Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good basic text
There are a lot of microbiology textbooks out there and I feel that they all assume you know things that you don't! This book takes it right from the start, and covers the basics of microbiology first, and goes on to deal with infection and infection control, immunization etc. It's very easy to read, and would be good for anyone who is new to the topic, but I would...
Published on 26 Jun 2007 by Cheeky Monkey

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
good, but little to advanced
Published 2 months ago by medicalvision


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good basic text, 26 Jun 2007
There are a lot of microbiology textbooks out there and I feel that they all assume you know things that you don't! This book takes it right from the start, and covers the basics of microbiology first, and goes on to deal with infection and infection control, immunization etc. It's very easy to read, and would be good for anyone who is new to the topic, but I would suspect you would need something a bit more substantial if you were a microbiologist. It's good for medics and healthcare workers though and makes the topic much easier to get to grips with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars microbiology "revision", 16 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medical Microbiology and Infection at a Glance (Paperback)
This book clearly and concisely drew together disparate areas which, a few nights before my pathology finals, I had definitely not grasped. It was a godsend. I had to write essays and found the way they organised info was perfect for this.
I really like these At a Glance type books - they don't have every detail but provide a visual, clear skeleton which you can add details to (gleaned from heftier textbooks) once you've grasped the basics. They're not right for everyone but they're perfect for me. I'm a medical student.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An essential study aid., 19 Mar 2006
Medical Microbiology at a Glance is a very useful study aid for pre-clinical medical students. It lays out the basic essential facts you need to know as a medical student.
The other reviewer is probably right, this is nowhere near detailed enough if you're doing a dedicated microbiology course. However as an introduction to Medical Microbiology for medical students this is an easy to read and easy to understand text providing knowledge upon which students can later build a deeper and broader understanding of the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for MRCPath students, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medical Microbiology and Infection at a Glance (Paperback)
Bought this book to help study for the MRCPath. Really concise and to the point with good flow diagrams to help remember the main points. It's well laid out and aimed towards the format of the exam questions. I'm it will be great for last minute recap of everything the night before the exam. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 21 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
got it on time as estimated, excellent condition , i love at a galnce series so easy and the diagrams r fantastic , waiting for the 4th edition on April
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars What I needed, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like the at a glance format - it's how I remember. Microbiology is like a new language so I need all the help I can get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quick and good quality, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medical Microbiology and Infection at a Glance (Paperback)
Fast delivery and all new quality book delivered.
The book itself is great. its useful. i am a med student and it helps with understanding the basics from the start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great compnaion book to help medical students make sense of microbiology, 4 Mar 2013
This review is from: Medical Microbiology and Infection at a Glance (Paperback)
Looking at some of the reviews for this title I noted that there is much variety in the response of different reviewers to this title. I would like to point out at this point that many of these reviews are years old now and thus do not necessarily reflect this current edition of this textbook.

When I received this textbook I was not necessarily expecting the detail and extent of the information covered in this book to be enough for a medical student as it is part of the 'at a glance series'. However having reviewed this book with the senior clinical tutor in microbiology we both believe that this book should be an essential read to all medical students.

Admittedly the depth contained in this book will not make you into the next best microbiologist however the book is not that bulky in the number of pages and the information in this book should be essential for any medical student. The depth is appropriate for all students and if you are looking for a book that will help you to understand this clinical area to enough detail to get you through your clinical rotations and your exams then look no further.

Certainly microbiology has been neglected on many undergraduate medical courses in recent years. Therefore if you are looking for a textbook that will allow you to make sense of microbes and antimicrobials that will get you through your medical school exams whilst preparing you for when you will have to prescribed them as a Foundation Year doctor then I would say look no further than this book.

Why not get a copy of this book out of your library and see whether you agree with me on this note and if you do then consider purchasing it if you want to add it to your personal textbook collection.

Competing Interests - Student Reviewer - Received a gratis copy of this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good book, 15 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Medical Microbiology and Infection at a Glance (Paperback)
Although very brief (it is an 'at a glance' book after all!), gives a good insight into the microbe and infection world, great for quick a quick refresher, not great if you're looking for something more in depth
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great...and simple, 1 Oct 2009
By 
F. Boyd (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
this is a great wee book to have by your bed to read little bits at a time. the layout and diagrams makes it very easy to navigate. I luv it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Medical Microbiology and Infection at a Glance
Medical Microbiology and Infection at a Glance by Kathleen Bamford (Paperback - 30 Mar 2012)
£24.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews