Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent reference for begginers and intermediate
This book is very easy to read.
The chapters are very well arranged and cover the subjects in a sequential manner.
It starts with plain HTML formatting and later on introduces CSS, after we are familiar with the HTML tags. This arrangement allows to learn easily to build your pages without complicating from the very beggining. If you are familiar with HTML you...
Published on 25 Oct. 2004 by Antonio Oliveira

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointing
This book is OK, but it really spreads itself too thin. I have tried and failed to find the information I need in it more times than I can remember.
Maybe it's ok if you're just starting out and you need a reference, but even then you might want to look at other options first.
Published on 11 Mar. 2005 by K. Whitbread


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointing, 11 Mar. 2005
This book is OK, but it really spreads itself too thin. I have tried and failed to find the information I need in it more times than I can remember.
Maybe it's ok if you're just starting out and you need a reference, but even then you might want to look at other options first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent reference for begginers and intermediate, 25 Oct. 2004
By 
Antonio Oliveira "tomane23" (Aveiro, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is very easy to read.
The chapters are very well arranged and cover the subjects in a sequential manner.
It starts with plain HTML formatting and later on introduces CSS, after we are familiar with the HTML tags. This arrangement allows to learn easily to build your pages without complicating from the very beggining. If you are familiar with HTML you can just skip a few chapters but I recomed reading them anyway, because there is always something usefull to learn from them.
It's an excellent companoin book to have near the computer when writing HTML or even dynamic pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not enough XHTML, too much deprecated HTML, 14 Mar. 2005
I bought this book hoping that it would teach me to build a correct XHTML web site. I must say that I'm very pleased with it but probably for the wrong reasons. It does focus on XHTML but not as much as one would expect. Being XHTML the current version of HTML it is incredible the amount of text dedicated to cover HTML 4. Although the autor's point out once or twice that this or that procedure is not correct anymore, they keep insisting on using those deprecated methods on many of the examples troughout the book. On the other hand the book covers so many subjects that are helpfull even if they only scratch the surface. Usability, Accessibility, XML and and other essential subjects are addressed in a way that is very easy to understand and gives you a start on those subjects.
Good if you are a novice web developer, not very helpfull if you already know the basics and want to learn Strict XHTML.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for those with a basic but limited knowledge of HTML, 30 Dec. 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book to update my rather basic knowledge of website development to the latest standards and to acquire insight into the more formal aspects of HTML and CSS. This book was to help me in an ambitious, forthcoming update for my photography portfolio website, [...]
The book delivered everything I had hoped for. I read it front to back in (nearly) one go, scanning the parts that were already familiar and reading carefully some of the more advanced techniques. The book is extremely well laid out and follows a logical path of progression, so it is easy to pick only the topics that you need. I would recommend reading the whole book anyway - there is something useful and new in every chapter.
I am not entirely sure that it is ideally suited to those with absolutely no previous HTML knowledge. However, for people with a basic, limited knowledge of HTML it is an invaluable guide to extending and updating that expertise. You also want to keep it by your desk as a useful reference.
Wolf
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK as a reference, not for complete beginners., 26 Jan. 2005
By 
Amazon Customer (Broadstone, Dorset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have a bit of experiencing writing Web pages but wanted to learn how to progress in a more structured way, taking in CSS.
I bought this book and started reading from the beginning. Boy, is it repetitive. It made me wonder whether the author had been paid per word. I read the first two chapters and decided that was enough. Thankfully, Amazon runs a great returns policy.
In summary, as a reference book for dipping into on an ad-hoc basis, it may work well for you. If you want a book to read from the beginning to gain a better understanding of HTML etc. then my suggestion is that you try something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Explain, 18 Feb. 2005
By 
This is one of the best books i've ever read. It explains everything very well, with simple words, even if you don't understand (yet) very much of the subject. The topics covered are just what you need to know, and every single detail of html, xhtml and css are covered, nothing will miss you !
Nice book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad., 26 Oct. 2011
This review is from: HTML, XHTML, and CSS Bible (Paperback)
A pretty good book, but not perfect. There are a few repetitions throughout the chapters. The main issue I found with the book is that it doesn't concentrate as much on the CSS layout formatting as I would like. But overall just like the name says, it is a HTML and CSS bible, so pretty much everything you'll need is there...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 3 Jan. 2005
If you are looking to learn XHTML and CSS (you will need CSS if you are to learn XHTML) this book is exactly what you should buy, it is brilliant in every way, very long though. It touches alot of other web design things, like server side scripting, java script and much more.
Although I would recomend buying "Sams Teach Your Self HTML and XHTML in 24 Hours" first then reading this, the Sams book is a very good introduction to web design and teaches you XHTML/HTML very well if you are just starting off. This book goes more indepth with XHTML/HTML, then teaches you CSS and then basicly gives you a breif glipise at about every other thing you need to know about web design.
Go buy this book, NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars life saver, 27 April 2013
By 
S. Ward "steve" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTML, XHTML, and CSS Bible (Paperback)
this book has come in very useful and a quick reference for me, whilst doing my degree.
easy to use and follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 30 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HTML, XHTML, and CSS Bible (Paperback)
great book with lots of references in it is just a shame that as with all code alot of it will become outdated
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

HTML, XHTML, and CSS Bible
HTML, XHTML, and CSS Bible by Steven M. Schafer (Paperback - 22 Jan. 2010)
£26.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews