Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hope you never need to know this stuff!
I find it hard not to run away in the sight of blood and am totally squeamish about most medical procedures. Learning to do 'battlefield first aid' for tours in Afghanistan was quite a challenge and I'm personally very glad there were always qualified medics around when they were needed. Still, you never know when some of this might save a life, even your own - but don't...
Published 11 months ago by A. B. Mcmullon

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful for doctors, possibly for nurses with a passing interest, but not the best for a paramedic / paramedic student.
Whilst I ap[appreciate this book is aimed at medical staff, as a practicing Paramedic I can't really recommend this book to other Paramedics, not really to students either.

It is very prescriptive which is exactly what many in this profession, myself included, are trying to move away from, i.e. if X happens, do Y.

Unless you are an absolute new...
Published 7 months ago by DJ Bez


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hope you never need to know this stuff!, 22 Nov 2013
By 
A. B. Mcmullon "Skypilot" (Sedbergh, Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: ABC of Prehospital Emergency Medicine (ABC Series) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I find it hard not to run away in the sight of blood and am totally squeamish about most medical procedures. Learning to do 'battlefield first aid' for tours in Afghanistan was quite a challenge and I'm personally very glad there were always qualified medics around when they were needed. Still, you never know when some of this might save a life, even your own - but don't try this stuff at home unless you can't get a Paramedic or an Emergency Ambulance!

I asked my daughter, an A&E doctor, to offer her opinion:

"This is a comprehensive guide to numerous aspects of pre-hospital emergency care.

It covers some scenarios rarely seen by practitioners in the UK but are definitely worth including for completeness.

Perhaps it is a little beyond the scope of A&E doctors who don't like to leave the warmth of the Emergency Department, but contains many scenarios that are useful nonetheless."

Overall I think this should prove to be a useful reference book for paramedics working in the ambulance service as well as those involved in emergency rescue services, air ambulances and military emergency rescue teams. It gives helpful wider experience to supplement their extensive training.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Emergency Medicine guide!, 2 Dec 2013
This review is from: ABC of Prehospital Emergency Medicine (ABC Series) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As a medical student who recently undertook a pre-hospital medicine course, I thought I would have a look at this book and see how it complemented my learning! I found it a really useful tool - it is well laid out, clearly structured with a plethora of pictures (including of injuries faced in the pre-hospital setting!). Of particular use was the multiple mnemonics given throughout used to help you remember things.

The book is laid out across sections of different areas of trauma care, including the primary survey, airway and breathing management, anaesthesia and trauma to different regions of the body.

If you are looking for a concise and detailed book on pre-hospital medicine, I couldn't recommend this more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide to care before you get to the doors of A&E, 24 Nov 2013
By 
BusyReader "mrs28" (Midlands UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: ABC of Prehospital Emergency Medicine (ABC Series) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Excellent and well written book covering all aspects of patient care before the patient gets to A&E which in essence is the most vital care of all , and without skilled life saving interventions a trip to A&E is pointless and too late.
It is aimed mainly at Paramedics / First responders but is equally relevant to Primary Care Practitioners and workers in Walk-in-units although some of the more extreme examples of injuries like blast injuries and head / chest injuries would require ambulance per hospital care.
It is concise and includes chapters on Triage , Ethics and Legal Issues, which nowadays a professional must consider, and covers assessment , ABC and medications (sedation and analgesics) monitoring and acute care and trauma with sections on Paediatrucs and Obstetrics.
The diagrams and pictures are useful adjuncts to the chapters and it is well indexed and referenced.
I would recommend it to Paramedic collegues, trainees , medical students and those working in acute settings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ABC of Prehospital Emergency Medicine (ABC Series) (Paperback)
Brilliant - floppy hardish cover book. Lots of photographs and diagrams to keep you interested. Bought it for someone who is training to be a Paramedic. Would also be useful for anyone interested in A&E medicine and Trauma. Starts off with the basics and flows through well with models of care, psychology of injury, anatomy, Air and ground ambulance, Safety for staff, how to treat injuries outside and inside of the hospital, Very graphic photographs of injuries - be aware! Rather expensive - newly published, so obviously useful for referencing assignments, dissertations etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 14 Oct 2013
By 
Ger (Drogheda, Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ABC of Prehospital Emergency Medicine (ABC Series) (Paperback)
This is a must for anyone interested or already in pre-hospital care. I have recommended it to all I know in this field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book!, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: ABC of Prehospital Emergency Medicine (ABC Series) (Paperback)
One of the best books on the subject of PHC in the UK. Although aimed for Dr's, all pre-hospital care practitioners can find useful information in this book. Simply, an excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fine update to a venerable component of series., 16 Jan 2014
By 
Jack Chakotay "Ender Brazil" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: ABC of Prehospital Emergency Medicine (ABC Series) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I am very happy to see the pre-hospital component get its own book. The "ABC's in emergency...." series has been a mainstay of any A&E department but as any department who has a "roving staff" knows (or senior staff who want to be prepared for anything in their personal time), the outside setting is totally different. I always found it disappointing that folks used to have to consult the bible called Advanced Trauma Life Support which wasn't written specifically for this.

This book is well stocked with the usual diagrams and illustrations. It touches aspects of ATLS, ALS (adult life support) and APLS (advanced paediatric...). There are aspects that non paramedics don't think about like storage and transport (although the section was pretty basic to these paramedic colleagues). There is a slight discrepancy in presentation of certain algorithms, probably due to copyright issues, but that was a common complaint of preceding members of the series.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful book. 5 stars but..., 29 Nov 2013
By 
Hamstead (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: ABC of Prehospital Emergency Medicine (ABC Series) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book would prove an extremely useful addition to the bookshelf of anyone working or hoping to work in emergency medical and critical care. The written content is both professionally excellent and easy to understand. It's a reaffirmation of the A B C D E approach to managing a situation. Although the written content is worth every one of the five stars, it's not without one caveat. The work contains detailed photographs of actual cases. While some are an aid to the written word, there are some photographs that are frankly gratuitous and more there for shock value than anything else. They don't add to the learning curve. The reader can learn enough from the text without having to see a detailed picture of a blown off leg or a person without a face. Anyone purchasing this book should keep it well away from friends, children and family members prone to nightmares at the sight of distressing scenes.
The reason it still warrants five stars is the superb written content. It's now a keeper on the bookshelf of the critical care nurse and the student nurse in my family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book on Prehospital Care, 21 Nov 2013
By 
Uenna (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: ABC of Prehospital Emergency Medicine (ABC Series) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a very concise and well written book on pre-hospital care emergency medicine. It covers every aspect from triaging and prioritising calls, to deployments and protective equipments.It then deals in details with management of various traumas covering all regions of the body, acute medical emergencies, then special emergencies like obstetrics and much more. There is a good chapter on cardiac arrest and airway management.The language is simple and very easy to follow. Although it is primarily written for paramedics , I thinks this is an invaluable resource for every physician and allied health staff, as well very beneficial for anyone involved in pre hospital emergency medicine, acute care and traumatic emergencies. I do a lot of GP out of hours and have found some of the chapters extremely useful and informative. I will recommend this book to all paramedics and allied health staff involved in pre-hospital emergencies, as well GPs and A&E physicians and staff involved in attending calls at trauma sites and outside hospital emergencies. It is comprehensive and concise in its coverage of every aspect one would encounter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful for doctors, possibly for nurses with a passing interest, but not the best for a paramedic / paramedic student., 21 Mar 2014
By 
DJ Bez (Weston-super-Mare) - See all my reviews
This review is from: ABC of Prehospital Emergency Medicine (ABC Series) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Whilst I ap[appreciate this book is aimed at medical staff, as a practicing Paramedic I can't really recommend this book to other Paramedics, not really to students either.

It is very prescriptive which is exactly what many in this profession, myself included, are trying to move away from, i.e. if X happens, do Y.

Unless you are an absolute new starter in the Ambulance Service, there is little in this book that shouldn't already be known, yet as a refresher there are far better books. As a student learning from this could set you in some very dangerous and lazy habits indeed. As for more advanced practitioners, i.e. Critical Care Paramedics, I think it is pitched at far too low a level.

It isn't a 'bad' book per-se, and I think its target audience, medics, would benefit greatly from seeing the sort of things a first responder will see, even if far less frequently than 'Casualty' would have you believe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

ABC of Prehospital Emergency Medicine (ABC Series)
ABC of Prehospital Emergency Medicine (ABC Series) by Tim Nutbeam (Paperback - 13 Sep 2013)
£24.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews