Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introductory guide!, 23 April 2013
By 
Fireball Dragon (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dermatology at a Glance (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Dermatology is a fascinating subject, which can often be boring (histology anyone?), but is presented in an effective manner in this handy textbook. Although primarily designed for medics, it will definitely come in handy for anyone with a basic understanding of the biological sciences.

The 'at a glance' series are excellent, and I own many other books in the series. This text is in keeping with the series, providing an excellent introductory guide to this fascinating subject. It is a little basic in what it covers, and this is mentioned at the beginning in bold honesty.

The contents are fantastically organised, with an excellent intro to evidence based medicine and a brief history on histology. Skin infections, inflammation, ageing, allergies and tumours are all covered, providing an thorough overview. Typically, two pages are used per area, with the left page showing schematic diagrams/pictures and the right side having text.

If you are so inclined, I would recommend complementing this book with a full-sized text book for a more in-depth understanding of dermatology. However, what this book does cover, it does well and will serve medical students positively. However, it may be heavy reading for those without a medical background. Overall, I can highly recommend this text. 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good overview, 23 April 2013
By 
B. Bello (Stourton) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dermatology at a Glance (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I purchased this book for my daughter who is studying to become a nurse.

Although not a book for non-specialist I found it interesting. A lot of information packed into a slim book it provides detailed information along with sufficient pictures to inform the student. My daughter reported it to be a good overview for her use and recommends it for a good starting point on the subject, although if she were to specialise in the area it would have to be supported with more in-depth publications.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good overview, 6 April 2013
By 
Tea Tango (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dermatology at a Glance (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Most people would have come across the at a glance series, it covers a topic in two pages, and remember that each word is important.

The dertmatology at a glance, is good. I think that dermatology is more of a visual subject, as you can easily learn the theory, but whats more important is being able to identify something by visual inspection, such as psoriasis and molluscum contagiosum as two off the top of my head examples.

none the less it goes over all the basics and investigations/treatment.

Just would have been nicer if key pictures were larger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent overview, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dermatology at a Glance (Paperback)
As a concise and basic guide to Dermatology it doesn't get better. Well illistrated covers the basics of anatomy, disorders etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great text for learning Dermatology, 21 Jan 2014
This review is from: Dermatology at a Glance (Paperback)
Dermatology in my opinion is only best learned through the use of images of the conditions, something that many textbooks on general medicine do not seem to do. It is certainly important to know how to describe them in words so that you can tell another doctor, however if you haven't seen the condition before then how do you know what you are describing. There are certainly a fair few texts on the market but this seems to be the most useful for covering dermatology, the advantages apart from those above are that it includes a website where you can download the images from the text, revision notes & there are self-assessment cases that you can work through.

In summary this is certainly worth considering if you are looking for a brief textbook that covers dermatology so why not try getting it from your university/BMA library to see what you think?

Competing Interests: Medical Student Reviewer - Received Gratis copy of this Title
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars As it says - at a glance, 16 May 2013
This review is from: Dermatology at a Glance (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
If you are looking for more detailed dermatology book then this is not one you should get. But if you would like to have a starter to give an overview of a vast subject this is a good start. The one thing very important in dermatology is pictures and this book has fairly decent picture.

The other bit which I like is the history taking and the succint bit on approaching the subject.

A good starting point for non-specialist medical personel, medical students and nurses alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent at a glance resource, 28 Mar 2013
By 
BusyReader "mrs28" (Midlands UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dermatology at a Glance (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Useful and well illustrated dermatology reference book with full colour photographs of various conditions in both ault and child skin eruptions.
It's a slim book but is concise and informative with the extra bonus of access to a website for further reference included.
It's great for GPs with special interest and Medical Students alike, and also useful for Nurses in Advanced and Prescribing / Diagnostic roles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and straightforward, though pictures not all good, 21 Mar 2013
This review is from: Dermatology at a Glance (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The At A Glance series are rightfully well regarded short texts, useful as quick reference for medical students, GPs and other (on the whole) non-specialists.

As a dermatology book, this one replaces most of the familiar "At A Glance" cartoon diagrams with photos. This is not always successful - most of the photos are quite small (perhaps inevitable given the publisher's desire for brevity), but photos are such an asset in dermatology that it is a pity that they are not of a decent size. The other problem is that some are pretty ancient and sometimes are clearly "the worst case I ever saw of..." which is not so helpful for those of us trying to diagnose everyday grades of disease. They somewhat mitigate this by offering open access to a website on which a selection of the images are reproduced at larger size - and this is helpful so far as it goes.

Otherwise the book is a helpful and practical guide to non-specialists in skin disease. Occasionally the advice suffers from excessive brevity, but I for one have improved my dermatological skills through reading it. It also includes a good section of the importance of, and how to take a history (which is much the same as how to take any other kind of history, but makes the point that methodical and patient history taking is the cornerstone of much medical diagnosis).

Overall a useful short book which I'm glad to add to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, a compact dermatology course, 21 Mar 2013
By 
David B "Piano David" (GOUROCK, Renfrewshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dermatology at a Glance (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It's not difficult to find "Colour Atlas" books of skin conditions and online resources of the same. But this slim volume is more than that. It's really a copiously illustrated mini dermatology course. As well as the photographs of various conditions, the illustrating diagrammes are excellent. Professor Hywel Williams (whom I met years ago a couple of times at Cochrane Collaboration seminars, when I was involved with the National Eczema Society) calls it a "succinct overview" and praises its value to medical students, General Practitioners and nurses and indeed this is bound to be a very useful addition to the bookshelf for many clinicians. It's good to see that there are pictures of both adult and infantile Eczema Herpeticum, and that this condition is called a dermatological emergency in children. Although this slim book is aimed at qualified (or qualifying) medical personnel, it is also likely to be of interest and value to anyone with an informed interest in skin conditions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dermatology review, 21 Mar 2013
By 
misswise (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dermatology at a Glance (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I've been told enough scare stories about dermatology that I started to keep an eye out for materials that would make the subject easier to learn and am glad to have found this book. As with all at a glance books each topic is covered in short easy to understand sections. A variety of topics including acne, melanoma, bacterial skin infections and so on are covered. It also provides web resources and iphone apps which are useful for on the go study. Great content for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dermatology at a Glance
Dermatology at a Glance by Andrew Y. Finlay (Paperback - 4 Jan 2013)
22.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews