Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the better SharePoint 2010 books
Given the niche scope of the book, I'm guessing my rationale for purchasing is the same as everyone else's - so I can confirm that if you are looking for ways to make SharePoint 2010 look the way you want, then this book meets that requirement almost perfectly.

It does not tell you how to design things, for this you will need a designer (although it does stress...
Published on 5 Aug 2011 by B. Eaton

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Please rename this book
Please read the contents before you buy. I am used to the Wrox convention of Beginning... then Professional... (e.g. ASP.Net) but this book is aimed at ALL levels. The book is split into three with only the third being aimed at advanced customisation. I would not expect a book by Wrox entitled 'professional' to have a chapter on creating a publishing page in SharePoint...
Published on 26 Mar 2011 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the better SharePoint 2010 books, 5 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Professional SharePoint 2010 Branding and User Interface Design (Wrox Programmer to Programmer) (Paperback)
Given the niche scope of the book, I'm guessing my rationale for purchasing is the same as everyone else's - so I can confirm that if you are looking for ways to make SharePoint 2010 look the way you want, then this book meets that requirement almost perfectly.

It does not tell you how to design things, for this you will need a designer (although it does stress this point when it suggests that before you start developing a website you should do a Photoshop mockup). However it gives clear guidance on how to plan the design and taxonomy process, following on with step-by-step instructions on how to customise the default SharePoint pages to make it look the way you want. The downloadable code includes an example site that makes for an excellent reference point. It also includes little tidbits and snippets of useful information about how to configure the stranger default settings in SharePoint (e.g. mobile site redirection). It isn't a development book and only alludes to coding issues where they are appropriate to UX (e.g. using jQuery in the client object model), but it doesn't claim to be a development book. It's possibly the most comprehensive guide to SharePoint Designer 2010 I've seen to date, which alone makes it worth the price.

My only criticism (which is more my problem than the book's) is that it doesn't explain what the weird and wonderful tags in SharePoint .aspx pages are (although it does tell you which ones should be left alone). However it would be nice to know where else to find that information (as search engines don't yield much). Otherwise it does an excellent job of (in its own words) "telling you how to make SharePoint not look like SharePoint".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Valuable for IT specialists, 13 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Professional SharePoint 2010 Branding and User Interface Design (Wrox Programmer to Programmer) (Paperback)
As a programmer / developer, I have always had the branding side of web sites handed to me on a plate - it's not something that a regular .NET programmer would get their hands dirty on, unless it be creating ASP master pages. Even so, Sharepoint takes the master pages, and branding in general, to a more detailed level and there are certain aspects that anyone developing branding for Sharepoint needs to be aware of. For me, being thrown in at the deep end and having to create the branding for a company intranet for the first time, this book has been invaluable. Not being a hard core web designer - like the guys who rated this book low obviously are - this book had everything I needed to set up everything required for branding a Sharepoint 2010 site and helped avoid the pitfalls that can crop up - like accidentally disposing of a content place holder that is vital to Sharepoint displaying its pages!

In summary, if you are already used to web design in Sharepoint then this book is probably not for you. If you are a Sharepoint or .NET developer, coming into Sharepoint branding for the first time, this is a great book to make sure you get things right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great reference for any skill level, 6 Jan 2011
By 
Paul Perry "Semi-Pro Geek" (Milton Keynes, near Bletchley ;)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Professional SharePoint 2010 Branding and User Interface Design (Wrox Programmer to Programmer) (Paperback)
Firstly, I'd like to disagree with the reviewer who rated this book one-star, stating it didn't do what it says on the proverbial tin. This book does indeed cover everything it states it will, that is why there is a list of contents. Anyone "hoping" for things would be advised to check it out before purchase, that way you can avoid being disappointed. After all, would you buy a pair of shoes without checking they're your size?

I recently rebranded a publishing site for the first time ever for a demonstration at my place of work and, on the strength of it, the decision makers are now looking into using SharePoint 2010 for managing our intranet, as they were blown away by what it can be made to look like. I used this book to accomplish that, as well as the blogs of the authors, so that should be testament enough that it does indeed do what is needed in order to get someone of any skill level up and running with branding a SharePoint 2010 Site.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great when you're not sure where to start, 11 July 2012
This review is from: Professional SharePoint 2010 Branding and User Interface Design (Wrox Programmer to Programmer) (Paperback)
Having built and implemented a SharePoint environment as an architect, not a developer, (largely helped by this excellent book: Professional SharePoint 2010 Administration) I was asked to design a new look for the company Intranet portal in the absence of any other resource to take on the work. Whilst the default SharePoint look & feel is fine in most cases, our core landing pages (search, latest news etc) needed to be custom. This book as great to take someone with a little knowledge of web development through the customisation stages in a re-usable way, from simple design changes early on to more complicated overhauls. Without it, I would probably have managed to customise the site, but each page would have been specifically formatted, and many re-usable features would have been broken. It would also have been unsupportable by anyone else.

I agree with the other comment that the sections on jQuery and XSLT were too small, and it was a little frustrating that I didn't feel that I could make full use of those technologies, but by the time I had got that far I realised that my re-branding exercise was complete enough for a company Intranet (or even an external website) and that the rest was just bells, whistles and icing on the cake.

I also agree that it's not a book to tell you how to do good "User Interface Design" - that's more suited to proper design and "Human>Computer interaction" related media.

I would highly recommend this as a great place to start to understand the nuts & bolts of branding SharePoint for the experienced "SharePoint Site Owner" that wants to do more with SharePoint designer. If you're a developer looking to re-code everything in SharePoint it's a good place to start to understand the basics of how it's designed, but you'll be left looking for more detail at the end of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good reference book, 7 July 2011
By 
Jennifer Day (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Professional SharePoint 2010 Branding and User Interface Design (Wrox Programmer to Programmer) (Paperback)
As a developer, I bought this book to try and understand the branding side of SharePoint a little more. I found this book to be an interesting read and I like the way that the branding steps built on each other... I think this is a useful reference book, and I would certainly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Please rename this book, 26 Mar 2011
This review is from: Professional SharePoint 2010 Branding and User Interface Design (Wrox Programmer to Programmer) (Paperback)
Please read the contents before you buy. I am used to the Wrox convention of Beginning... then Professional... (e.g. ASP.Net) but this book is aimed at ALL levels. The book is split into three with only the third being aimed at advanced customisation. I would not expect a book by Wrox entitled 'professional' to have a chapter on creating a publishing page in SharePoint. While there are sections on jQuery and XSLT they are just not in depth enough. The book tries to be all things to all people but the first two sections are two basic for developers and the last section will just confuse ordinary SharePoint publishers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Does not do what it says on the tin., 14 Dec 2010
By 
Mark Baynes (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Professional SharePoint 2010 Branding and User Interface Design (Wrox Programmer to Programmer) (Paperback)
Oh dear. Yet another SharePoint geek book :( As a UX designer I was hoping this would provide me with a non-technical guide to SP 2010 branding and UX issues but to be honest it doesn't. Instead you get the usual CSS / XML / Microsoft SP peculiarities that you can get in any other SP book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews