Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great mainstream book about new marketing
This excellent book is aimed at the 99% of the business world who are faintly befuddled by the strange world of youtube and delicious that they find themselves living in. It's aimed at plumbers, hairdressers, lawyers and oil company executives; at people in large corporations and small businesses alike who are dimly aware that their working lives are about to change -...
Published on 9 Nov 2009 by Neil Davidson

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars okay....
Okay - but nothing any of the other marketing books don't touch upon and nothing you can't find out on the internet.

www.journeysthroughmeadows.com
Published 13 days ago by Lucie Elizabeth


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great mainstream book about new marketing, 9 Nov 2009
By 
Neil Davidson (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inbound Marketing: Get Found Using Google, Social Media and Blogs (New Rules Social Media Series) (Hardcover)
This excellent book is aimed at the 99% of the business world who are faintly befuddled by the strange world of youtube and delicious that they find themselves living in. It's aimed at plumbers, hairdressers, lawyers and oil company executives; at people in large corporations and small businesses alike who are dimly aware that their working lives are about to change - indeed, have already started to change in disconcerting ways - and who don't know what to do.

The premise of the book is that the old marketing is dead or dying. Gone are the days where simply throwing money at print or radio advertising guaranteed succees. Instead, you need to engage your customers. Give them reasons to come to visit your web site, and once they are there give them reasons to come back again and again. Turn your web site into a hub, stuffed with remarkable blog posts, videos and interviews. As the authors put it (they have a pleasing way with words) "ten years ago, your marketing effectiveness was a function of the width of your wallet. Today, your marketing effectiveness is a function of the width of your brain."

"Inbound marketing" is clearly - and explicitly - inspired by authors such as Seth Godin and David Meerman Scott. But where this book differs is in its emphasis on hands-on advice. Not only is it inspirational, but it's also brimming with practical wisdom. Sure, it talks about the power of Twitter. But then it gives you advice on how to choose a twitter handle. Sure, it talks about the rise of the superstar blogger and the death of the press release. But then it talks about how to decide whether you need a PR agency and, if you do, then how you should hire one. Sure, it stresses that your employees will need to learn new skills if they are to survive in this new world. But then it talks about what those skills are, what steps your employees need to take to get them and how you can track how they're doing. Each chapter contains a checklist of things you should do, right now, to start improving your inbound marketing.

This is no dry textbook. It's full of anecdotes, some from the usual suspects (Whole Foods, Zappos and Barack Obama) but from others too: accounting software, a shutter manufacturer and a PR firm among others. It's well written, and there are cartoons too.

Inbound marketing - get found using Google, social media and blogs is an excellent, mainstream introduction to new marketing. If you want to dip your toes into the cold water of social media then buy a copy. If you know all about social media then you almost certainly know people who need this book. Buy them a copy from Amazon. They'll love you for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A remarkable book on marketing, 27 Nov 2009
By 
M. Stephens (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Inbound Marketing: Get Found Using Google, Social Media and Blogs (New Rules Social Media Series) (Hardcover)
Inbound marketing argues that the way to get attention is to produce great content and it certainly practises what it preaches. It is not a book about theories by some acadamics trying to push a new theory - its actually a candidly honest guide to the new marketing rules created by the internet from two guys with a great deal of experience who share their knowledge in a very honest book. I particularly liked their honesty about the pros and cons of various social media tools - you could almost sense their exasperation at trying to get content onto the front page of digg only to see it fail. And I laughed at the brutal honesty at times - don't worry about what you put in your tweets at the a start because nobody is going to be reading them at this point....

If you are looking for a book that will allow you to turn your business or idea into the next Internet sensation in 7 days you are not going to find it. But if you accept that it will require sustained effort, and want a book which explains how to market better on the internet (and the examples quoted range from Amex to one-person shops), is full of good advice and gives you a clear path to develop your marketing using the new rules of marketing, this is the book to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST guide to twitter, facebook, linkedin etc. for business use, 21 May 2010
By 
D. J. Oxley (Fort William, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Inbound Marketing: Get Found Using Google, Social Media and Blogs (New Rules Social Media Series) (Hardcover)
If you've heard about Facebook, youtube and all the other forms of social networking, but didn't think they were much use for business, then this is the book to change your mind. Written with bitesize chapters and a very readable style, this book gives you a how to do it approach. Was given the book as part of a business course and have been recommending it such much to friends, family and anyone who'll listen - I wish I was on some commission!

A geek free guide to using the internet to drive more customers to your business - and if you haven't got a customer then you haven't got a business
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inbound Marketing for Further Education, 29 Feb 2012
This review is from: Inbound Marketing: Get Found Using Google, Social Media and Blogs (New Rules Social Media Series) (Hardcover)
Having spent 10 years working with Further Education Colleges using tired old (and sometimes unwelcome) outbound marketing methods I have found this book to be an invaluable tool in understanding how and why shifts in sales & marketing have taken place to make traditional methods ineffective. This book goes on to show how to apply inbound marketing techniques that will allow you to engage with your partners, clients & community in a fun, engaging and much more meaningful way.

It is worth mentioning that these methods are equally applicable to educators who are looking to attract new students.

This book is a must-have practical guide to anyone working in sales & marketing today, a brilliant book!! I would also recommend subscribing to Hubspot's You Tube Channel to see some great clips of inbound vs outbound marketing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent "NEW" Marketing Concepts, 4 Jan 2011
This review is from: Inbound Marketing: Get Found Using Google, Social Media and Blogs (New Rules Social Media Series) (Hardcover)
This book tells you all about the new way to market your business on the web, using google, linkedin, twitter etc.

I would reccomend this book to anyone looking to change the way their company markets themselves.

My only downside which is mentioned in another review is the poor quality of the paper used and I would also have preferred a softback.

You will not regret buying this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for amateurs, 20 Nov 2010
This review is from: Inbound Marketing: Get Found Using Google, Social Media and Blogs (New Rules Social Media Series) (Hardcover)
Great book. Everything explained in plain words, very easy to follow. I strongly recommend it for those who are beginning their path in social media matters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful for general overview, 27 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inbound Marketing: Get Found Using Google, Social Media and Blogs (New Rules Social Media Series) (Hardcover)
I found this book very easy to read. It gives enough information to get across all the main points, but not so much as to overwhelm or get boring. I am a web designer with experience in SEO but felt I was not up to speed on social media. One of the less positive reviews on this site suggested that the authors were publicising their own site too much but I only recall them mentioning it a handful of times - not excessive in my view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Demystifies using blogging and social media for business, 20 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Inbound Marketing: Get Found Using Google, Social Media and Blogs (New Rules Social Media Series) (Hardcover)
If you run a business and you've heard of blogging and social media but you don't really think it applies to you, think again!

Buy this book today, right now, and your view will be totally transformed. In fact you really can't afford not to read it. As business owners we're always trying to entice new customers to buy our products/services and this book gives pages and pages of tips and techniques on how to do that online without spending a fortune on marketing and advertising. And it does so using language anyone can understand - you can do most of the action steps yourself, you don't even need a techie.

The way people buy from us has changed. This book explains how customers want to interact with businesses, what they're looking for and how you can capitalise on it. It puts all aspects of inbound marketing together and gives you clear strategies and 'to do' steps so you can get started right away.

Above all this is just a very interesting and easy read, I'm an SEO consultant and I learnt plenty of stuff from the book. In fact I've implemented some of the recommendations on my own websites and am already seeing the benefits of them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent guide to marketing online, 18 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inbound Marketing: Get Found Using Google, Social Media and Blogs (New Rules Social Media Series) (Hardcover)
There are four parts to this book, which are entitled:

`Inbound Marketing'
`Get Found by Prospects'
`Converting Customers'
`Make Better Decisions'

Part One defines what Inbound Marketing is and explains why all marketing should make the transition. It sets the scene by looking back at how people's buying habits have changed. There are 3 opening chapters: Shopping has Changed ... Has Your Marketing?; Is Your Web Site a Marketing Hub? and Are You Worthy?

Part Two has 4 packed chapters: Create Remarkable Content, Get Found in the Blogosphere, Getting Found in Google, and Get Found in Social Media. Although the book was published in 2010 and the internet is constantly evolving, the principles in these chapters still hold true and give valuable suggestions to be found by prospects.

In Part Three, there are 3 chapters: Convert Visitors into Leads; Convert Prospects into Leads, and Convert Leads to Customers which is where all the getting found tactics from Part Two are turned into results. There are ample screenshots and diagrams to demonstrate each stage.

Part Four contains 6 final strategy chapters: Make Better Marketing Decisions; Picking and Measuring Your People; Picking and Measuring a PR Agency; Watching Your Competition; On Commitment, Patience and Learning: and Why Now? Perhaps more relevant to larger companies, there are still lessons for the small business owner.

Each of the 15 main chapters contains a case study and ends with a useful suggested To-Do List and space to add your own actions too.

Although there are several self-promoting references to the authors' company, they do not detract from the valuable how-to information which all marketers can apply right away.

The chapters follow a logical path, enabling the reader to put each of the lessons into action (using the To-Do list) before moving on to the next. This format makes the book a useful guide or workbook too. I wish it had been around 5 years earlier as it would have considerably shortened the time it's taken me to put all the pieces together by myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable Handbook to New Marketing on the Internet, 5 Feb 2011
By 
Nicholas J. R. Dougan "Nick Dougan" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inbound Marketing: Get Found Using Google, Social Media and Blogs (New Rules Social Media Series) (Hardcover)
I bought this book when a client told me he had ordered it and I knew that it would be important to be able to sing off the same sheet. I'm not a techie, but having read several books and attended a number of seminars and webinars on these matters, I wasn't expecting to learn a lot new. How wrong I was! This is a brilliant book of combining new media to optimise your website and use Google, social media and other sites to support it.

Halligan and Shah start by reminding us all just how much marketing has changed - broadcast techniques are much less effective, the internet is the first port of call for most people looking for something new, etc. This is becoming something of a commonplace now - see Barnaby Winter's The Brand Bucket: Make Your Marketing Work- although personally I find that many print and broadcast media are still pretty effective - even if their call to action is primarily to attract traffic to your website. They go on to ask "Is your web site a marketing hub?", and advise readers not to worry too much about what the site looks like, but rather to ask whether you have remarkable content (a term borrowed from Seth Godin Linchpin: Are You Indispensable? How to Drive Your Career and Create a Remarkable Future), to encourage people to interact with it.

They then outline elements of the strategies that you need to apply if Google is to rank you highly and if you are going to achieve a first page organic ranking on Google or on other search engines. That starts with regular, remarkable blogging, Search Engine Optimisation (SEO), using RSS feeds, moving on to Social media including Facebook, LinkedIn (is LinkedIn really just a social media?), YouTube and Twitter. I also learned about those sites/icons that I have hitherto ignored - Digg, Reddit, Delicious and StumbleUpon and how they might fit into an overall strategy.

Part 3 of the book moves into converting customers - and we are mainly back to your website, and how you get visitors to become leads, by responding to a call to action, introducing the acronym VEPA. The authors discuss what makes a good landing page and the benefits of forms and setting up an auto-responder. They then move to strategies for converting leads into customers. Throughout they stress the importance of using the web's excellent tools for tracking and metrics.

In the final part of the book, "Make better marketing decisions", Halligan and Shah discuss metrics further, the recruitment of inbound marketers - make sure that they are DARC: Digital Citizens, are Analytical, have web Reach and are Content Creators - talk about PR in the digital age and how you use web tools to follow what your competitors are up to.

In the final appendix, called "Tips from the trenches for start-ups" they summarise 26 actions that they recommend you do within the first couple of weeks - most of which would apply equally to an existing company as they do to a new company or project, effectively summarising the advice given in the book.

Any book written about this sector dates very quickly because Google, Facebook, Twitter (and probably all the rest) change things frequently. Halligan and Shah avoid this to an extent by focussing on the strategic level. The tell you what you're trying to achieve by writing a blog, or setting up a Facebook page, but they don't focus on the minutiae of how you do it - which is the bit that changes most often. So they're assuming that most people who are reading the book will be able to figure that bit out for themselves - and I think that that's probably right. If you are a complete beginner, it's probably better to find a local expert to show you how rather than to buy a book, in any case. The authors do promote their own sites - like website (dot)grade which leads to HubSpot (dot)com but personally I see that as great extra resource given away with the book - you can get a great deal of value without paying an additional pound or dollar - and they have an abundant attitude to referencing others who are active in the space.

I do have a couple of quibbles. I love the fact that it's printed on matt paper -all the better to scribble notes - but if you are going to go to the expense of hard-binding a book, I'd be prepared to pay a quid more for paper of higher quality, where you can't see the letters printed on the other side and which don't feel as if they'll disintegrate inside ten years. With regard to substantive content, I do wonder about the extent to which the DARC employee really exists. Whether online or off, certain psychological attributes are hard to combine. The analytical aspects of the DARC candidate may be opposed to the creative facets of the "content creator", and the personal interactivity required to create "web reach". As in the offline world, a team of people, each with complementary personalities, may be what you really need. And this may be pretty esoteric and perhaps this is one of those drawings that you can see two ways, but the "star trek" image on the front cover gave me the impression of something being blasted out, and therefore seemed redolent of old fashioned broadcast marketing rather than conveying the ides of "inbound".

So, if you want to get more business from the world wide web, you should read this book. I've started to change what I'm doing having read this book. If there is a better book covering this subject matter in such an integrated way, please use "comment" to tell me about it. It might well be the second edition of this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews