Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but repetitive, good but repetitive, good but repetitive, good...
I loved this book.
It has some wonderful ideas and helps prove that you do not need to be a van Gough to accomplish effective visuals in meetings or the classroom.
My only complaint is that it does try to reinforce the same points again and again.
Published on 28 Jun 2012 by C. Buckingham

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK but...
Well I had high hopes for this book - I thought it was going to be a recipe book regarding meeting strategy. It has some useful insights - but not enough to justify the price. It seemed more aimed at visual artists wanting to capture the proceedings with some snazzy artwork than someone interested in facilitating a call to action. Shame.
Published 11 months ago by Gareth Gadd


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but repetitive, good but repetitive, good but repetitive, good..., 28 Jun 2012
By 
C. Buckingham "Christopher Buckingham" (Winchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visual Meetings: How Graphics, Sticky Notes and Idea Mapping Can Transform Group Productivity (Paperback)
I loved this book.
It has some wonderful ideas and helps prove that you do not need to be a van Gough to accomplish effective visuals in meetings or the classroom.
My only complaint is that it does try to reinforce the same points again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Practical Guide to how you can bring your work with groups to life, 21 Jun 2011
By 
P. Pullan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Visual Meetings: How Graphics, Sticky Notes and Idea Mapping Can Transform Group Productivity (Paperback)
I think that this book is fabulous.

Why? I was trained in David's methods and tools in 2001. Since then, I've used them with groups of all sizes from England, where I'm based, to New Zealand, the Middle East, Singapore, the USA and all over Europe. This stuff really works.

A visual meeting is quite a different experience from a normal meeting - it's shorter, more memorable, more participative, lots of fun and incredibly productive. Overall, in my experience, visual meetings are far more effective. This inspirational book covers a huge range of tools and methods.

Another review talks about this book being basic as 'it's a beginners guide to drawing'. Well, guess what? Visual meetings mean just that. Visuals. Graphics. Lines, shapes even people, all drawn to support the work of the group. Most people don't have the confidence to be able to draw large pictures or even lines (!) in public in front of groups. Yes, this means that being confident drawing lines, circles etc is important and needs practice. Without confidence, you won't be able to use the really cool stuff in the 99% of the book that isn't about basic drawing.

I would commend this book to everyone, from staff and managers in commercial organisations, to teachers in schools, to government agencies and NGOs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Permission to draw, 1 Nov 2012
This review is from: Visual Meetings: How Graphics, Sticky Notes and Idea Mapping Can Transform Group Productivity (Paperback)
Back in 1998 had the privilege to attend a training workshop by David Sibbet. I was highly sceptical about the concept sketching out ideas in serious business meetings, but since that training I've used visual techniques with dozens of clients and had quite extraordinary results. So, when I saw Visual Meetings in a book store I had to buy a copy.

You'll find this book useful if you're finding it hard to get agreement when it comes to problem solving, creative ideas and decisions. The author clearly explains the power of visualisation and using sketches for interaction - whether its on a napkin, flip chart or whiteboard. For those who think they can't draw (like you and me) he also explains how to pick up a pen and doodle your way into other people worlds. What a great way to create rapport and joint understanding.

You'll find some very good material in the book and if you approach it a bit like a workshop in print you will get a lot from it.

Unlike many business books this one gets the message across with plenty of graphics (as you might expect) and concise prose.

Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 2 Dec 2013
By 
Sm Cresswell "writerpsych" (England Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visual Meetings: How Graphics, Sticky Notes and Idea Mapping Can Transform Group Productivity (Paperback)
This book is packed with ideas about how to do graphic facilitation with lots of examples and templates. Having seen it in action ( not by me) and been really impressed by how it works I was keen to try to learn. There's not many books which tackle this but this book does and does it well. I'm now itching to get started and use these approaches in the meetings I attend. All you need is paper, pens and some simple ideas about how to represent ideas. This book gives you that help and confidence to have a go yourself. Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK but..., 18 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visual Meetings: How Graphics, Sticky Notes and Idea Mapping Can Transform Group Productivity (Paperback)
Well I had high hopes for this book - I thought it was going to be a recipe book regarding meeting strategy. It has some useful insights - but not enough to justify the price. It seemed more aimed at visual artists wanting to capture the proceedings with some snazzy artwork than someone interested in facilitating a call to action. Shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's actually one of the best books around on facilitation, 21 Sep 2013
By 
Andy Green "Andy Green creativity maven" (beautiful Barry Island) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visual Meetings: How Graphics, Sticky Notes and Idea Mapping Can Transform Group Productivity (Paperback)
On one level this book shares some great tips and guidance on using easy-to-apply tips to get even the most non-artist drawing.

On another level it is one of the best books you will find on how to facilitate meetings, people and ideas - and is truly an outstanding book from a seasoned, experienced practitioner who is open, candid and profound.

I was compelled to write this after seeing some of the other disparaging reviews posted here.

If you are serious about the business of creating and selling ideas, discovering insights and want to make the most of your potential and others - buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 26 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visual Meetings: How Graphics, Sticky Notes and Idea Mapping Can Transform Group Productivity (Paperback)
Lots of tools for better meetings, very visual and easily adaptable. Recommend to all facilitators and consultants who arrange workshops
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Visual Meetings David Sibbet, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visual Meetings: How Graphics, Sticky Notes and Idea Mapping Can Transform Group Productivity (Paperback)
Nicely mapped out and instructive book. A useful reference book for visual meetings. This guy has been there and done so you know he's talking in practical terms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Completely Awful, 19 Feb 2011
This review is from: Visual Meetings: How Graphics, Sticky Notes and Idea Mapping Can Transform Group Productivity (Paperback)
Possible the single worst book I've ever bought to help with my business. I though it would teach me some visual techniques to assist with fairly boring meetings but unfortunately it's a beginners guide to drawing. Here is a paraphrased quote from the book "tape a piece of paper on the wall and go through some one strokes on the paper...after a couple of excercises try again with your eyes closed. Combining them is when it begins to feel like music". Please, this is awful! Do something better and buy The Talent Code, or Bounce, or Resonate to improve things at work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Visual Meetings: How Graphics, Sticky Notes and Idea Mapping Can Transform Group Productivity (Paperback)
excellent product, excellent service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews