Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars12
3.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£15.58+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 March 2012
I thoroughly regret purchasing this item even after i read the poor reviews, i figured it couldn't be that bad after all i have zero experience with Access. Its the fact that it is basically a book explaining the Wizards that makes it a waste of space, last time I checked that is what the Help button is for.

Glad that Google is amazing and got me the info i needed
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2011
Purchased this on the strength of the aforementioned review. This book is awful. No examples. No walkthroughs. If you're new to Access then this is definitely not the book for you. I just wanted quick snappy instructions that were well listed. I did not want to have to trawl through endless waffling paragraphs but the authors clearly love their own voices. This book is chock full of tripe that is difficult to read on account of it being sooooo boring. Examples. Examples. EXAMPLES. Instructions. INSTRUCTIONS. NONE of which are in this book. Honestly I would find it difficult to find something more boring and less informative to read, it's like being slowly beaten to death with tedium hammers.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2012
This book is absolutely useless. Adds absolutely no value to the help menu already in Access. What a waste of space.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2013
I needed to learn Access pretty quick smart and bought the Kindle version. What a waste of money, I was expecting to fast track to info I wanted and to help me but to follow step by step in places where needed. However, instead I got this book which has 400 pages of waffle that is almost impossible to follow. Pictures on kindle are a total waste of space. This book is the perfect antidote to insomnia and certinly was of no help to a Access dummy like me. I learned more for free from youtube
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2014
It's a book for Dummies. The whole range of Dummies books do what they say generally, they guide us dummies through the product to a reasonable level. Maybe not for the top flight users, but how many of those are there.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2013
This is an excellent - very comprehensive and very easy to understand. It certainly expensive for what it provides. A good buy!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2011
This book was purchased as a help to understanding the menu changes between older versions of the product.
In the main the book is helpful but as with all these "help" books it is necessary to have some knowledge of the product to enable the examples to be put into the environment you are working on.
Microsoft have attempted to improve the GUI interface, if you liked the old interface this book will help you create your own menu's for ease of use
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2010
I have been a Dummies fan since the good old days of DOS and the manuals that they produce have never ceased to provide a basic insight into the use of the software which is featured, of course you have to accept the twist of humour that is involved in the prose, but that has never been a problem for me. If of course the software is something that you require a deeper knowledge of then this is purely a get you going with the basics type of book, that will have you getting the software to do what it is meant to do and giving you results, however if this is not enough then you will need to turn to one of the more specialised titles, of which there are a number available. For a beginner with any piece of software, if you can find a Dummies book that covers it, I can think of no better way to make a productive start and would therefore recommend the book to you.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2012
Much faster to get to the answer than the more advanced books. As access is such a vast program, the dummies book cannot provide an in-depth answer for every functionality, but there's plenty enough to get started and to build a simple, working database.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2013
Quite good, and in places amusing. For a complete beginner, however, there seem to be some gaps, and when I had a problem it was difficult to find tips on resolving it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)