Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars An adequate Exposition
This is an excellent - very comprehensive and very easy to understand. It certainly expensive for what it provides. A good buy!
Published 14 months ago by Mr. Ian T. Allen

versus
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utter rubbish
Purchased this on the strength of the aforementioned review. This book is awful. No examples. No walkthroughs. If you're new to Access then this is definitely not the book for you. I just wanted quick snappy instructions that were well listed. I did not want to have to trawl through endless waffling paragraphs but the authors clearly love their own voices. This book is...
Published on 2 Mar 2011 by Edward


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utter rubbish, 2 Mar 2011
This review is from: Access 2010 For Dummies (Paperback)
Purchased this on the strength of the aforementioned review. This book is awful. No examples. No walkthroughs. If you're new to Access then this is definitely not the book for you. I just wanted quick snappy instructions that were well listed. I did not want to have to trawl through endless waffling paragraphs but the authors clearly love their own voices. This book is chock full of tripe that is difficult to read on account of it being sooooo boring. Examples. Examples. EXAMPLES. Instructions. INSTRUCTIONS. NONE of which are in this book. Honestly I would find it difficult to find something more boring and less informative to read, it's like being slowly beaten to death with tedium hammers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I should have listned, 19 Mar 2012
I thoroughly regret purchasing this item even after i read the poor reviews, i figured it couldn't be that bad after all i have zero experience with Access. Its the fact that it is basically a book explaining the Wizards that makes it a waste of space, last time I checked that is what the Help button is for.

Glad that Google is amazing and got me the info i needed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useless book, 9 Jan 2012
This review is from: Access 2010 For Dummies (Paperback)
This book is absolutely useless. Adds absolutely no value to the help menu already in Access. What a waste of space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One happy Dummy, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Access 2010 For Dummies (Paperback)
It's a book for Dummies. The whole range of Dummies books do what they say generally, they guide us dummies through the product to a reasonable level. Maybe not for the top flight users, but how many of those are there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An adequate Exposition, 9 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Access 2010 For Dummies (Paperback)
This is an excellent - very comprehensive and very easy to understand. It certainly expensive for what it provides. A good buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I recommend this., 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Access 2010 For Dummies (Paperback)
Quite good, and in places amusing. For a complete beginner, however, there seem to be some gaps, and when I had a problem it was difficult to find tips on resolving it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of money, 14 April 2013
This review is from: Access 2010 For Dummies (Paperback)
I needed to learn Access pretty quick smart and bought the Kindle version. What a waste of money, I was expecting to fast track to info I wanted and to help me but to follow step by step in places where needed. However, instead I got this book which has 400 pages of waffle that is almost impossible to follow. Pictures on kindle are a total waste of space. This book is the perfect antidote to insomnia and certinly was of no help to a Access dummy like me. I learned more for free from youtube
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simple and quick to use, 8 Jan 2012
This review is from: Access 2010 For Dummies (Paperback)
Much faster to get to the answer than the more advanced books. As access is such a vast program, the dummies book cannot provide an in-depth answer for every functionality, but there's plenty enough to get started and to build a simple, working database.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Access 2010 for Dummies, 20 July 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Access 2010 For Dummies (Paperback)
This book was purchased as a help to understanding the menu changes between older versions of the product.
In the main the book is helpful but as with all these "help" books it is necessary to have some knowledge of the product to enable the examples to be put into the environment you are working on.
Microsoft have attempted to improve the GUI interface, if you liked the old interface this book will help you create your own menu's for ease of use
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Access 2010 for Dummies, 9 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Access 2010 For Dummies (Paperback)
I have been a Dummies fan since the good old days of DOS and the manuals that they produce have never ceased to provide a basic insight into the use of the software which is featured, of course you have to accept the twist of humour that is involved in the prose, but that has never been a problem for me. If of course the software is something that you require a deeper knowledge of then this is purely a get you going with the basics type of book, that will have you getting the software to do what it is meant to do and giving you results, however if this is not enough then you will need to turn to one of the more specialised titles, of which there are a number available. For a beginner with any piece of software, if you can find a Dummies book that covers it, I can think of no better way to make a productive start and would therefore recommend the book to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Access 2010 For Dummies
Access 2010 For Dummies by Ken Cook (Paperback - 28 May 2010)
£12.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews