Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not quick
I'll admit that I'm a fan of this series of camera guides, and this is a good addition to the range. I'm a dedicated Canon user, and have always found that the main weakness with buying one of their very fine cameras is that there's far too much to know about the camera than you can possibly know without a good guide. Even the most basic "amateur" or "pro-sumer" models...
Published on 28 July 2011 by D. O'Brien

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
By the end of Chapter One, the number of technical errors I spotted led me to the conclusion I was wasting my time with this book (example page 4: the built-in microphone is labelled as a speaker in the photo!). This is not really a field guide at all, rather it seems like a collection of the author's personal opinions and a showcase for her own work. The technical...
Published on 11 Sept. 2011 by Gloday


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars 60D field guide., 8 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A comprehensive guide to the 60D, however so is the users manual that comes with the camera.

I have learnt a bit from it, and find it useful as a reference guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 60d field guide, 28 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Canon EOS 60D Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
Got me up and running very quickly , easy to follow, picture grabs of menu's allow a quick understanding of how to set up your camera to suite your needs. Excellent guide for new Canon users. I bought this same time as the camera and I'm glad I did.

Gotta a Canon, get a guide
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars words on paper like in the eighties, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon EOS 60D Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
its a book. i just bought it from them, they just posted it. they didnt write it so i can only give so much credit. decent book though. some well spelt words and colour pictures throughout, plus its in a handy book size, so fits on a standard book shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Canon EOS 60D Digital Field Guide, 16 April 2011
By 
Helen Lore Zetter "helen zetter" (wisboroughgreen w.susex u.k.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Canon EOS 60D Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is very well presented and really easy to follow for someone who is just commiting them selves to digital photography.I do not think I have ever read an easier to understand book on the subject.The book on photography for 'Dummies' is far harder to come to term with as their authers always seems to think you know stuff so they gloss over information that you either need reminding about or never knew in the first place.The Canon EOS 60D is a great camera,but of course a bit daunting because of all the buttons and knobs.But with this book the auther makes it so easy that learning is no chore,only a pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beginers luck, 20 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Canon EOS 60D Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
As new to digital photography and slow on the uptake it proved to be just what I needed to understand all the icons and what they meant and how to benefit from there use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent manual, 17 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon EOS 60D Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
Excellent book by an author who clearly knows her stuff. Also lots of tips and hints about what she does. So much easier to read than the canon manual
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent replacement for the camera manual, 29 Mar. 2011
By 
S. P. Long "Simon Long" (Cambridge) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Canon EOS 60D Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I was pleasantly surprised by this book. I was expecting a generic "how to take better photos" guide with a couple of pages about the EOS 60D, but the Digital Field Guide seems to be a lot more camera-specific than that. The author has clearly taken the time to use and learn the 60D, and as a result, the book ends up as a better-illustrated and much more informative version of the camera manual, with lots of advice as to how to get the best results from this specific camera model.

There are three chapters at the end of more general photographic advice, on how to shoot action, portrait and landscape shots, but the vast majority of the book is a well-written description of how to use the 60D, for both stills and video. There's advice on selection of lenses to match the camera for different purposes, on the use of flash, and even detailed information on how to use the camera's customization options.

The many photos that accompany the text are of high quality, and a good illustration (no pun intended) of the sort of results achievable with the camera. There is a useful greyscale / colour chart inside, which can be removed and carried with your camera bag - a nice bonus.

If you own a 60D and either found the supplied manual a bit terse, or want to learn to get better results from the camera, this book is a very worthwhile purchase. (If you don't own a 60D, by the way, I wouldn't bother - find the equivalent for your specific model of camera.) There's probably not much in here a pro won't already know, but for the enthusiastic amateur, it's thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive look at the 60D and how to use it, 22 Mar. 2011
By 
M. Hadfield "Ammonite" (Runcorn, Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Canon EOS 60D Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Canon EOS 60D Digital Field Guide

I smiled when I felt the weight of this book. The suggestion, in the title, that this is a Field Guide was the source of the humour. It weighs in at 1lb 5oz (another 2.5oz and it's the same weight as my Canon EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM Lens) My camera bag is heavy enough as it is and I'd much rather carry a lens than a book.

The reason for the weight though is that the book is printed on very good quality paper. Type is a nice size, comfortable to read, while the colour images that are scattered throughout the book are also reproduced to a high standard. It has a quality feel to it.

Considering the book is quite technical in nature it is well written and I found it easy to read and understand. Even though I've been a photographer for many years I was surprised to discover a few things I didn't know.

This is essentially a big glossy expanded version of the camera manual. It is full of tables and charts and images of what the view screen and viewfinder look like in various situations. And given that the book is designed to be a fully comprehensive guide to the Canon EOS 60D Digital SLR Camera I would have expected nothing less. I realise that charts, tables and the like are quite off-putting if you want a good read, but this is primarily a reference book. I enjoyed reading it from front to back, but I will expect to refer back to it when I want to see how one of the custom functions work, or if I want to refresh my memory about the flash options available.

The chapters are organised in a logical sequence, taking you through camera controls, how to set it up for shooting, and then guides you gently through the complexities of exposure and focus. Once you understand and are familiar with this you are ready to take pictures.

After that the more advanced functions are covered, with a complete chapter given to the use of the movie function (something which I still believe should remain separate from still photography). There is extensive explanation of flash photography which I was pleased to see covered the use of external Canon Speedlights as well as the pop-up flash built in to the camera.

I thought the chapter on lenses (the only reason to purchase an SLR as opposed to a bridge or compact camera) was excellent with a good explanation of the how's and why's to choose and use specific lenses with advantages and disadvantages for particular shooting situations. Depth of Field (area of sharp focus in an image) and how it relates to focal length was also covered in some depth.

Event/Action, Nature/Landscape, and Portraits all received a full chapter and there were some useful appendices too.

Things I didn't like:
Insufficient colour pictures. Nothing teaches like a picture and in a book that, though interesting, is not a page-turner, a bit more colour would have lifted it.

There were just a few too many references to the 'programmable' custom function button (C on the Mode Dial). My 40D has 3 of these and I thought they were great when I first started using the camera, but I've stopped using them. And the author's suggestion that programming this before you set off for a shoot makes it much easier when you get there just didn't sit right with my own experience. It's not that hard to set aperture/shutter speed and ISO quickly when you take your camera out of the bag. And certainly, in this country, light is the one thing that's almost guaranteed to be changing rapidly so pre-setting an ISO for speed of camera use just didn't make any sense to me.

There was a little over-use of the same models. Admittedly it's a book on the 60D and not a book on portraiture but, considering the author is a professional photographer, I would have liked to see a little more variety. Though to be fair it was technique and use of the camera that was being demonstrated.

I think it's a good book, easy to read in spite of its technical nature, but aimed at those who want to know all of the intricacies of the 60D. If you are a beginner then it will almost certainly help you get the most out of your new camera, though you may find some sections a little too advanced, but as your skills grow you'll find yourself coming back to have another read as you gradually increase your skill and your knowledge. If you are reasonably experienced then it will help you to explore your photography in greater depth. If you are an expert, there is little here for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Latest guide for Canon new digital SLR, 13 Mar. 2011
By 
Gary White "gwhitegeog" (Fulham, London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Canon EOS 60D Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This US-written book is a largish `pocket size', that is about 50% specific to the new 60D and about 50% a general guide to digital photography. It's good value for money if the reader wants a one-volume supplement to the Canon manual. It should prove very useful for the novice or intermediate photographer or one that is just getting to grips with the Canon system.
The 60D is the new camera in Canon's '10 series' - it is really an enthusiasts 'prosumer' camera and sits below the pro-orientated '1/5/7 series' and above the entry level '100 series' (e.g. 600D) and the novice '1000 series'. The camera has been made smaller than its predecessor (50D) and uses SD flash cards, to allow it to sit more sensibly in their product hierarchy.
The guide's general section provides a lot of useful advice on matters such as different types of lenses, perspective, depth of field, shutter speeds and apertures, how exposure values are calculated, etc. This section will be less useful for those who are well-versed in the technical aspects of photography but is an easy-to-read guide for those just learning.
The 60D-specific parts are quite comprehensive. There are expanded tables explaining the menu layouts and custom functions, a full explanation of all the controls and layout. There's a good section on customizing the 60D but perhaps the best sections are on using Live View and Movie modes and working with flash. There's even a useful tear-out grey card for exposure calculations. All-in-all, a handy, well written intermediate level book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars informative book, 17 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon EOS 60D Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
This book is easy to read , has coloured photo graphs , and well structured. Highly impressed by the fast delivery by the seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Canon EOS 60D Digital Field Guide
Canon EOS 60D Digital Field Guide by Charlotte K. Lowrie (Paperback - 10 Dec. 2010)
£12.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews