Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars11
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£33.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 January 2009
Stephen King's contribution to both the theory and the practice of Brand Management has been immense - some (I would certainly include myself here) would claim that he was THE most important thinker and practitioner during the 1970s and 1980s. When we set up the Planning Department at Guinness in the early 1980s we did so very much as a reflection of Stephen's ideas. This proved to be a very wise decision that helped the company become the darling of the Stock market.

This book includes all of Stephen's most influential writings, each accompanied by a useful commentary from one of the 21st century's marketing and branding experts. It is difficult to choose the most important articles (they are all not only full of Stephen's clear thinking but also written in his down-to-earth, lucid style) but 'What is a Brand?', 'The Anatomy of Account Planning' and 'Can Research Evaluate the Creative Content of Advertising?' are all 'great reads' and have been particularly influential.

The book has been very intelligently edited by two highly experienced branding practitioners assisted by another highly respected marketing thinker (and colleague of Stephen's), Jeremy Bullmore, Their respect and admiration for Stephen are very clear. As an antidote to much of the New Age nonsense that is now being published under the 'Insight' banner this is a mandatory read.

I have now added it to the 'must read' section of the references that I give to my students.

Terry Hanby
University of Cambridge
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2008
Anyone engaged on the business of brand marketing should buy this book and dip into it from time to time. It's like a conscience or voice of reason in the increasingly silly world of brand marketing. Although some of the papers are probably older than the brand teams you may work with they still have an astonishing relevance for today.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2008
This book is brilliant for all sorts of reasons. Firstly, Stephen King is a legend and it is worth reminding ourselves why. Second, while the marketing arena has changed a great deal over the years the basic rules of brand planning have not. As one who has spent 30 years in the business it reminded me of much that I had learnt and more importantly, much that I had forgotten. I enjoyed the book enormously but the real compliment to Ms' Lannon and Baskin is that I have kept my copy (because I'd never get it back) and bought a second for my son, just 22 and just embarking on a career in brand marketing.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2008
Anyone engaged in or connected with the black arts of account planning should read this book. It will bring refreshing clarity to the increasingly confused world that account planners and brand marketers face. The fact that it is now 40 years since Stephen King formerly established account planning account planing shouldn't put you off; 90% of King's thinking and processes are as relevant today. I dip into this book at least weekly, informing and inspiring me in equal measure
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2008
It's impossible to over-rate Stephen King's contribution to our understanding of brands and branding. If you've ever despaired of the marketing world's fondness for jargon and pretension, read this book and breathe a sigh of relief at its wisdom, insight and down to earth practicality. You can't call yourself an account planner, a brand planner and or marketing manager unless you've read it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2015
Timeless. An essential starting point for anyone that is in the business of brands and marketing. King has helped engineer how we think today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2008
For anyone interested in brand planning, there are two good reasons to read and refer to this book.
First, for an invaluable treasure chest of insightful thoughts about brands; Stephen King's simple, inspired approaches, radical and innovatory back in the 1970's still resonate with and simplify the problems facing brand planners today. The second,is the benefit of a perspective on how consumers, retailers, brands, communication and research practice have changed over the ensuing decades.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2008
This book's perfect for anyone who wasn't lucky enough to work at JWT and experience Stephen King's brilliance first-hand.It showcases the originality and clarity of his thinking about brands, how advertising works and how to create advertising strategy - and deftly demonstrates how everything still applies, even though the ads themselves, and our means of communication may have changed. No obfuscating jargon, no pretension, just brilliant thinking that inspires.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2008
This book is essential reading for everyone whose job takes them anywhere near understanding how brands communicate. It reminds us of many of the basic truths of communication that are as valid now as they have ever been, but are in danger of being lost in today's fascination with the medium and the delivery over the content and the message. Buy it now!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2008
This book contains a lot of worthy ideas from the master King that althought come from past these can help you to understand the present and the future of planning and comunications research
The Review of each chapter gives you a powerful update thinking over the original paper.
A must
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)