 stars because the fact that it was less useful to me than I had hoped does not mean that those working in the corporate sphere will find it so - personally, it was worth just 3 stars to me. I had a couple of other quibbles too: the diagrams in the book often seemed ill-suited to reproduction in black and white and at the size they were printed - how much would it have cost to have them redrawn? There were some rather self serving statements on behalf of the CIM, most notably the assertion that "Qualification through the CIM remains the only sensible solution to the malaise that lies at the centre of the marketing discipline..." Really?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introduction (or update) to the subject, 2 May 2011
By 
Hugo Minney "hugie" (Durham, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Marketing Century: How Marketing Drives Business And Shapes Society (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Marketing permeates every aspect of modern society. It would be difficult if not impossible to explain this in a single book by a single author, and the Chartered Institute of Marketing solves this problem by asking for articles by leading practitioners in each aspect, and binding them together in this excellent tome by Jeremy Kourdi.
The book covers
* Strategic Marketing (how to approach this vital aspect of the business or organisation, and what it is)
* Market Segmentation (why you don't just "sell to everyone" but make a compelling proposition to your favourite customers)
* Innovation (without knowing what the market wants, how can you give it to them?)
* Digital marketing (which explains why the internet makes the world a totally different place, for products that use it)
* Sales and Business Development (traditionally marketing has been the "fluffy" poor relation, albeit with a much bigger budget. Beth Rogers makes the case for integration)
* Customer Relationship Management (CRM - has traditionally had a bad press and Merlin Stone shows how with the right approach, customers will thank you for your interest in their well-being)
* Branding (why it is important internally as well as externally, and the difference it can make to effectiveness, profitability and value)
* Advertising (which has come a long way in the 100 years since the CIM started)
* Public Relationships (once thought of as a way of getting out of trouble, Paul Mylrea of BBC shows its strengths and weaknesses and when it is actually appropriate)
* Internal Marketing
* Marketing and Sustainability (the green and fair trade agenda)
* Social Marketing (when public services SHOULD spend money on marketing, how to approach the market, why, what works).
Each author explains their case beautifully (probably a combination of a clear editorial brief and extensive reviewing and editing); the links between subjects are explained and I didn't get bored or think "I've read that before somewhere else".
A thoroughly enjoyable read and an excellent grounding in the subject for a newcomer, or if you haven't kept up with the subject in the last year, then an excellent way to bring yourself up to date across the whole field.
Thank-you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good overall view of marketing concepts, 10 Jun 2011
By 
TheShopaholic (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Marketing Century: How Marketing Drives Business And Shapes Society (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
First, I have to say it was nice to read a book on marketing written by someone outside of the US. All new marketing and business books these days seem to be based on the US market.

I guess from the title I was expecting some kind of chronological history of marketing expanding into the future of marketing. What it turned out to be was a sort of text book/reference book aimed more at the marketing practitioner and less at a marketing student, though it was written at a moderate level so almost anyone with an interest in marketing could learn something from this.

It covers everything chapter by chapter from New Product Development, Social Media Marketing and Internet marketing (SEO, SMM) and other forms of digital marketing to advertising and sales and market analysis through segmentation, globalisation, branding and PR. Each topic is covered by a brief outline of recent historical development with examples and future possible aims. Not an indepth book by any means. Fairly easy to read and probably good as a general reference for students and practitioners alike but you could not learn anything in great detail from this.

Just a nice overview with some good examples of good and bad marketing practices or mistakes. Interesting but not ground breaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent tool for would- be marketers, 29 May 2011
By 
M. W. Hatfield "mwhatfield" (Gainsborough, Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Marketing Century: How Marketing Drives Business And Shapes Society (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Beginner's guide to the processes involved in marketing and a good summary of the essential concepts and ideas. Well-presented and interesting. Not for experts, not for the casual reader. But a good starting point to explore the field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Challenged my Views, 1 April 2011
By 
Warleybear (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Marketing Century: How Marketing Drives Business And Shapes Society (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Marketing Century is a compilation of a wide range of marketing and PR related topics which looks at the past, present and future of different areas of marketing. Some of the chapters challenged my marketing views and understanding from a decade ago. For example the chapter on segmentation poses the statement "Boy George and the Pope are both socioeconomic group A, but they don't behave the same". The message is that segmentation shouldn't be based on things like socioeconomics, but NEEDS. Perhaps a good argument - but the challenge would probably be how to collect this needs data? Ideas pop out of the book - Digital Marketing is Dead? Yes; It is now the main stream. The chapter on Public Relations talks about moving the agenda from `spin' that is often associated with PR to creating a dialogue to build relationships - including 'digital' relationships. I bought into this `ethical' approach argument, but in reality would organisations be able to make that change? The topic on social marketing had me gnashing my teeth......... but everyone to their own - perhaps I need to have my 'attitudes' changed? ;-)

A book that challenges many practices and certainly makes you think. It was heavy in one or two areas - but that may have been down to me having to stop and think? It can't provide all the answers - especially in a rapidly changing world - but by challenging you about a wide range of marketing concepts, it has done its job. It certainly made me want to revisit certain subjects in greater depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Marketing Century: How Marketing Drives Business And Shapes Society
£17.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews