Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Midwife's Labour and Birth Handbook (Paperback)
Highly recommended for midwives and student midwives in their final year. Includes all aspects of labour and birth including obstetric emergencies, how to suture (step by step and for left-handers too), malpositions and presentations and lots more. Explains things in great detail but easy to understand. Would recommend highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference book, 28 Aug 2013
By 
Beanie Luck (Cotswolds) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Midwife's Labour and Birth Handbook (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As i am in my 2nd year of studying to be a midwife i jumped at the chance to get this.

It is informative, very well laid out and has been something i have read and thought i wish i would of had this at the start of my course.

Because of the book context, i believe i can carry this around with me all the time whilst i am practicing for continual reference f needed.

Excellent resource to have for any student or practicing midwife.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful handbook, evidence based, 24 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Midwife's Labour and Birth Handbook (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
There is a great deal of practical advice, evidence based guidelines, full bibliographical references. The book is easy to navigate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reviews the evidence, 21 Sep 2013
By 
LJD (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Midwife's Labour and Birth Handbook (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It challenges practice and guidelines which are biased or based on poor evidence. THE book for midwifery students and already qualified midwives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The essential guide for both student midwives and experienced practitioners, 11 Aug 2013
By 
Amazon Customer "Sussman" (London CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Midwife's Labour and Birth Handbook (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is the third edition of The Midwife's Labour and Birth Handbook and offers an indispensable guide for both student midwives and skilled practising midwives. This is then is then an excellent resource that endorses woman-centred care, by using research and evidence based good practice. There are colour photographs and diagrams to emphasize key points, and to better explain certain clinical procedures that are encountered by a clinician the text is structured so as to be easy to navigate and get the reader to the section they require. A recommended text that is worthy of a five star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential text, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Midwife's Labour and Birth Handbook (Paperback)
Recommended reading for trainee midwives. Essential reading for revision work as part of University degree course or upgrading to another branch of nursing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent textbook, 5 July 2013
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Midwife's Labour and Birth Handbook (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a well laid out and easy to read and understand text book. I could see it being a great help to any midwifery student or qualified midwife who wants to keep their knowledge up to date.

The book includes tables, flowcharts and images to make the information in the text clearer to follow.

It is split in to 24 chapters:

- labour and normal birth
- vaginal examination and artificial rupture of the membranes
- fetal heart rate monitoring in labour
- perineal trauma and suturing
- examination of the newborn baby at birth
- home birth
- water for labour and birth
- malpositions and malpresentations in labour
- slow progress in labour
- assisted birth: ventouse and forceps
- caesarean section
- vaginal birth after caesarean section
- preterm birth
- breech birth
- twins and higher-order births
- haemorrhage
- emergencies in labour and birth
- neonatal and maternal resuscitation
- induction of labour
- pre-eclampsia
- stillbirth and neonatal death
- risk management, litigation and complaints
- intrapartum blood tests
- medicines and the midwife

I am one of those (probably) annoying patients who wants to know what's happening and why this would be a boon to me, as well as the medical staff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Science trumps tradition..., 21 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Midwife's Labour and Birth Handbook (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The main difference between this book and many others is it's reliance on the latest fact-based methods, rather than rely on traditional techniques and inherited wisdom. An ages-old subject like midwifery is particularly prone to such outdated ideas.

Another highlight is the illustrations, including 'lefty' suturing; invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Book!, 16 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Midwife's Labour and Birth Handbook (Paperback)
A definate must have. The book is clearly laid out and is a very useful student midwife tool. Very popular on my cohort with the students and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent textbook, 2 Oct 2013
By 
Margaret7 (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Midwife's Labour and Birth Handbook (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Superb, in-depth and comprehensive, this book is excellent.

As a complementary therapist working with women who are pregnant (and having not been near a labour ward for over 40 years), I wanted to get a more in-depth understanding of the whole birth process in order to be able to give informed support to the women I see - and help them understand the importance of listening to their health professionals.

This book does all that and far more. It is an absolutely superb teaching tool and reference book. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Midwife's Labour and Birth Handbook
The Midwife's Labour and Birth Handbook by Cathy Charles (Paperback - 8 Mar 2013)
£26.34
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews