Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars11
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£24.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 August 2012
This is a very good book for beginners. It provides a good solid basis that you can build on with other more specialised or more advanced books. The author does not hide or shy away from the fact that some aspects of the software warrant their own books as they are too detailed and I appreciate that.

The text is well-written and friendly, like Dummies books are and I would recommend this to other beginners.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2013
For those getting into Blender you will all ready be aware there is a steep learning curve ahead. I purchased this book based on others within the series such as Sketchup for Dummies.k reference
Although the author covers all the information you would require I found it hard going to read and take in, however used for quick reference the book is well laid out and concise.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2015
Ok so I'm undertaking a complex 3d design and animation project and had been using Google sketchup which unfortunately had it's limitations. Having seen the animation called Sintel I realised what Blender could achieve. The really good news is that Blender is totally free because it's open source software, the bad news is that it's really very complicated to use and your not going to learn it via playing around with it for a few hours a day. This book is useful as a technical reference as in it tells you what you can do and how to do it. But it doesn't show how to do it. It lacks video tutorials. There is a cd with it but it only contains some software which other Blender users use in conjunction with blender. This book does have some screen shot's of Blender but the image quality is far from good and I find having to use a magnifying glass to view them. This book is useful but only as a tech ref and that's about it. My best advice would be to maybe use these and other books as a technical reference. If as an example you want to box model a head there is an example of this on page 93 which shows two head meshes, one box and one point to point with a brief description of each. There is however no information or detail on how both the meshes were achieved. So if you want to to box or point to point for a head mesh this book won't help.

Apparently there are more than a million people using Blender at this time some of whom are professionals working in animation studios while others are no more than amateurs doing it as a hobby. But what they all have in common is that at some point in the past their knowledge of 3d was zero, thus they had to start from somewhere. I paid about £17 for this book and still haven't decided if it's value for money. All I have learnt so far is how to do selections, box, circle and loop, Knife cut's to add edges and using dope sheets. Contrary to popular belief dope sheets are nothing to do with drugs, apparently they are part of the animation process and in some way control the animation process. Exactly how I have yet to find out lol.

If you want to model and animate stick man then fine, but if you don't then this book isn't much help. Best advice is if you seriously want to learn how to use Blender then maximise the resources available to you and ultimately it boils down to practice, practice and more practice until you get it right.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2016
Imagine taking a long train journey and being seated next to a guy, who upon asking you if you like trains, and you responding yes, proceeds to regale you with every minutia of railway operating procedure without ever once mentioning a train, for hours on end. If you can picture that you can picture this book.

100 pages of gushing praise for the interface design before you get to even the most basic modeling tasks, none of which sticks because you've put it to zero practical use despite sitting with the software for several of hours. There are video tutorials out there that will have you modeling within 10 minutes, I suggest you go find those instead. I understand the guy who wrote this is considered a bit of a bender guru, but this honestly reads more like an epic love poem than an instructional text.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2015
The author takes the time to explain why things are the way they are. This makes the subject both understandable and more memorable. This is my first "for dummies" read and so far I am impressed (I am not finished yet). This is certainly a piece of software which needs explanation and this book makes for a great introduction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
Software was included with book which was very handy.

I brought this book because I thought it would be easy to understand it would seem Dummies are way smarter then me:(
This book was not for me.

Will try and sell it on.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2014
Excellent guide to blender
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2014
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2014
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)