Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars HTML and CSS sat no more!
Clear, basic reference book with links to online content.
Bought to teach my 9 year old son programming (although HTML & CSS is not programming it's a helpful introduction!) he can read it himself, and remind him of correct syntac of what he has already learnt.
Published 9 months ago by Baddermaal

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
I am developing simple web sites at home at work. Amazon's product description looked like the book would be a useful aid to add to my basic knowledge. How not so! The book is called HTML and CSS. But only 1 of the 29 chapters is dedicated to CSS. There are extensive appendixes but these are only lists of features. Many of the listed tags are not explained in the...
Published on 11 Feb 2011 by bnm


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 11 Feb 2011
This review is from: Learn HTML and CSS with W3Schools (Paperback)
I am developing simple web sites at home at work. Amazon's product description looked like the book would be a useful aid to add to my basic knowledge. How not so! The book is called HTML and CSS. But only 1 of the 29 chapters is dedicated to CSS. There are extensive appendixes but these are only lists of features. Many of the listed tags are not explained in the book. The book is printed in black and white, which although keeping the price down, doesn't help to show the use of colour in web pages. I found nothing on the subject of margins. Let Google be your friend!Learn HTML and CSS with W3Schools
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of money, 15 Nov 2010
This review is from: Learn HTML and CSS with W3Schools (Paperback)
I got this (off-Amazon) as part of two-book set, thinking it would at least refresh the little I knew of HTML. The blurb is enticing, promising that I will learn various things, but it is no more than a list of various tags. Admittedly, some of the tags will even have a list of parameters, but that's your lot. There is nothing to say why you might want to use various tags, or even that some tags are now frowned upon. For instance:

"HTML Formatting Tags
HTML uses tags like (b tag - removed by Amazon editor) and (i tag) to modify the appearance of text, like bold or italic. These HTML tags are called formatting tags. Refer to the end of this chapter for a complete reference."

The complete reference at the end of the chapter is simply a URL to W3schools website. Pardon me for being completely underwhelmed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars HTML & CSS review, 8 Sep 2011
This review is from: Learn HTML and CSS with W3Schools (Paperback)
I was expecting a book explaining the HTML & CSS in a different way than it is described on the W3Schools webbpages, but instead it is the webb pages on paper. On the webb one can try out some examples, and this same concept occure in the book also, but there is no way this can be done in the book, so the concept of putting the webb pages on a book is failing. On the W3Schools webb page it says "new books" giving me the impression that this really was new and not the webb pages on paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars HTML and CSS sat no more!, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learn HTML and CSS with W3Schools (Paperback)
Clear, basic reference book with links to online content.
Bought to teach my 9 year old son programming (although HTML & CSS is not programming it's a helpful introduction!) he can read it himself, and remind him of correct syntac of what he has already learnt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A waste of money and time, 10 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learn HTML and CSS with W3Schools (Paperback)
It is hard to express how disappointed I am in this book. It is a slender volume, and despite its title, I was hard pressed to find much useful information about css. Would that they had spent so much space on css as they have on deprecated parts of html; they spend page after page telling you how to do what they also suggest you don't do. Thus chapter 18 on fonts is a complete waste of time. It begins by telling you that the font tag is deprecated, then spends about 3 pages explaining it, before finishing by telling you why you shouldn't use it and should find out about css from another book they publish.

The latter section of the book is padded out with unecessary tables. The worst example is pp 215 &ff where they manage to squeeze all of 4 characters into a table line, but this is closely followed by pp 189 &ff where they manage to spin out a list of tags over three pages just to tell you whether they are available in strict, transitional or frameset, something they have already told you on pp 177 &ff using just one column.

If you want to write compliant html/css, do not buy this book, unless you can get it at a very cheap price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars HTML and CSS with W£schools, 27 Aug 2012
By 
Anthony Webb - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learn HTML and CSS with W3Schools (Paperback)
The book stinks! There is 1 chapter on CSS and at the end of that they suggest that you buy their learn CSS book. Having paid extra for what I thought was both books combined, which is what the title suggests, I now find that I should have bought their CSS book as well.
W3 also make it impossible to contact them on their website. You have to contact them through the forum which is almost impossible. It took me 6 attempts to get their CAPTCHA write. Once registered to use their forum you can not post anything until they have vetted your application.
I wanted to hear what they had to say about this book as I can't I've thrown it in the bin!Learn HTML and CSS with W3Schools
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars HTML, 18 Oct 2011
This review is from: Learn HTML and CSS with W3Schools (Paperback)
Excellent book full of examples and practice material.Very clear explanations of what to do and advice on what not to do. Allows you to go forward from a beginner into more advanced web design.
Could be a little more in the way of links to information on publishing your web site.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good tutorial book, 1 Oct 2011
This review is from: Learn HTML and CSS with W3Schools (Paperback)
I have created a web site for my school and wanted to develop it further. This book has given me the ability to understand the hand code I was using and create Cascading Style sheets to improve the site.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Learn HTML and CSS with W3Schools
Learn HTML and CSS with W3Schools by W3Schools (Paperback - 28 May 2010)
£15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews