Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential part of the surveyor's 'toolkit', 14 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Practical Guide to Diagnosing Structural Movement in Buildings (Paperback)
This is an excellent book and essential reading for trainee surveyors, students, graduates and experienced professionals alike!!

I have been very fortunate to join the author on building surveys and residential property valuations, whilst undertaking my residential survey and valuation training; I recently qualified as a AssocRICS surveyor.

Structural movement can, of course, have such an adverse impact on the value of a property and the 'Practical Guide to Diagnosing Structural Movement in Buildings' is a very user friendly book; ideal to have by your side when evaluating site notes, observations and photographs.

SP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Crack, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Practical Guide to Diagnosing Structural Movement in Buildings (Paperback)
This book is absolutely essential for anyone doing building surveys. Malcolm's no jargon and plain english writing is an absolute joy compared to some of the stuff I've waded through over the years. If you ever get the chance to hear him deliver a talk on this subject I certainly recommend it. The other thing I like about this book is that it's small enough to come out on site with me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diagnosing Structural Movement in Buildings, 5 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Practical Guide to Diagnosing Structural Movement in Buildings (Paperback)
I am a retired building surveyor, aged 68. I found the First Principles section presented a clear understanding of how to diagnose crack patterns. I wish this book had been available years ago and I recommend it to all budding and existing building surveyors. The rest of the book is also very informative and gives easy to understand reasons for all types of movements that can be found in buildings. It describes and answers all the questons I have come to ask over the years and I feel very confident in being able to identify the cause of cracking based on the simple princibles described in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive gude, 14 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Practical Guide to Diagnosing Structural Movement in Buildings (Paperback)
This book is a must for the trainee and experienced surveyor alike. Easy to read and free of unnecessary jargon, the author should be congratulated on an excellent read, i couldnt put it down. It should in time become the definitive guide for all things movement in buildings. Cant wait for his next tome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 1 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Practical Guide to Diagnosing Structural Movement in Buildings (Paperback)
A really well written guide for interpretation.

Good for students but also excellent for seasoned practitioners forming a useful clear reference point and giving justification to decision making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars practical guide to diagnosing structural movement in building, 4 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Practical Guide to Diagnosing Structural Movement in Buildings (Paperback)
bought for my husband as he knows the guy that wrote the book, it's a reference book so will be looked at when he needs to check something, he's thrilled with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Practical Guide to Diagnosing Structural Movement in Buildings, 15 July 2012
This review is from: Practical Guide to Diagnosing Structural Movement in Buildings (Paperback)
I am a practising residential building surveyor and have found this book and excellent read from start to finish.

This book is ideal for practising building surveyors, structural engineers and architects. Each defect is identified, de-constructed and explained in the greatest of clarity to help the reader diagnose structural defects with confidence.

I would strongly recommend this book as fantastic value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is essential reading., 27 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Practical Guide to Diagnosing Structural Movement in Buildings (Paperback)
As a chartered surveyor I must say that this book is excellent in all respects.

To the experienced practitioner, this provides a very well written discussion of the factors that cause structural movement.

To the student, or those in the early stages of their career, buy it now: I had to learn all of this on site.

The diagrams and photos are well laid out and very helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Practical Guide to Diagnosing Structural Movement In Buildings, 2 July 2012
As a qualified surveyor I feel this is an essential read for those studying the subject, it is also a thought provoking book for experienced surveyors. A systematic approach to movement and the causes with clear diagrams and photographs. Finally the book is of a more practical size; rather than the large manuals which have covered elements of this subject in the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 27 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Practical Guide to Diagnosing Structural Movement in Buildings (Paperback)
For me this is an essential read for all students and trainee surveyors.

As a residential surveyor the book also has its merits, even for those qualified. The book provides a clear methodology by which cracks and movement can be identified and diagnosed on site with confidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Practical Guide to Diagnosing Structural Movement in Buildings
Practical Guide to Diagnosing Structural Movement in Buildings by Malcolm Holland (Paperback - 8 Jun. 2012)
£25.56
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews