Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plain, simple and effective!
The recent success of "The Presentation Secrets of Steve Jobs" (which I also reviewed and loved) has really raised the issue (as though it were needed) of the importance of great presentations and story telling.

In her book "Resonate", Nancy Duarte takes the reader through all the issues of a great presentation. This is a beautifully designed book (as you'd...
Published on 2 Nov. 2010 by Jonathan Kettleborough

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational but lacks an integrated approach
Inspirational book about presentations. It is not a template approach for how to put together an excellent presentation but rather serves as a launch pad for ideas. Important lessons include thoughts on contrast, audience, repeatable sound bites, the power of rehearsal and Murder Your Darlings.

I really like the design of this book which makes it a pleasure to...
Published on 22 July 2012 by Melvin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and useful, 1 May 2011
This review is from: Resonate: Present Visual Stories That Transform Audiences (Paperback)
I give public speeches regularly and am always looking for new ways to improve. This book provides pragmatic suggestions in an innovative, visual and interactive way. For example, it is interactive and entertaining in that it refers to youtube videos, case studies and has many fun and instructive visuals. The numerous case studies, the layout, the references to artistic and good presentations gives a fresh, new look to a well known subject. The more convergent thinking individuals might have wanted it tied together more cohesively in the conclusion but I found it great, useful and entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing., 11 July 2014
By 
J. Radke (Jordan, Middle East) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resonate: Present Visual Stories That Transform Audiences (Paperback)
This is really more style than substance. It sort of floats along with "themes" and is more about show casing the author's past work and praising individuals rather than a helpful guide for the reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 5 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resonate: Present Visual Stories That Transform Audiences (Paperback)
This book is about communication and presentation. In that way it walks the talk! It presents the information in an easy to digest way, and show clearly how to present a message to an audience. Knowing your audience, working out your segments, speaking clearly and using interactive communications skills were all aspects of this book that I appreciated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... really helped me with some practical advice to present better. Specifically around weaving a story through an entire ..., 13 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resonate: Present Visual Stories That Transform Audiences (Paperback)
This book has really helped me with some practical advice to present better. Specifically around weaving a story through an entire presentation and considering the audiences emotional response at every stage. Interesting observations about the patterns in great speeches and presentations that I will also test out in my next presentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 17 Feb. 2014
By 
Pc Hanvey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very easy to read and understand. it changed the way i present to audiences. great value and a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for Instructors/Educators/Speech Givers, 12 Dec. 2013
By 
WesleyM (Laois, Ireland.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resonate: Present Visual Stories That Transform Audiences (Paperback)
Really enjoyed this book. Very helpful for those who have to give public talks or deliver to groups and classes. Some good insights and written in a helpful and practical way so that you go away with real methods you can use to make your talks more gripping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very good book, 20 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resonate: Present Visual Stories That Transform Audiences (Paperback)
It is very focused and with a good layout, I like the square form too, good quality of paper, good quality of content. It really makes you resonate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good price and recommended, 11 April 2011
By 
Mr. S. Fernea "s fernea r" (united kingdom, dereham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resonate: Present Visual Stories That Transform Audiences (Paperback)
top quality product, good price and recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Resonate: Present Visual Stories That Transform Audiences (Paperback)
one of the best books on public speaking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very difficult to read the typo, 6 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Resonate: Present Visual Stories That Transform Audiences (Paperback)
While I love the content of her book, as it is, I do recommend it only for the few who have a great eye sight. It is definitely not for older people or people with eyeglasses, so on.

Not only the letters are very small but also very thin (perhaps the editor thought them 'elegant') and plus, often grey or light blue not black.

I should have looked at it, online, also I would not have believed it.

After I got the book, and was enchanted with all it tells, I told myself, "next week with new eyeglasses I will be able to read it".

Alas, it helped to see a bit clearer, but not enough to make a comfortable reading, not enough to read at my usual speed either.

It has so many great ideas, about how storytelling tips and techniques can be very important, it did teach me already a lot, or at least, made me understand better what I already knew.

Really a pity, to edit it publish it, in this way, with thin and small and mostly not strong and easy to read way!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Resonate: Present Visual Stories That Transform Audiences
Resonate: Present Visual Stories That Transform Audiences by Nancy Duarte (Paperback - 27 Oct. 2010)
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews