Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book!
I bought this book as it encompased the Kimball technique and the Microsoft BI Stack detail, and I wasn't disappointed at all! If you buy this book as a technical reference on the Microsoft toolset, then you will be disappointed and should buy something more specific. This book takes you through a data warehouse project, touching on the tools but in a way that gives you...
Published 24 months ago by Rolls

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Surprising Anguish
Let me start by saying that the Kimball Group is widely respected as being the best there is when it comes to dimensional modelling. The book gets off to an excellent start and I found myself smiling in acknowledgement as the authors shared some of their experiences. The Kimball model is widely referenced throughout the book and this makes complete sense. It really does...
Published on 2 Feb 2012 by L


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Surprising Anguish, 2 Feb 2012
By 
L "justsomeguy" (LITTLEHAMPTON, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Microsoft Data Warehouse Toolkit: With SQL Server 2008 R2 and the Microsoft Business Intelligence Toolset (Paperback)
Let me start by saying that the Kimball Group is widely respected as being the best there is when it comes to dimensional modelling. The book gets off to an excellent start and I found myself smiling in acknowledgement as the authors shared some of their experiences. The Kimball model is widely referenced throughout the book and this makes complete sense. It really does encapsulate what the subject is about.

So why then just two stars? Let me illustrate by defining how to connect a hosepipe! I would suggest:

1. You'll need a supply of water, hose pipe and tap
2. Connect the pipe to the tap
3. Turn on water

The Kimball way:

1. You'll need water (refer to step 2), hosepipe(refer to step 3) and tap (refer to step 4)
2. Refer to diagram 1 to determine if your water pressure is correct. You'll need to also reference this to your geography as the water may be too hard (in which case you will need to add a softener) or too soft (in which case you'll also need one of a variety of available additives). This is discussed in detail in chapter 2.
3. The hosepipe must be of a sturdy material- we recommend (insert list of long technical names here), given the environmental constraints and delimiters (insert as much nonsense jargon here as possible) that you face on your project. You'll also need to consider how wide and how long your hosepipe is- as this can drastically affect pressure/ flow rate. Please refer to Chapter 3 for a detailed discussion.
4......and so on and on and on and on.

As a consequence the book (and I would suggest the whole Kimball approach) becomes an impractical and unneccessary technical bore.

A hugely disappointing book on a subject that I feel passionately about. This book encapsulates why Business Intelligence still has so far to go to win over hearts and minds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book!, 22 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Microsoft Data Warehouse Toolkit: With SQL Server 2008 R2 and the Microsoft Business Intelligence Toolset (Paperback)
I bought this book as it encompased the Kimball technique and the Microsoft BI Stack detail, and I wasn't disappointed at all! If you buy this book as a technical reference on the Microsoft toolset, then you will be disappointed and should buy something more specific. This book takes you through a data warehouse project, touching on the tools but in a way that gives you 'food for thought' on how you want to do things, but giving enough steer to make sure you don't miss out some fundamentals. A great book and highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Latest version - buy it, 23 Dec 2011
By 
Robin Everson "Robin Everson" (Redditch, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Microsoft Data Warehouse Toolkit: With SQL Server 2008 R2 and the Microsoft Business Intelligence Toolset (Paperback)
I paid for this book myself and have several of the previously published books by Wiley:

The clearly written guide describes the suite of Microsoft data warehousing technologies and tools in the context of the widely respected Ralph Kimball design techniques that are generally realised as being best practice in the field. Expert advice is provided on how to best-use these tools to build your robust B.I. solutions.

This book is an update on the 2005 version but stands on it's own as a self-contained and comprehensive guide. The guide's strength is keeping the explanations in MS SQL2008 R2 context while you learn and harvest the many useful tips provided.

Buy it, read it, use it, read it and the other Kimball guides again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another execellent book from the Kimball Group, 28 Sep 2011
By 
Howie (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Microsoft Data Warehouse Toolkit: With SQL Server 2008 R2 and the Microsoft Business Intelligence Toolset (Paperback)
A solid book that perfectly marries the Microsoft's BI offering with the Kimball Group datawarehousing world. Includes an excellent, honest, assesment toward the end of the book. Revised, updated, a joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rounded-out view, 21 Oct 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Microsoft Data Warehouse Toolkit: With SQL Server 2008 R2 and the Microsoft Business Intelligence Toolset (Paperback)
This book was paid for by my employer. I've been working in this arena for about 10 months now and wanted to widen my knowledge and get a better understanding of BI and datawarehouse concepts. This book delivers this and more...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Covers data warehousing and BI concepts, 18 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Microsoft Data Warehouse Toolkit: With SQL Server 2008 R2 and the Microsoft Business Intelligence Toolset (Paperback)
Covers all the data warehousing design,ETL,OLAP and BI concepts in a practical manner based on latest SQL Server 2008R2 features.I recommend this book for all levels
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews