Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Canon EOS 7D Digital Field Guide
This book covers the controls and operation of the EOS 7D in detail. All photos are in colour, the print is much larger and clearer than the Canon manual due to the larger size of the volume. Additional information and suggestions give helpful information to the user. There are several areas where you will find more detailed information than was possible in the Canon...
Published on 15 Feb 2010 by M. G. Wallis

versus
23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best book for the 7D, IMHO
I found this book a little dry to read. These manuals are never going to be exciting, but this was a little slow, and I found myself skipping over chapters. It's been said before, it's like an extension to the owners manual.
Some of the illustrations are very good, but there are errors with indexing and content.
I am now reading the "Dummy's Guide" to 7D, and...
Published on 16 April 2010 by R. Farthing


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Canon EOS 7D Digital Field Guide, 15 Feb 2010
By 
M. G. Wallis (East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Canon EOS 7D Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
This book covers the controls and operation of the EOS 7D in detail. All photos are in colour, the print is much larger and clearer than the Canon manual due to the larger size of the volume. Additional information and suggestions give helpful information to the user. There are several areas where you will find more detailed information than was possible in the Canon manual which, is itself excellent.

It is not necessary to read the book straight through as you may use it section be section as needed. Overall, very helpful as it expands on many of the things in the manual provided with the camers.Canon EOS 7D Digital Field Guide
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best book for the 7D, IMHO, 16 April 2010
By 
R. Farthing (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Canon EOS 7D Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
I found this book a little dry to read. These manuals are never going to be exciting, but this was a little slow, and I found myself skipping over chapters. It's been said before, it's like an extension to the owners manual.
Some of the illustrations are very good, but there are errors with indexing and content.
I am now reading the "Dummy's Guide" to 7D, and I've found this much better, it even injects a bit of humour in every now and again, it's something you'd WANT to read, rather than it being a chore.
The colour and grey cards at the back could be useful.
So, in conclusion, not a bad book, but there are better.
Bob.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Canon EOS7D field guide - or textbook?, 23 Feb 2010
This review is from: Canon EOS 7D Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
This is very nice book. It goes through the many options of 7D in detail and explains where and why to use those.
This is something that almost replaces the manual. Some may regard this as drawback because - sure - many of the features are described in the manual. But here they are also explained in their functional context.
The only point that I a bit wonder: in which sense this is field guide? For me it is more textbook but I do not complain. I was searching just this kind of book.

I also liked the parts describing some photographing techniques (nature, portrait...etc). Also the reasoning behind RAW captures is well explained and gives the first steps to study this interesting area further.

All in all, I do not regret the money spent on this book. It was clearly worth it. The book was enjoyable to read and clearly gave me a handful of useful tips that I can use (and have already used).

Jukka Henriksson
(The writer has amateur experience on film SLRs from 1973 and has had several digital compacts since 2002. Canon EOS 7D is his first digital SLR.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It came I read I conqured, 23 April 2010
By 
Carl Holmberg - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Canon EOS 7D Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
Canon EOS 7D Digital Field Guide

This book does exactly what it says on the cover, it guides you through the many facets of the Canon 7D in a manner that reflects the professionalism of the author. It covers each feature of the camera, simply, clearly and precisely, which makes learning a joy. I use this book in conjunction with the Magic Lantern Guide for the Canon EOS 7D and Canon's own camera manual, for a clearer and more in depth understanding of my 7D. The use of these books have made a complex camera easy to handle and has enabled me to get the best from what it has to offer. Well done Charlotte.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good guide on how to setup your 7d, 24 Mar 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon EOS 7D Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
This book gives you similar information to the manual but in a much easier to read format. There is extra though with the authors own views on how to use certain features and get the best from the camera. The 7D is my first Canon DSLR and I have found this book very useful in getting to know it. If I had had a pro-sumer Canon before the manual would probably have done. It is a bit big for the camera bag, so more a home guide than a field guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 9 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon EOS 7D Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
This is very similar to the manual but it is much easier
to read and is much better bound. The manual is a pretty flimsy
affair, This book contains some helpful tips on when to use
particular options and gives good guidance on sensible default settings
on the myriad options

I carry this rather than the manual even though it is fair bit heavier

All in all, it is a bit like buying the manual Canon should have provided for free
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Portable and succinct, 21 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon EOS 7D Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
Lowrie's book is a solid alternative to the official manual. It's not small but it's compact enough to stick in a backpack or decent-sized camera bag so that it's there when you need it. The layout is clear and the basics are easy to find and follow. I've found it a good companion to David Busch's (much larger and more detailed) Canon EOS 7D Guide.
It's not the most entertaining book in the world, and on occasion it feels a bit much like a compilation of lists and tables, but it's easier to follow than the manual and I'm generally glad to have it with me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well described, 1 Mar 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon EOS 7D Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
Excellent throughout with everything covered in plain English and in enough detail to be of use to the beginner and the enthusiast. Well explained and helpful advice given. Great little guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Canon 7D Field Guide, 21 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon EOS 7D Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
Well written and presented making it a pleasure to use. Takes you right through the 7D capabilities from the basics to the more advanced techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars EOS 7D Field Guide, 27 Nov 2010
By 
Tolkeinesque "orion" (Buckinghamshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Canon EOS 7D Digital Field Guide (Paperback)
A well-written book by an author who obviously knows the subject well. If you are just starting out with the 7D, then I would recommend this guide in addition to the supplied handbook. The guide on its own does not cover everything, for example, the use of IR remotes. However, it is interesting and informative and useful to dip in and out of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Canon EOS 7D Digital Field Guide
Canon EOS 7D Digital Field Guide by Charlotte K. Lowrie (Paperback - 18 Dec 2009)
Used & New from: £13.26
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews