Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
I disagree with the previous reviewer and found this to be a great overview of current neuroscience delivered in a practical context. I've read a number of books on the subject, but much of the time the ideas are presented too abstractly in ways that don't really apply to the average reader. This book focuses more on ways you can use discoveries in neuroscience to begin...
Published on 30 Dec 2011 by J. Kirk

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid book but needs some re-wiring itself
Oh the irony. A PhD and a lifelong of research into the workings of the brain and yet the author (or perhaps the publisher) has made one abysmal error in the publication of this book. There are no diagrams/graphs/pictures which would aid one enormously in understanding the various parts of the brain and the related electrochemical components for which I purchased this...
Published 8 months ago by Liam


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 30 Dec 2011
By 
J. Kirk (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rewire Your Brain: Think Your Way to a Better Life (Paperback)
I disagree with the previous reviewer and found this to be a great overview of current neuroscience delivered in a practical context. I've read a number of books on the subject, but much of the time the ideas are presented too abstractly in ways that don't really apply to the average reader. This book focuses more on ways you can use discoveries in neuroscience to begin changing your own mindset immediately.

I also disagree with the idea that it's particularly complicated. Neuroscience isn't an especially simple subject, but the author breaks it down in a way that's easily understandable to the layperson. There are acronyms, but abbreviating names like pre-frontal cortex to PFC serves an obvious role in enhancing the readability of the book. If you can't remember a handful of abbreviations, you probably shouldn't be reading science books.

All in all, I highly recommend this book, and it's the most interesting and useful one I've read so far on the subject. The title sounds somewhat gimmicky, but the content is of a high quality and firmly backed by research. I think this would make a good introduction to some key neuroscience ideas, although you could read something like The Brain: A Very Short Introduction if you wanted some foundation in the different parts of the brain and their functions. Really, to give a book this good 3-stars based on ignorance is criminal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely scientifically detailed way of how the brain works, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rewire Your Brain: Think Your Way to a Better Life (Paperback)
If you want to change the way your brain works, this book will definitely help you. But the book is filled with scientific terminology, so if that puts you off, or you're not willing to put in the research; then this book isn't for you. The people who gave this a negative review were just put off by the heavy use of scientific language and the abbreviations that the author uses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid book but needs some re-wiring itself, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rewire Your Brain: Think Your Way to a Better Life (Paperback)
Oh the irony. A PhD and a lifelong of research into the workings of the brain and yet the author (or perhaps the publisher) has made one abysmal error in the publication of this book. There are no diagrams/graphs/pictures which would aid one enormously in understanding the various parts of the brain and the related electrochemical components for which I purchased this book.

Ergo one is left with a book full of forgettable abbreviations and the usual extreme sob stories, where despite any mention of silver bullets the patients often make miraculous turnarounds.

Furthermore for a man who is clearly quite intelligent, he is amongst the majority of the medical profession who are miles behind when it comes to dietary advice. He advises a patient to cut back on all sugar and then recommends a glass of OJ as an alternative. While in a nutritional sense the fructose, glucose, K and Mg in OJ, combined with other electrochemical constituents such as NaCl and Ca, are very useful metabolically he is fundamentally wrong in that is contains plenty of sugar, albeit natural.

Furthermore he trudges that weary tale of eating foods high in tryptophan before bed to convert to serotonin, then says to avoid protein? Almost every food high in tryptophan is high in protein (it is an amino acid after all).

Still he does seem to have most things right and it cements the fundamentals of success (importance of sleep, diet, mental and physical exercise) but anyone looking to elevate their brain to a high level - and not out of the trash can - can pass this one over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is a fascinating book! it s about how to keep your brain young and active and it also helps you understand how it works., 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rewire Your Brain: Think Your Way to a Better Life (Paperback)
I bought the book because I am fascinated about the brain. I am particularly interested in learning how the brain works and how we can make the most of our potential.

What I most like about the book is its sense of hopefulness, The brain has the ability to reorganise itself throught life which means that you can establish new neural connections at any given time just by changing your behaviour. This is something called neuroplasticity.You can influence directly on how you feel or you can even change certain personality traits by modifying the way you act. It is a question of stimulating different parts of your brain that are not active. For example, if you are feeling really low, it means that your right frontal lobe is active and it promotes passivity and negative emotion so you need to shift left and stimulate your left frontal lobe which promotes positive feelings and taking action, how? by keeping yourself active, even if this is what you least feel like doing, but you should try hard to do something, you can go for a run, play the guitar, cook a new recipe, etc. taking action influences directly on your brain.The more you are in a particular mood, the more you'll tend to be in that mood. This is just one small example. The book is well written, clear, well organized and engaging from page 1, It is very interesting and useful.

I think this book is a must, I would recommend it to everybody interested in making the most of their potential. The brain is a very powerful tool, we should all learn how to keep it in good shape to help ourselves and to help others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple and practical, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rewire Your Brain: Think Your Way to a Better Life (Paperback)
Great book. Very easy to read and understand and best of all it translates the information in to practical applications.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good factual book, I have learnt a lot and can highly recommend it to anyone interested in how the brain works and how you can change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book to read, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rewire Your Brain: Think Your Way to a Better Life (Paperback)
The book is very interesting to read. I have learned a lot about how the brain works. I will be differently looking at other books in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rewire Your Brain: Think Your Way to a Better Life (Paperback)
In this book we learn how we actually can use our brains to heal our lives....It's not rocket science it just neurology!! easy to read but will require many more reads before I get it completely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rewire you brain, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rewire Your Brain: Think Your Way to a Better Life (Paperback)
Although this book has some useful advice it is just a bit hard going. I was expecting some useful practical tips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Changing your physical brain, amazing., 12 Oct 2012
By 
Mr. R. Kimberley (Tamworth,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rewire Your Brain: Think Your Way to a Better Life (Paperback)
I have only read half way but its very interesting. After years reading NLP and cybernetics theres new knowledge here. It's important as we age to learn new things and not just stick with a few hobbies. The brain grows as we learn different things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rewire Your Brain: Think Your Way to a Better Life
Rewire Your Brain: Think Your Way to a Better Life by John B. Arden (Paperback - 19 Mar 2010)
£8.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews