Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect
I was looking for a guise to help me develop our social media strategy - this does exactly that, and very well.
Published 13 months ago by Boomshanker

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Far, far too long
The sub-title claims this book is about "Tactics, Tools & Strategies for Business Success". I expected a book focused on how you could use social media to build your business.

If that information is in there, it is buried in over 800 rambling pages. They do probably cover everything there is to know about social media but not ina way that is very useful. Large...
Published on 6 Oct 2009 by H. Stewart


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Far, far too long, 6 Oct 2009
By 
H. Stewart "happyhenry" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The sub-title claims this book is about "Tactics, Tools & Strategies for Business Success". I expected a book focused on how you could use social media to build your business.

If that information is in there, it is buried in over 800 rambling pages. They do probably cover everything there is to know about social media but not ina way that is very useful. Large parts of it are simply lengthy blogs, which have been republished in book form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I waste of time and money - 2nd edition, 13 Dec 2010
By 
Paulo Alexandre S. Teixeira (Faro, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Social Media Bible: Tactics, Tools, and Strategies for Business Success (Paperback)
I bought the 2nd edition of this book and I found it really boring and not helpful at all.
Far to many pages (800) of bla bla bla on the subject in a way that made me sleep while reading the book.
I would not recommend this book at all.
The only reason I give 2 stars if for the amazon service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Is this a joke?, 15 April 2011
This review is from: The Social Media Bible: Tactics, Tools, and Strategies for Business Success (Paperback)
As fellow reviewers mentioned 800 pages of useless ramblings.
The language is far from academic. And the information is inferior and common knowledge.

Quote: "Social media is the media we use to be social.That's it"

The author fails to define social media in the 800 pages of the book. And from the content of the book clearly fails to comprehend the meaning of it. The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) has set up some guide lines to what is considered social media and what not and the author is way off.

Do not buy this book for academic purposes or if you have a basic knowledge of what the Internet is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, 19 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was looking for a guise to help me develop our social media strategy - this does exactly that, and very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hefty tome, 2 Nov 2009
Wow - this is a hefty tome and really does look at everyting to do with Social media markeringt - not only does it cover off the main ones such as Facebook, Twitter and Blogging - but delve into the pages and be fascinated with setting up a virtual business on Second Life, social media marketing with games and looking at a million other websites. Great book to help with EVERYTHING, but be careful not to lose focus... Livecasting here I come. I think I will back it up with something more specific on the main social networking websites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive guidebook to online social media, 11 Aug 2009
By 
Rolf Dobelli "getAbstract" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Do you tweet or troll? Lurk or plurk? Do you have Facebook friends or a LinkedIn list? Are you a virtual world resident with a beguiling or scary avatar? What is your favorite aggregator or rich site summary (RSS) service? Are you happy with your Yelp rating? Do you have a Meebo login? You know Google, but do you know Redlasso or IceRocket? What is your favorite wiki beyond Wikipedia? Like it or not, it is increasingly difficult to function in today's technology-obsessed world without becoming an Internet geek. You need to know how to get the most out of the Web. For that, turn to Lon Safko and David K. Brake. Their comprehensive guide to the perplexing online world explains the Internet-based social media, including how to use its networks and tools to build a marketing campaign. getAbstract recommends this smart, thorough, useful book to any businessperson who sees a single unfamiliar word in this paragraph.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Relevant, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Social Media Bible: Tactics, Tools, and Strategies for Business Success (Paperback)
Good book with relevant practical examples in to help you with your business in todays market place. A lot of the examples would be better if academically referenced though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very well written and also very interesting. I recommend to read it to thse that want to improve their business through social media!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, mostly for beginners, 20 Nov 2013
By 
Culture Enthusiast (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I am very clued up with social media and I was looking for a good book that was discussing mostly social media strategy. From this point of view the book is OK, but not great. However, the author explains that he tried to fulfil several aims, and strategy was only one of them. If you are totally new to social media this book is truly great as it goes through the main ones, how to use them, why, how and everything you need to know as a beginner. I like the use of the QR and the links to a comprehensive website. The book does not cover some of the new entries like Pinterest and Instagram in detail, but this world is evolving so quickly that it is nearly impossible to stay on top of it in between editions.

Overall a great book if you are a newbie, a very good book if you are already knowledgeable in this field and a good book if you are very knowledgeable and want more ideas on strategy. Overall, well worth the price. The author's website offers bonus content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good all round information on social media, 6 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. Chandesh Parekh (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Social Media Bible: Tactics, Tools, and Strategies for Business Success (Paperback)
I've been keeping up with social media for a few years now and this is the first book I've found that comprehensively brings most of the aspects together. It is a hefty book and it needs to be - the changes in online marketing over the last few years have been numerous, technically, strategically and tactically. This book attempts to, mostly successfully, cover it all.
I especially like the time taken to help the reader understand the roots and current implementation of technology e.g. podcasting, the rise of iTunes etc. Marketers today need to have a deeper understanding of the various tools they have to use in their roles and it helps to have some background in order to make better decisions when selecting tools for certain campaigns.
Also useful are the interviews, available to download, of marketers using social media successfully in various market sectors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Social Media Bible: Tactics, Tools, and Strategies for Business Success
Used & New from: 1.07
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews