Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding coverage of a critical skill
Pen testing and IT security assessments often cover less than 1/2 of the real world security problems experienced by modern day organisations. The risk posed by willing or unwitting employees disclosing information or acting as conduits to internal systems cannot be underestimated. Chris Hadnagy has been a regular conference presenter on the subject for several years...
Published on 26 Jan 2011 by Nickfx

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An Insult for the Intelligent Reader
The author attempted to write a broad book about all possible aspects of social engineering. As he touches all these topics in the book, he often treats subjects in a very shallow manner at length (and at length again) and often demonstrates that he is not very knowledgeable about the treated subject. As an example for the former, we learn that we should ask intelligent...
Published 12 months ago by Fugu


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding coverage of a critical skill, 26 Jan 2011
This review is from: Social Engineering: The Art of Human Hacking (Paperback)
Pen testing and IT security assessments often cover less than 1/2 of the real world security problems experienced by modern day organisations. The risk posed by willing or unwitting employees disclosing information or acting as conduits to internal systems cannot be underestimated. Chris Hadnagy has been a regular conference presenter on the subject for several years and was very well placed to write this book. It is a well written collection of the primary skills and tools used by the accomplished Social Engineer which is a must read for security professionals and company managers alike.

Written in largely non-technical language but in such a way so as not to irritate the security specialist the book takes you on a roller-coaster of disparate yet somehow cohesive techniques and tools which can lead to a successful exploitation of an individual or company.

If you are learning about security or if its the way you learn your living, you need to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The weakest link, 17 Aug 2011
This review is from: Social Engineering: The Art of Human Hacking (Paperback)
The value of this book cannot be underestimated. While the majority of technical security books focus on software and hardware security, this book addresses a factor which is often overlooked in today's security infrastructure: The human factor.
It shows how attacker's use methods and psychological tricks which allow them to gain access to environments which are technically quite secure and it does it in the best way possible: by combining real life examples (which read like a spy novel) with an academic approach, citing studies and research and all this is done in a very structured way.
Personally, I think the examples of lockpicking gear and GPS tracking stuff could have been omitted, since there are other books which address these and it leads us off topic, but on the other hand they prove some valid points and they serve as good examples/eye openers.
This book is highly recommended and also one of the very few books which can be read by the non-technical user who wants an insight on today's social engineering techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Social Engineering Portal, 2 Jan 2012
By 
fl1bbl3 (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A book containing the entire body of knowledge pertaining to Social Engineering is going to run to several volumes. Its such a wide subject encompassing a huge variety of topics that a single volume just isn't going to be able to cover them all in inordinate detail; even Microsoft canned Encarta when the Internet took off :). I therefore picked up this book hoping to gain an oversight into the field of Social Engineering, learn the most important aspects of it, and hopefully pick up some references for future study. It delivered on my expectations in spades.

It first establishes the framework of social engineering, something that I think is incredibly important. Yes you can learn individual elements but without understanding where they sit in a framework (where they are most prudent, what inputs you need and what outputs you can expect) you limit your overall effectiveness as/understanding of a social engineer. It then proceeds to take you through each of the elements in turn, delivering a precis and expanding on specific salient points. Every section is accompanied with copious references for further research and its clear that the author is intimately familiar with his material. Moreover, its also clear that he has a passion for the subject matter and this comes across well in the book.

Although written in a slight slant towards penetration testing, the author goes to great lengths to point out that in order to defend against something you need to understand how, where, and when someone will attack. Its something of an Infosec pastiche, but the Sun-Tzu quote "Know thine enemy better than one knows thyself" certainly applies here. As someone on the defence side, this book is invaluable in understanding how someone may use these techniques against us and should be a mandatory read for anyone tasked with creating an infosec program that really works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An Insult for the Intelligent Reader, 24 Nov 2013
This review is from: Social Engineering: The Art of Human Hacking (Paperback)
The author attempted to write a broad book about all possible aspects of social engineering. As he touches all these topics in the book, he often treats subjects in a very shallow manner at length (and at length again) and often demonstrates that he is not very knowledgeable about the treated subject. As an example for the former, we learn that we should ask intelligent questions instead of stupid ones. As an example for the latter, a lot of peripheral topics (sometimes esoteric) are treated by basically copying and pasting a buzzword list from another source without giving it a second thought even if the list is somewhat arbitrary or incomplete. Sometimes wrong sources are cited. For example, a human-communication model by "social scientist" Claude Shannon is presented. Note that Shannon was the inventor of mathematical information theory -- he did not do any sociological modelling. To conclude, the author should have limited himself to his topic of expertise instead of gathering a broad, superficial cut-and-paste patchwork from other sources. But this would probably have reduced the book to 30 pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 25 Nov 2011
By 
Stuart Duffy "Stuart" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Social Engineering: The Art of Human Hacking (Paperback)
The book arrived quickly and fulfils everything we wanted from it. A solid intelligent book that we'll refer back too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Social Engineering - No patch for Human Stupidity, 15 Oct 2011
This review is from: Social Engineering: The Art of Human Hacking (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book, it sheds a light in all issues concerning human hacking and it explores important concepts such as elicitation, pretexting and Psychological Mind Tricks.

I believe it's a bookshelf's keeper, especially for those who work in security ande defensa areas.

It contributes a great deal for personal awareness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 3 Oct 2011
This review is from: Social Engineering: The Art of Human Hacking (Paperback)
Its was a present for a professional penetration tester and actually he enjoied the book very much. He proposed it undoubtedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a must read for all security folk and C level executives, 29 Sep 2011
There are may resources that have tried to cover social engineering over the last few years, and I can honestly say that this blows them all out of the water.
This is a book that should be included in all business training, whether you are a CISO, CIO, or a member of a security team, what you will learn in this book will change your life, and the way that you look at security in general.
I can imagine that this book will also scare the hell out of a lot of readers, but Chris has put down on paper what the bad guys do, and how you can learn the same methods to be a successful social engineer, and also how to protect your organisation against these attacks.
Don't expect this book to instantly turn you into an expert social engineer, as these things take a lot of time and effort, but it gives you everything you need to become one.
All I can say is well done Chris, this is the book that the security and executive world has been waiting for.
This book really will change your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Impressive!, 27 Sep 2011
This review is from: Social Engineering: The Art of Human Hacking (Paperback)
The publication is very well rounded giving a good brief description considering the complexity of the subject / practise of Social Engineering allowing for a good starting point for further indepth study.

In my opinion it is written in a way that makes you drive for a better understanding and in turn a wanting to pass on the knowledge (like any good Ethical Hacker).

The psychological principles intrigued me most and has in fact caused me to examine nearly ever social encounter I have giving me a feel for the true nature of the conversation, and in some cases getting what i want (some what to my surprise). First I found myself drifting in my own thoughts with trying to take in and process every aspect of the conversation from visual cues to tone of voice causing the person talking to me to either go "errrr you ok" or "hello?" (depending on whether the conversation was held over the phone in person etc).

Regardless of your knowledge or abilities in Social Engineering. After reading this book you will start picking up signals and even using some of the skills you have learnt. That's a promise.

It covers everything in once place and as mentioned previously its a great start for detailed study. Gives you all the direction you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Straight to the point, 27 May 2011
This review is from: Social Engineering: The Art of Human Hacking (Paperback)
I'm gonna cut to the chase... The Art of Human Hacking is the best book about Social Engineering out there. I was a bit tired of infosec non-quality books, however the people of Offensive Security have been doing a very high quality work so I decided to pick up this book. Guess what? This book is no exception. It is a well written collection of the primary skills and tools used by Social Engineers. Sadly, the NLP section is a bit short. I studied it in the past and NLP just works! Just as almost every technique mentioned in the book.

Additionally, you'll get lots of references to the Social Engineering Framework available on the author's website, so you can explore any topic even further. Highly Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Social Engineering: The Art of Human Hacking
Social Engineering: The Art of Human Hacking by Christopher Hadnagy (Paperback - 17 Dec 2010)
£16.31
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews